We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$188
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$386
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$187
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$339
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$365
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,924)
Filter reviews
1,924 results
Traveler rating
952
501
216
153
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
501
216
153
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolchelsea marketmanhattan suitethe meat packing districtnew yorkthe high linewhitney museumhudson rivertrendy hotelbottle of champagnelocation is fantasticstreet noisecentral parkhighlinehipnycnightlife
Filter
Updating list...
1,280 - 1,285 of 1,924 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Gansevoort has a small bar inside and a great patio for people watching. Coffee in the morning was perfect! Tanuki Tavern is a roof top, get there relatively early as by later in the evening, the line up is out the front door. Might be different for guests. Pricey drinks but a very unique atmosphere.
The meatpacking district is a great place to stay, lots of activity close, handy to the train and an inexpensive cab ride if you want to go to the theatre or financial district. Also a very interesting walk to the Village or the Theatre.
Busy area for night life in the hotel and nearby properties.
Check out the High Line, a former railway now an above ground walkway through Chelsea area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review! Looks like you got to do a lot and really enjoy everything about the hotel and meatpacking district! Please come join us again soon whether on business of for pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is awesome. It is in an unreal location and has a few fun bars/restaurants in it. Only issue is that the bar up on the roof uses the same elevators as hotel guests - this is a bad call, and something the Standard Hotel got right. This can lead to late-night elevator issues and noise. Rooftop pool is incredible and makes up for the lack of private elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We asked for a Grand Deluxe King Room and even talked about which ones were the best. We were given room 1106. Unfortunately it had a connecting door and paper thin walls! We could hear our neighbors every day for 3 days. When we were woken up at 4 am we asked to change rooms. Luckily, we were accommodated.but we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel. Very nouveau interiors. Check-in was fast and effecient. Room was spacious and clean (although the top of cabinet for the TV had not been dusted in a while). Bathrooms are great; separate tub/shower and temperature controls should be a standard everywhere. Plush linens. Turn down staff was very nice and accommodating. Room was quiet even though I was directly across from the elevator. Electric blackout shades are a nice touch as well.

It is amazing to me though, how so much attention can be paid to so many things and yet the little things are ignored. For instance, there were NO convenient plug outlets next to the desk. The only outlet was taking by the lamp and phone. Fortunately, I always carry a mini multi-oultet strip. In this day an age when most travelers have a least two devices that require charging, this should be a no brainer.

Second, the shower curtain did not have any weights at the bottom so while I was enjoying my perfect pressure/perfect temperature shower, the curtain kept rising up to meet me.

Third, the blow dryer - I blow hotter and stronger hot air after a short walk than this thing put out.

So, for all the money spent on the big things, with less than $20 per room spent on the little (but when your paying $350 night they become big) things , this hotel could have rated a bit higher; especially in the "Value" category.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

A great place to enjoy the trendy and busy life in the Meatpacking District. The hotel has a intimate pool on the roof with great views, although it becomes a too crowded area at night.

Comfortable, but expensive rooms ( rather small). You are close to excellent shops and restaurants. A special touch in New York.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like you got to enjoy the pool and all the neat things that the surrounding meatpacking district has to offer! Please some join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews