We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun way to spend an hour (or two)”
Review of Chelsea Market

Chelsea Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Small Group New York Meatpacking District Chelsea Market and The Highline...
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Private Meatpacking District Chelsea Market and The Highline Walking Tour
More Info
$385.00*
and up
Private New York City Full-Day Walking Tour
Ranked #35 of 1,112 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fun way to spend an hour (or two)”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I came here with my co-workers (one from India, one from Switzerland) when they wanted to go somewhere fun for lunch. They were not disappointed. While there, we saw a few Food Network stars which was a nice treat for anyone who is interested in that aspect of the market. However, I've been in the past where no one was there and would say that's the norm. However, the local stores and the restaurants are all pretty good. After all, with the price of rent in this place, a bad restaurant won't survive for long. If you're in the area and looking for something different to do, take a trip here. Just know that it does get crowded and the restroom lines will be close to those at a major sporting event.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhioNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,088
    2,359
    506
    100
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central City, KY
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had always heard about the Chelsea Market, but had never visited there. On this trip to NYC finally got to visit the market and it was just wonderful. My visit was on New Year's Eve and it was definitely crowded, but I was not deterred in visiting/shopping in some of the shops. All so unique and inviting. Had a great lunch at Friedman's Lunch. Would definitely recommend this place for lunch. Food was wonderful and the service was very exceptional.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch at Friedman's”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went to Chelsea Market over the holiday season. It was ridiculously busy. There was not enough seating for all of the patrons. Fortunately we got a table at Friedman's Lunch without too much of a wait. It was very, very good! The menu was simple (sandwiches, salads, soup, etc.) but flavourful. My husband had a pastrami sandwich that he referred to as life changing. I had a cup of tomato soup with a grilled cheese sandwich. It was excellent.

We spent the rest of the day wandering around the market and looking in the stores. If we weren't so full from our lunch there were definitely more more food options we would have liked to try out.

We really enjoyed The Filling Station. We got a few vinegars, oils and salts to take home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndreaL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Was a bit of a let down.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I thought it was a farmer's market type of place. It's an indoor market. With stores instead of stalls. Some seating. Must say it all looked very delicious. The seafood market was extraordinary.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Adri0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

There was plenty of food options, the smells were amazing but that's all it was. A place to get something to eat. The bathroom lines we ridiculously long as you would expect during the holiday season, there was not enough seating to accommodate all the visitors. I was expecting more history about the Nabisco company but found little.
I am sure if you went in a non peak time your expectations would be met.

Helpful?
3 Thank Crakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Market also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing