We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Thanks to Omar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #209 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton FL
1 review
“Thanks to Omar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our total experience in Meatpacking was great, and great service from individuals like Omar made it even better. The location of the Gansevoort is perfect.
Why do you require 200 characters? Please don't answer this question, but you should give some thought to deleting the rule.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for the review. Omar will be pleased to know he made your stay memorable. Our Meatpacking hotel is in a prime location for a plethora of restaurants fit for foodies and of course the sought after Soho shopping experience. If you stay with us again, our concierge team would be more than happy to introduce you to even more activities and sights in Manhattan. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    436
    178
    128
    93
See reviews for
219
530
80
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelsall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent service from the reception to housekeeping. Excellent views from the rooftop pool and bar, room lovely and with an upgrade on arrival even nicer with a terrace to relax on at the end of a long day. Excellent restaurants in very close proximity which meant after a long day out it was great to be able to go back to the hotel and relax before dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopersollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Coopersollom,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your upgraded suite, complete with a private terrace. Our dedicated Gansevoort team will be pleased to know that your stay was positively memorable from check-in to check out. Were you able to walk the historic High Line or explore Chelsea Market for fresh delicacies? There are so many new discoveries to be made in NYC, that one trip just isn't enough. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Gansevoort in the meatpacking district. From the valet who graciously greeted us to Jonathan and Jenny at the front desk, the staff was superb. Even the life guard at the pool was extremely professional and courteous. I had my daughter and some of her friends with me - and reserved two connecting rooms. They were spacious and very upscale. Best part was I didn't hear much from their room in spite of being on a low floor. The breakfast the next morning sitting outside was wonderful. But far and away the best part was relaxing atop the hotel at their pool. It's next to their bar, yet separated and gorgeous. The view is amazing - and the Freedom Tower greeted us each morning. The ONLY negative is the police decided to have a checkpoint outside the hotel until the wee hours - so their sirens were definitely not following any rules of quieting down. Welcome to NY . . . nothing you can do about it from the hotel's standpoint - but ask for a high floor to make it a perfect experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellady0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear travellady0613,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you are pleased with so many aspects of our hotel! NYC is the city that never sleeps, however, we'll provide just the right ambiance for your night time needs. We will be sure to let Jonathan and Jenny know that they helped make your trip wonderfully memorable.For even more amazing views of the city, check out the historic High Line next time you visit. You won’t be disappointed with the art, landscaping, and gorgeous sights. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

@Hotel Gansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago for three nights for a wedding in Manhattan. For what we payed (triple room) it was very expensive. The room was small, but very clean and modern. The view from the window was a lovely reminder of the splendor of New York city. The rooftop pool looked cool, but we never had the chance to utilise it. The view across the Hudson River was glorious. The neighbourhood around the hotel was an up and coming popular area of town, with nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Danny C,

Thank you for the review. We offer a variety of room types and sizes – let us know your preferences and we will provide you a suite that best fits your needs. We're glad you enjoyed the panoramic view of the city and the breathtaking Hudson River scenery. Maybe next time, you'll be able to experience our rooftop pool – it's a refreshing experiencing from head-to-toe. Along with our restaurant Toy, our rooftop offers plenty of food and refreshments to feed your indulgence. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any other questions or concerns. We hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my girlfiend for 4 days. The room was good but the bed was excellent!! The service at the front desk was excellent with professionals clearly trained for their task and of global quality. The same can not be said about other services, ie. the concierges (talked to 2 different persons) were too arrogant and not service minded. The pool and rooftop bar are excellent venues however the service there is terrible. The bar personnel is not attentive and below standards for such a hotel. Everyone, from the hostess to the waiteress to hte bartenders seemed confused about their task and not friendly at all. In addition, whereas smoking is adverted (also by the front desk) as permitted in the outside part of the rooftop terrace, it is not. The hotel caters a club downstairs and the rooftop lounge as going-out destinations for the general public in the going out nights which is excellent for a guest since it is an in-house option to go out.
All in all a 4 star rating!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Andrej A,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any negative experiences during your stay. We strongly value seamless hospitality in all areas of our services and are looking into the issues you had. We are glad you enjoyed our plush feather beds as well as the convenient nightlife. Should you choose to stay again, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your expectations. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any other concerns or questions. Thanks again, and we hope you return in the future.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Two features dominated my experience at the Gansevoort (Meatpacking) in New York:

- The bed. The bed and bedding are exceptionally comfortable. I’ve spent nights in 10 different hotels across the world so far this year and this was without question the most comfortable. I slept better than I do at home and indeed so well I even commented on it to one of the reception staff who informed me that quite a few guests ask where they can source the same beds and bedding.

- The pool. I was in New York in mid-May and it was a little cool when the wind blew, but the pool was nicely heated and perfect for an afternoon dip. It’s a real treat to be in a pool on a rooftop with great views in any city and this was no exception.

Other good points are the location with so many interesting places to eat, drink and shop a short walk away around Meatpacking. It’s relatively close to the red and blue lines at 14th street on the subway too if you need to go uptown / further downtown.

The atmosphere on Saturday night was a little rowdy / lively downstairs but that’s to be expected for the area. I found it fun rather than intimidating (the door staff were polite and in full control) and unlike other guests who have commented on here I found there to be no noise issue in my room on the 12th floor.

Aspects of the hotel which I didn’t like so much included:

- the size of the Superior room (also a bit odd calling it “superior” when it’s the smallest of the rooms so not really superior to anything) though I understand that’s common in NY,
- the limited range of equipment in the gym which only sufficed for a couple of days working out, and
- the unwelcoming reception we received upon arrival. That is down to one member of staff only though as the others were helpful, accomodating and knowledgeable. We found some good restaurants on their recommendation.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would gladly return.

Room Tip: 12th floor superior room had no noise issues as described by other TripAdvisors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Christopher K,

Thank you for the in-depth review! We are so glad you loved our plush bed and the heated rooftop pool. Did you get a chance to take one of Exhale Spa's signature Core Fusion classes? It's quite the workout and a great complement to a productive fitness routine. Thank you for your feedback and we are looking into your concerns. We strive for seamless guest services that go beyond a client's expectations and we hope to see you again soon to do just that. For any questions or concerns, please contact digital@theGHG.com.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoCity
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved to stay at this hotel, is so trendy! The room was really nice with a little balcony with view to the Hudson and the Standard Hotel, great sunset! The hotel is in the heart of Meatpacking District and close to really good restaurants, shops, clubs and the high line park. The pool is great for a sunny day and the view from there at day and night is really good, you can see the Empire State all light up. Close to the A-C-E subway line station 14th street. The staff is truly friendly, we arrived a little bit early from the check in and the room was ready and got an upgrade =) The only objection is that the food wasn't of my devotion. I don't have any complain about the noise but I agree with other reviewers, is a 'young' hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianasMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MarianasMap,

Thank you for the detailed review. We are pleased you had a great time, and you were able to experience the diverse offerings of the Meatpacking District. We are delighted that you enjoyed your upgraded room. Our hotel is certainly young at heart! Feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for any questions.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#159 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#102 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#146 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
West Village
Soho House New York
Soho House New York
#299 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#115 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing