We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a great hotel if you want some sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #209 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel if you want some sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped here with friends over Thanksgiving. The hotel it self is OK but nothing special. The rooms were hot at night and the street outside can get very noisy late at night. We were woken by police sirens and loud shouts at 4am in the morning. In fairness my clubbing days are a little behind me and this hotel would suit a younger crowd.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front if you value your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ivor A,

We sincerely apologize for the excessive noise that hindered you from getting a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, the Meatpacking District can get quite rowdy at night, as it hosts many of the most popular bars and nightclubs in the city. However, we do have another location on Park Avenue and 29th Street that offers the same amenities as our Meatpacking location, such as a rooftop pool, but without less crowded streets surrounding it. Perhaps this would be a better fit for you. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again. If you would like to make a reservation in the future please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com and refernece case #1-105. We look forward to having you back.

Thank you,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    435
    178
    128
    93
See reviews for
219
528
80
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great staff, fantastic service and a great location. Much better than staying in mid town even if, as for us, the main purpose of the holiday was shopping. $10 will get you into town for the shops and you will not regret staying in a much better neighbourhood which has bars, restaurants and all night diners for late night NY cheesecake runs.. Great roof top bar and swimming pool.
Only warning is that if you are travelling with kids or you're after a nice quiet spa holiday then best look elsewhere. Also make sure you have enough in the budget for drinks at the roof top bar, it's pricey but worth it and we asked for a quiet room and didn't hear any noise at all during the night.
All in a perfect hotel for a few days shopping and going out in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sinky999,

We are elated to discover your stay with us was enjoyable and entertaining. The Meatpacking District definitely offers a New York experience like no other, and we are proud to be a part of the neighborhood. We hope that you were able to get all of your holiday shopping in during your trip. Upon your next arrival to New York City, check out The Highline. It’s a wonderful spot to take a stroll after getting shopped-out on 14th street. If you need to make a reservation for your next trip to NYC, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Apple again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just returned from an absolutely wonderful stay at the Gansevoort - Meatpacking District property. The service, ambiance, and location were just superb. And, my room (Deluxe Room) was just wonderful, with a very comfortable bed, and great bathroom. I enjoyed a quiet night's rest in this very active neigborhood. While I was in NYC this time for business, I will return here for both business and pleasure. I highly recommend you enjoy a stay at his fantastic property, in a fun neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Worldtraveler68,

We are delighted to know that your business trip was enhanced by our amazing beds and entertaining location. We hope you didn’t work too hard and were able to enjoy some of the charming elements of the Meatpacking District. For future reservations, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We can’t wait to host you when you return for a leisure trip.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in the hotel during hurricane sandy at the park/29th location. The weekend was supposed to be a romantic getaway for two, but on sunday night the storm hit us hard. I can't say enough about the staff who pulled together at a difficult time to make sure we were taken care of during difficult circumanstances. It is an experience i wont forget and want to commend the staff on their exemplary corteousness and professionalism

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPtraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear JPtraveller1978,

It seems that Superstorm Sandy felt your romantic getaway would be better lit by candlelight. We are sorry your trip happened to be the week of the storm, as it was obviously not the norm for our service standards. Thank you for being an understanding guest during a trying time for our team. It is wonderful to know that our staff was able to accommodate you as best as they could. Should you decide to stay with us on a sunnier week, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

@Hotel Gansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were a few years behind the curve in terms of visiting this place, but its hip credentials still seemed to be well in place, right down to a group of beautiful people, dressed completely in black, swaying out the entrance as we lurched, all too colourfully, in.
Spacious, comfortable and fun interconnecting rooms, suitably dimly lit corridors and the famous rooftop pool which we didn't have time to test.
Brilliant location - walked the Highline the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoochlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear scoochlondon,

It’s such a shame that you didn’t have time to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool, but there is always next time. On the other hand, it is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our neighborhood’s exquisite High Line Park. Did you have a chance to try our restaurant, TOY, during your stay? It also offers a hip vibe similar to our hotel, with unique Asian-influenced dishes. Should you decide to return to New York City, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for any future reservations. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Gansevoort with my family arriving the Saturday prior to the arrival of superstorm Sandy. Our rooms were a good size by NYC standards and well appointed. Generally the hotel had a great atmosphere and of course it is in a fantastic location in the Meatpacking District. However this turned into a trip like no other with the arrival of Sandy.
The power went out as we sat in the bar on the Monday evening. There was nothing else to do but turn in early and see what the morning unveiled. It's only after when you come home and reflect on what you experienced that you really get a true sense of how devastasting this storm was.
With regard to the Gansevoort staff I cannot compliment them enough for their professionalism in dealing with the situation. Every member of staff we encountered from the maintenance guy upwards was excellent, and when the hotel took the decision to close on the Wednesday because of the continued lack of power the Management Team worked very hard to secure accomodation for my family elsewhere in NYC.
We never got to sample the full range of what the hotel has to offer, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Funstone,

It is such a shame that your trip to New York City involved the devastating events caused by Superstorm Sandy. However, thank you for being an understanding guest during such inclimate weather. It is wonderful to know that our staff was able to impress you and your family without the wonderful amenities our hotel usually has to offer. We can’t wait to have you back to experience Gansevoort’s true standard of excellence our team strives to provide. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for future reservations. We hope to host you and your family again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Gansevoort during Hurricane Sandy. The staff was so professional, cared about us and went out of their way to take care of us and make sure we were safe and happy. The rooms are very big for New York standards, many rooms have little balconies where the door opens for fresh air. The decor is very modern, but very comfortable. There is a roof deck and pool which is awesome. By far, it was the classiest place I have stayed because of the amazing staff. When the power and water went out during the hurricane, they helped us look for other hotels, got coffee and food delivered which was not easy. Upon my return, I even got a letter where they told us they discounted our stay due to no power. None of this was their fault, but again, they care about their guests. Awesome neighborhood as well, great shops and restaurants!

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the rooms with a step out balcony. It makes the room feel bigger and nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bergen986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bergen986,

Our deepest apologies on behalf of Superstorm Sandy for disturbing your visit to New York City. Thank you for being a patient and understanding guest throughout our power outage. Gansevoort is certainly fortunate to have an outstanding staff that was able to accommodate the two of you and we're thrilled that everyone made it through the storm safe, sound and in style. We hope you will allow us to host you again when the weather is a little friendlier. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com for future reservations.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#157 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#85 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#148 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
West Village
Soho House New York
Soho House New York
#300 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#112 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing