We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Especial Thanks to JOE!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #278 of 467 Hotels in New York City
BSB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Especial Thanks to JOE!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I, my wife, my brother and his girlfriend were in NYC for 12 days. Hotel St. James is very well located, just a few steps from Times Square and has an affordable price. Rooms are simple, but with all necessary things. The staff helped us a lot with many things we bought by internet and asked to deliver to information desk. Not all the staff are so friendly, especially after 10:30PM... On the other hand, the person that cleaned our room was lovable and very nice! And, of course, let's not forget the best of St. James Hotel: JOE! He's nice, polite, likable and genial... by the way, he's always happy!!! This guy really makes the difference in NYC staff! 4 Stars and be sure: 1 of them belongs to Joe! Especial thanks to Joe!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UgoBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    1,267
    510
    147
    139
See reviews for
686
923
122
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pro's - Times Square is at the end of the block, so you're within walking distance of loads of the main sights and attractions; powerful showers; we paid the nominal surcharge for a larger bed and this was well worth it; 24-hour lockers for luggage for security, convenience and peace of mind.

Con's - initial impression on entering room was that it was a bit bleak - no curtains (just cheap Venetian blinds that weren't fully functioning), no tea/coffee facilities, no plug for the bath. Also, the walls were incredibly thin which means you could hear conversations in the next door room. Lifts were an adventure every time!

That said, you get what you pay for. The reception staff were always helpful and friendly. The Cranberry Cafe next door did great takeaway teas and coffees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

this isn't the best hotel in the world, more like basic student style halls of residence, with no curtains, just blinds and no kettle-a major minus for my mrs! our side of the hotel was quiet in terms of street noise, but the soundproofing between rooms ain't the best.
it's a shame, a bit of tlc would do wonders for this place. the staff were friendly with us, although we did walk by one chap giving it basil fawlty style down the phone to some poor sap.
there are a couple of good deli's right outside which enable you to keep stocks of drinks and grub up after you return from a hectic day out in nyc-and here is the positives-this hotel is seconds away from times square, very close to the subway and moments away from5/6th avenue, so couldn;t be better placed-you are in new york-the city that never sleeps-this hotel will ensure you enjoy the city to it's fullest.
we had a late flight home and for $5 were able to keep our luggage in a huge locker- a real plus. you could do better than this place, I wouldn't rush back, but it did a job
ps statue of liberty, ellis island and the aircraft carrier are closed due to hurricane sandy-pretty much everything else on the tourist list seemed unaffected

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend 2012. The only thing good about it is the location and concierge. Do not stay! The lobby welcomes you with warm wood and a badly torn couch a simple cover would have helped. Our sink was stopped up and stunk, shower didn't work, windows stuck, and we called for maintenance who extracted 12 inches of filth and hair, showed it to us and flushed it down the toilet. I mentioned we were on the 8th floor and it would plug up the other levels. He didn't seem to care. The carpets were dirty and no where to place towels or toiletries. I've stayed all over the world, and NEVER did I have cockroaches in my dresser drawers!!! When I had initially called, the manager was not on duty, and when she was she simply said they'd been too busy to clean the carpets and make necessary repairs. She said they have exterminators and apologized for the roaches, but was not surprised. They should not rent rooms until they fix all issues. I mentioned to close for a week to do so! Since it was a busy weekend, we couldnt move to another hotel, and when we found the roaches, the only offer was to move rooms. We asked for 1/2 reimbursement and were only offered one night of the four. My next call is to the NY health department. Don't Stay! The Warwick I learned is only $20 per night more and 20 times better!!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Believentravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We check out tomorrow having stayed 4 nights here for thanksgiving parade and the festivities around it!
Just off times square and the parade was just on the corner of hotel which was perfect for us to get to the front for viewing and take toilet breaks at hotel!
Basic rooms but clean, this hotel is great for a base and somewhere to put your head down.
Our only negative comments are the lifts which seem a bit shaky and do have graffiti in them but we just put this down to the hotel being 2 and half star and it was part of it being an older hotel with character. The bigger thing was no air conditioning and we had to leave window open to get air in.
I'd definitely stay here again for location and the good value.

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor, request a lower floor if you don't want to use the old elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We reviewed this place on Trip Advisor and Expedia. It got good reviews and the photos looked good. Very suprised to find out that the whole hotel is actually a dump. It's the opposite of the good reviews and their own website photos. From Check In you get the feeling that the staff are volunteers and from what they wear you wouldnt know who works in the hotel as it seems to be wear what you want. Elevator is old, struggles, full of graffiti scratched and written on and it gives certain reviews of the place. Room is tiny, bed is smaller than you can imagine, no safe in room and reception dont offer one nor will they let you use their safe for anything. Old office type blinds on window which dont block out any light, no noise blocked out AT ALL. Carpets worn through to flooring through hotel. Do yourself a favour - Stay ANYWHERE else but here.

Room Tip: DONT - Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveDRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for a night enroute to Orlando. Just off Times Square (less than one block away). Hotel is very basic and functional. No fan or a/c. Only heater. No coffee machine or water kettle. But awesome location. Just off the main door, to the right, we have the Dunhill Cafe and Carnberry hotel. An irish pub further down. And TIMES SQUARE. So great place if you intend to only sleep here. No in-room dining or restaurants in the hotel. Very friendly reception staff.

Room Tip: No particular suggestion. Perfect hotel if you just want a decent bed and basic facilities. Locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vr3plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing