We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like stepping back in time !”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“like stepping back in time !”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed for 5 nights in this lovely old hotel, when I say old its like something you see in a movie..large foyer with two desks..friendly staff..seating area at the frount and a large seating area at the back with sofa's and computers.. free wifi in all rooms...our first room was on the 3rd floor and we were kept awake by the air-con in the adjoining office block...we told the staff the next morning and were handed 2 keys to choose another room..we picked a room on the 7th floor and it was perfect..two comfy double beds, 2 chests of drawers, table and chairs, plenty of power points and very clean we had a large en-suite with bath, shower and hairdryer again spotless...shampoo and shower gel provided... If I was lucky enough to return to New York I would use this lovely hotel again... next door but one is where to get breakfast etc., its called cranberry cafe and the prices are very fair, you can eat in there or take the food back to your room...This hotel is a couple of minutes walk to Times square, so convenient... visit Broadway to find lovely within price shops.....

Room Tip: if you are not happy with the room you are given dont wait until you come home to moan.. tell the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    1,299
    526
    152
    140
See reviews for
710
952
125
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was my 2nd trip to NYC and I was looking for an affordable hotel close to Times Square. I was willing to sacrifice on quality to get the ideal location and was not expecting much from Hotel St James based on the description and some of the reviews I read. It was much better than expected. The location is amazing - right around the corner from all the action.

The room was basic but clean and comfortable. We had a room on the top floor and back off the street so it was extremely quiet. The hotel had just switched from keys to key cards so I think we were one of the first to be given a card. They had just repainted the doors on the rooms on our floor as well so they didn't even have numbers on them when we arrived. The bathroom was quite spacious though the water pressure was pathetic. The housekeeping staff did a good job cleaning the room each day as well. We didn't have much to do with the staff - they were reasonably helpful except they won't hold on to your bags for you. Expect to have to pay for a locker (I think approx $10) if you want to store your bags when checking in or checking out. We only had an hour to wait after check out so we ended up just waiting in the hotel lobby with our bags.

All in all I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay in central NYC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acnz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just around the corner to Times Square.The hotel is in an ideal location.The cafe next door serves good reasonably priced meals.The hotel itself has seen better days but it suited our purpose.We were there to see the city,not the hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Good value for the location - a few steps away from the hubbub of Times Sq. First room I go was 2nd floor at the front. Newbie error I am sure. Room was tiny and smelled of cigarettes. But when I called the next morning and asked to swap the guy couldnt have been nicer and gave me 2 rooms to choose between. One at the back - 7th floor was fab. No view at ALL, but twice the size.

Rooms were clean but sparse. Air con woke me up a few times doing som clanking. I had a bath which made me very happy - but hot water seemed a bit unreliable in the bath and the plug didnt work - so you got out quick before it seeped away ;) No inroom amenities beyond bed and TV really, but the deli next door was great for morning coffee, juice etc. And I certainly had more channels than I've had in other hotels which was welcome

A bit scruffy around the edges, but if you want to be in the centre, with a quiet room for good value then its definitely possible at St James.

As for the staff - it varied HUGELY - had a couple of guys who were wonderful, really great and helpful, then sometimes I got a couple of guys who just were totally stand offish. Happily the nicer guys seemed to work the most :)

Room Tip: 709 worked for me. High and at the back. But my air con did get noisy at times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazza722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel St James was good for the price (we got). The room was nice and clean, but also pretty basic. It’s location a couple of minutes walk from Times Square made it easy to get around (some might find to close to Times Square, not because of noise, but because it’s hard to avoid the hordes of people there - annoying when trying to get somewhere else). There was two deli's next door, which made getting breakfast very easy.

Service was very person dependent - from average, to poor, to great. One off the employees at the front desk seemed to always be doing something on the computer, without any regards to the guests and it felt like you were troublesome if you asked him about something. Another guy was very friendly, professional and quick to offer advice on most things. If the latter was the general rule at Hotel St. James it would be a hotel with great service, but there's room for improvement.

The hotel offered a fairly cheap airport shuttle service which made our life much easier since we had an early flight from New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrangbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was recommended this hotel and would say it was excellent value especially considering its location. Room was basic but huge and bathroom was better than we expected. Plumbing was quite noisy at night but we just found it funny rather than a problem. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Area is a bit tourist crazy but fantastic access to all the best NYC sites. Would definitely recommend for those who want to stay centrally on a budget but not stay in a hostel or share a bathroom. Great deli next door too!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing