We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #212 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the check in with Jenny, our weekend trip was amazing. The downstairs bar is great to play pool. Our room had a balcony and it was wonderful to step out and enjoy the manhattan air. The room has everything you need, especially comfortable beds. We love enjoying the rooftop bar. The dj Saturday night was great and the place was packed. Beautiful views of the city. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Lisa,

We definitely agree that the Manhattan skyline from our balconies is an amazing sight. Did you know that you can bring your cocktails out of the restaurant while you’re playing pool? In fact, you can even order them straight from our lobby bar. Thanks for providing such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back once again. You can reach out to our community manager when planning your next visit at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Best,
@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Gansevoort was an amazing experience from check in to check out. I was warmly greeted by the front desk representative (named Jenny) and several other staff members throughout the hotel during my stay which added to my feeling comfortable and well attended to; it was absolutly wonderful! The romantic package delightfully fufilled my plans for valentines day 100%, I recieved 5star service at a great rate! Everything included in thee package met and exceeded my expectations in service and set up by far! The staff did an amazing job at ensuring the room was set up efficiently to serve the needs/ comfort (in my opinion) for any guest to appreciate and enjoy. I surely intend to revisit! Thanks again Jenny and team for the awesome stay/service!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zandaa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Zandaa,

We are thrilled that your experience was above and beyond expectations. We will definitely let our team know how pleased you were and can’t wait for your return. When you decide on your next visit, feel free to contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Best,
@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a fantastic b-day wknd at the Gansevoort - perfect place to celebrate - sunset on the rooftop on a clear night - can't be beat!!!!! - fantastic location - wonderful and extremely attentive staff - thanks for a great wknd we'll be back to see you again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Lisa,

Happy Birthday!

We’re thrilled you had an amazing time. The sunset from our rooftop is quite the spectacle. Did you take a dip in our heated pool? Let us know when you plan on coming back and we can help you book your reservations through our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansveoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My recent stay with the Gansevoort Meatpacking while on business in New York was all good!
Especially Charles and John (at the door). They went out of their way to help while I was in NY........going so far as to have gas brought to my car when I ran out. Ultimately it was more than just helping when we really needed it, it was also the day to day greetings and small things that John and Charles were consistent with, that made our stay really enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Todd

Room Tip: ask where the club is in the hotel and try to stay several floors away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Todd,

We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your business trip and even more enthused to hear how helpful John and Charles were when you needed them most. We do believe that it’s the little things that can make the biggest impact and will definitely let them know they are appreciated. If you plan on staying with us again, please feel free to contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Service was unremarkable. The room was decent but the furnishings and decor were unappealing to me - maybe I'm too boring to appreciate the "sexy" decor. Just days after visiting (2 night stay), I was struggling to remember one standout thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenzielarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Kenzielarae,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as memorable as it could have been. We would love to know what makes a hotel remarkable, in your opinion, as we welcome all constructive criticism. Should you choose to give us a second chance to show you what makes us stand out, please contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com. Also please feel free to email us your comments and concerns so that we can learn and grow. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.


Best,

@HotelGansevoort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in a back in November 2012, Smack in the middle of the meat packing district with fantastic places to eat at anytime of the day on your doorstep. Every member of Staff was smiling and genuinely attentive. It makes a difference when people enjoy their work..
The bar on the top terrace has amazing views. The music is LOUD and the place was rocking every night we stayed.
Really enjoyed our stay thank you..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidWeekMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed for a two-night girls weekend last October and I loved the vibe. The rooms are sleek, modern and vibrant, with just enough edge to feel like you're about to have a great night out in the city.

I stayed in a Grand Deluxe Suite, the room is a bit over 500 square-feet and I highly recommend this room if you're looking for a place to hang without feeling like you're in a NYC closet (like many other hotel rooms in NYC). My room had a balcony, couch, dining table and California-King bed, but the disclaimer is the suites are obviously more expensive- for good reason.

The location is fantastic, the service is impeccable and the rooftop lounge is a great way to end a night out.

Room Tip: Bring your room key to the rooftop lounge and be dressed to impress, the door can be strict with dre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#158 of 469 in New York City
2,880 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 469 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#87 of 469 in New York City
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,006 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#85 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $297 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing