We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“When not in Miami STAY HERE 5***** stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #214 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“When not in Miami STAY HERE 5***** stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is perfect for New York. The Lobby bar is a great place to hang out for a drink. Hotel staff was so nice. It starts with Security at the door (Kerry) for one could have not been any more nice to deal with. Front desk made sure our room was ready. I felt as if I was back in Miami being treated like a VIP. Housekeeping did over and above. Who folds clothes for a guest....when left on a chair in a pile...

The area around the Hotel is awesome. Rooms are real clean. The views from the room are just breath taking. Roof Top made it more than perfect. Worth every penny to stay here.

The roof top night club made this the 5 ***** star place that it is. (see my review for the roof top Night Club) I know that I am an FOB on the client List ...but still, this hotel has so much to offer except one thing that was a 0 and it had nothing to do with the Hotel.

TOY restaurant and nightclub which rents space from the hotel on the backside of the hotel. I had one of the worst experiences i have ever witnessed at a restaurant/ nightclub anywhere in the world that I have ever been and promise to never go back to TOY again... EVER and who knows it will be out of business soon enough. If they can treat others the way they did...word will get around. The Hotel should not be associated with Toy... or take anything away from going to this hotel. The food was not good the first night and then on saturday night what I saw and heard made it worst.

This hotel is on the top of my list for New York City.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We will be sure to let Kerry and our deserving staff know that they helped make your stay more enjoyable. We're delighted you were able to visit our rooftop and experience the "high life" and take in the NYC skyline. Hopefully you were able to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool as well. Although we do not manage TOY Bar and Grill, we will look into the issues you experienced to ensure the best possible service for future guests. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    418
    172
    123
    88
See reviews for
207
505
76
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When we booked our travel through AX business Platinum via phone, we were told about the benefits that we would receive. AX BP actually used Orbitz (who knew). When we arrived at the hotel, we asked about an upgrade and the breakfast vouchers plus credits. Bottom-line, they told us that it was booked through Orbitz not AX. However, they understood our confusion and disappointment. We did receive an upgrade and the staff was terrific. Raul did a great job handling our situation. When we spoke with AX, they said oh they are not part of our fine hotels, well they should be. You have a great staff and room service was delicious. The hotel is very chic and has a lot of energy. The location was great for us and did I mention the staff was amazing! Omar helped us with our bags when we left and once again he said thank you for staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SASnowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear SASnowflake,

Thank you for sharing your story. Your initial predicament was unfortunate, but we are thrilled that we could help resolve any issues upon check-in. We will be sure to let Raul and all the deserving staff know how they helped make your stay more enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked hotel for a single night stay when I had a meeting in NY. Full disclosure - intended to stay at the Park Avenue South location but my travel department booked the wrong location. At check-in I had to initial a document 4 times basically promising I would not smoke or destroy property etc. I get to my room which had a strong cigarette smell and ashtrays in the room. Since I was concerned about being charged for smoke remediation, I asked the desk about the smell and ashtrays. Apparently they put me In a "smoking optional" room. Not sure why I needed to sign a waiver then. They explained that they had no other king room. They did manage to find a room with 2 doubles. I was very surprised that they did not tell me. I did check out the penthouse lounge but it seemed populated with 20 something's hiding in corners. At over $500 per night for the room, I was completely underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Be clear if you do not a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear naomi18,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that your stay was underwhelming as our number one priority is to exceed all expectations. It seems as though there was a misunderstanding and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences incurred. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to surpass your needs and change your mind. For any questions, feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location fun neighborhood friendly staff. Loved John at the door.

I will stay here again

We had a Room with a terrace was awesome. Beautiful weather to sit outside.

Close to everything. Shops restaurant. Easy access.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCITARELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear LCHOLLAme

We are delighted that you will be coming back. John will be pleased to know that he made your experience positively memorable. We’re glad you took advantage of our private terraces overlooking the NYC skyline. Thank you for your review.

See you again soon,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We met a friend from England in NYC and stayed in a suite ! the service was wonderful. The room was amazing. The hotel is very chic. Front desk staff was extremely helpful in all aspects of our stay. The pool seemed like a fun hang out spot in the summer. IT was a bit cold while we were there. Location is ideal with plenty to walk to including the high line and Chelsea market. Swanky music playing throughout the hotel which added to the experience. Who said New Yorkers aren't friendly? They are here!

The noise from the club was a bit of a problem if you wanted to go to bed before 3am, but other than that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Select a room far away from the dance club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank las0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear las0311,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our rooftop. Did you know our heated pool is open year-round? Our staff will be pleased to know they helped make your stay more enjoyable. If noise from the Meatpacking District’s busy nightlife is not ideal during your trip, our Park Ave location may also be a good fit for you (it's much quieter). If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ialwaysbluff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had the rooms on the corner with the walk out balconies and everything was spectacular! The rooms are clean and beautiful with outstanding views. The club upstairs was absolutely perfect and the staff was top notch from start to finish! Can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ialwaysbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ialwaysbluff,

We’re thrilled that you had an amazing bachelor party. Hopefully you were able to take in the beautiful NYC skyline on your wrap-around balcony. If you liked Plunge, our sister property's Gansevoort Park Avenue Rooftop will also blow you away. Whether it is another celebration or just a getaway, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great hotel! Far exceeded my expectations, which are very high. Excellent staff, decor, and amenities. Hands down best hotel experience ive had in NYC. Luxurious rooms with incredible views and a close proximity to night life, restaurants and shopping make this hotel a no brainer when choosing a place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahelou02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Ahelou02,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are flattered that we take the cake for your best hotel experience – next time you'll have to let us know what types of activities you're interested in around NYC so that we can also strut our stuff off-property. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevooort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#95 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,208 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#150 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#157 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
West Village
Soho House New York
Soho House New York
#290 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#146 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing