We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$446
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Official Website
$525
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$435
View deal
Expedia.com$446
Hotels.com$446
Priceline$446
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,232)
Filter reviews
2,232 results
Traveler rating
1,125
564
247
173
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,125
564
247
173
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar chelsea market the meat packing district the high line new york whitney museum soho house hudson river highline cassis nyc hip staycation doorman mirror robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 2,232 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2019

The Gansevoort Meatingpacking is a very nice hotel with lovely rooms and amenities. The spacious room with comfortable bed, a nice seating area with a view of the new Restoration Gallery, illy coffee & fiji water couldn't be nicer. The location was also perfect for all of the activities that we had planned. The staff were great and extremely helpful. Our hotel experience was exceptional!

Room tip: We asked for a room high enough that we would not hear the very lively bar on the ground floor and we did not have a problem
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Hi Terry, thanks so much for your kind review. We're thrilled to hear you had an exceptional experience during your stay and so happy you were able to enjoy our amenities. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

Stayed here for two wonderful nights! Location is unbeatable - steps from the Highline, Chelsea Market and the West Village. Outside, they’ve completely renovated the street and sidewalks - it feels like a European square. The hotel was lovely. Awesome check-in experience from Lauren. Gorgeous room with a stunning river view and much more spacious than the Standard. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Room 1204 is awesome!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Hi RegTravellers, thanks for your wonderful review. We're so happy to hear you had an amazing stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the views! We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Its been 5 consecutive years that i stay here. There have been a few missteps but the staff is always willing to make things right. The hotel renovations are complete and the street is finally walkable! We had a great view and balcony, the best shower and so comfy beds! The rooftop bar remains my favorite afternoon place
I will continue my annual trip to NYC and hope to maintain my relationship with the folks here at the Ganesvoort

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank TravelerB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Hi TravelerB60, thank you so much for your amazing review and we are grateful for your loyalty over the years. We're happy you can enjoy the new changes within the hotel + the surrounding neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! Regards, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

My family had a wonderful experience at the Gansevoort this past weekend. Kenya in reservations and Lauren at the front desk offered my family three rooms on the same floor, all with a view of the Hudson. In spite of the on again/off again rain, the view was spectacular. A birthday note, wine and chocolates were waiting for me in the room. All staff were super friendly. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms were quiet throughout the night. Loved the rooftop pool which had just re-opened. Water was warm enough for a swim in 45 F degree weather! Only minor complaint is that many items in the room required an extra charge - $2 for a coffee pod, $9 for Fuji water, $9.99 for music on the TV. It seems that a 4 star hotel could afford to offer these amenities at no charge.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Sherrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Hi Sherrie, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so happy you had a lovely birthday weekend celebration with us. So glad you were able to enjoy our newly renovated pool as well! Hope you visit again soon. Regards, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

My wife booked a room for us at this hotel for a one night NYC getaway from the hustle & bustle of our daily lives in Long Island. Needless to say, we were looking for a nice little getaway.

On this occasion, we checked in on a Friday.

First thing, we drove, and the hotel offers valet parking. Since we had an SUV, it was $60 for the night. Expensive. What was nice though is that the hotel takes the car for you, because unless you're really lucky, especially on a weekday, there is no parking anywhere nearby. Weekends might be different. If you don't know the area, it is undergoing a massive revitalization and can get packed with trucks & construction vehicles during the week and even on the weekends.

Check in was smooth and the staff here is very friendly. We were given a room on the 8th floor facing the Hudson river (the front of the hotel).

Lobby area was very cool & modern. Typical of a boutique style hotel. There was a nice bar and even a pool table.

The elevators are a bit old and slow, but there are three of them so getting one isn't usually a problem. The hallways are kind of dark as well.

The room, like any basic hotel room in Manhattan, isn't massive, but it did have a king sized bed, which is always a must for us. The room also had a nice seating area near the window. You could see a few of the rooftop bars in the area, as well as a view of the river. (more on this in a minute).

We did check out the hotel's rooftop bar area. They also are one of the few hotels with a rooftop pool. This is probably the hotel's crown jewel.

I thought it was fairly quiet in our room. I could not really hear out neighbors unless somebody shouted, or dropped something heavy.

My wife and I are older now, so we don't party till the wee hours of the morning. If you do, then this hotel is definitely for you. The reason I say that is because in the early hours of the morning, around 2am, we woke up to some seriously loud THUMPING music. It almost sounded like it was coming from one of the neighboring rooms, but it wasn't. I couldn't tell if it was coming from one of the rooftop bars across the street or if it was coming from the hotel's own rooftop bar area. I'd be lying if I said it didn't affect our sleep. Eventually, the music died down, around 3am. I'm not sure if getting a room on the other side of the hotel would have made a difference, but it may be something to consider if you're coming here.

I still feel like the hotel is very nice with very friendly staff. Another reviewer noted that it appears that everything is for sale in the room, which can be a bit tacky, so be careful what you're consuming. It's all overpriced, of course.

Even with all this though, given the location, this is still a great hotel and I would recommend it. Just proceed with caution and understand that it's not perfect, there may be some noise, and it is expensive!

Room tip: Consider a room away from the front street if you're looking for a quieter setting.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dolphin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Hi dolphin80, thank you so much for your kind review + we appreciate your review on Yelp as well! We're happy you and your wife had a nice "staycation" in the city. We hope you'll visit again soon! Regards, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews