We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest room I've seen in New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #210 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My time at Gansevoort really endeared me to the Meatpacking District. My room was huge, especially by New York standards, the amenities were high quality, the shower was hot and had excellent water pressure, and I had a beautiful view of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Avitable,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re glad you shared your Google Glass experience at Gansevoort! Next time you visit (with or without the glasses) our concierge team will point you toward even more NYC opportunities. We recommend trying more of the renowned downtown restaurants such as Buddakan or Fig & Olive. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in February 2013. We had a deluxe room and it had plenty of space. We did not feel cramped like in so many other hotel rooms in the city. We loved the floor to ceiling windows and the seating at the window. We did hear the outside traffic at night, but it does not bother us and it is part of the charm of NYC. The room definitely had a funky kind of atmosphere which we appreciated.

The roof top pool was pretty and my husband actually went into it even though it was February! We got massages at the Exhale spa which were great although I found the space of the spa kind of awkward since we were behind curtains so if there were people using the whirlpool or seating area, we would have heard their entire conversation. Thankfully there was no one there.

The service all around was good, I have no complaints and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear staceye2003,

Thank you for the review. We’re pleased you enjoyed the unique atmosphere of our property. We’ll be sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the Gansevoort team. Swimming in the winter with steam emanating from our heated pool is rooftop luxury at its finest moment and we hope you were able to experience that first hand. You made the perfect relaxation decision by getting Exhale Spa massages. During your next visit, perhaps you’d be interested in trying one of their signature Core Fusion classes designed to provide a toning workout. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a disappointment! We had paid a large sum in a silent auction for a one night stay, thinking it would be the perfect way to celebrate our anniversary. The weather in NYC was quite hot, and our room was almost as hot. After reporting the problem three times we came back from dinner to find a small fan had been placed on the desk. Now the room temp was down to 78. Not good for sleeping. In addition, whoever had come in the room had been smoking. Not good. After going back to the desk yet again, and being told there was nothing to be done, we insisted on another room with working AC. We were given another room, finally, but the bed was smaller. My husband is 6'5", so the smaller bed wasn't what we had planned. After finally falling asleep we were awakened at 4:00Am by a fight in the hall between a man and a woman. It took security an hour to get there and break it up. Couldn't wait to leave!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLS1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear SLS1004,

We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. No one should be uncomfortable in their rooms, and we appreciate your feedback as perfect service is an ideal we strive for every day. We can assure you that your incident was looked into and all the technical concerns have been resolved. Should you decide to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to surpass your needs and provide an experience that will leave you smiling. Please contact digital@theghg.com with further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room was nothing to mention; however, they were quick with service as one of my party had their bag stolen. Housekeeping came by with incidentals in a matter of minutes. We also enjoyed the roof top bar which was packed even thought the DJ was not very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dressgirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear dressgirl_73,

Thank you for the review. We’re sorry to hear about your friend's belongings, but we are glad our team helped out with the incident. We’re delighted you enjoyed our rooftop bar – it's a wonderful summer spot for visitors to stay cool and enjoy delectable food and cocktails. Next time, try one of Exhale Spa’s signature massages. It will leave you rejuvenated and feeling fantastic! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Love the meatpacking district. So nice. The hotel staff takes great care of you at Hotel Gansvoort. The service quite good. Unfortunately there are a few problems. One: the rooms are very out of date and need refreshing. Had a suite. it was small but decent sized. Just didn't feel clean. A bit shabby. Second: the noise and the pool area at night. Pool is lovely during day. Service was nice and was very comfortable. Nighttime was a nightmare! If you want to be in a crowd of loud, drunk people then have at it. Also, from my room, I could hear the noise of the people on the street waiting to get into the hotel and be allowed up to pool/bar area. Lastly the Spa. I had a wonderful massage but no air conditioning. It's located in basement with very low ceiling and without a/c, it wasn't too pleasant nor very pretty. Very dark and and dingy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank csritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear csrtiz,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback and are addressing your concerns to ensure the best possible service for future stays and guests. We sincerely apologize that your visit did not exceed your expectations as that is our number one priority. On another note, we are pleased you enjoyed our rooftop during the day; It's a great spot to soak in the sun while staying cool in our pool. Our rooftop nightlife can get busy during the summer season, however our reservations team is happy to provide a room that better fits your lifestyle needs. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further questions or concerns.


Sincerely,


@HoteGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have been to this location two times in the last 6 months. In January I hosted a bachelorette weekend at the Gansevoort, and in June I enjoyed a mid-week Stay-Cation. Overall, this hotel is "New York City Glamorous," and the location is incredible, especially if you have a room with a water view. The service, with a single exception on both trips, was WONDERFUL (especially Omar the valet/bellman--THANK YOU AGAIN OMAR). During the January bachelorette weekend, for our first night we enjoyed room service from Toy, and enjoyed a relaxing night and tasty food. During the June stay, I enjoyed Toy sushi in the Lobby Bar; it was delicious! I look forward to enjoying future stays.

Room Tip: The Get-It All package is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bess_Marvin_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Bess_Marvin_NYC,

Thank you for the great review. We were thrilled to have you both times and can’t wait until your next visit. Be sure to let our reservations team know you enjoyed a view of the Hudson River and Omar will be delighted that he made your stay even more memorable. Although Toy is no longer at our hotel, definitely check out our new restaurant, The Chester, opening this fall. See you again soon!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

6 years ago I was here as well. Now again it has been good. The neighborhood, the roof top terrace and club, the dynamic hot atmosphere of Meatpacking. Beautiful people all around. Staff is very friendly, location is top. Room 603 was very smoky, but it's a non smoking room, pitty. Staff was helpful. Next time I will book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try not to book 603, it was definitely smoky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Repko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Repko,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you returned for a second stay at our Meatpacking location, there’s so much to do in the area that one visit just isn’t enough! Next time, check out some local dining hot spots such as the Parisian Brasserie, Pastis, or the trendy Buddakan. We apologize for the smoke issue in your room and are happy our staff helped to fix the problem immediately. We hope to see you for round three in the near future.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#153 of 471 in New York City
2,961 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#90 of 471 in New York City
2,395 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 471 in New York City
3,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#134 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#186 of 471 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#76 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $258 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing