We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to see an 1800's home”

Merchant's House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Revolutionary War Era Walking Tour
Ranked #140 of 1,111 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Merchant's House Museum is New York City's only 19th century home preserved intact, with original family furnishings and personal belongings.A unique survivor of Old New York, the House offers a rare and intimate glimpse of how a prosperous merchant family and their Irish servants lived from 1835 to 1865, when New York grew from seaport to thriving metropolis."The distinction of the Merchant's House -- and it is a powerful one -- is that it is the real thing. One simply walks through the beautiful doorway into another time and place in New York."The New York Times
East Northport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A chance to see an 1800's home”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a great example of an 1800's house and furnishings. My entrance fee included a self tour booklet. This booklet was very well written and gave many details of the home and the people of this period. The home also had seats where you could sit, look at the room you were in and read about the room, furniture and how the people lived in the room. Just fascinating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuntyM_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    61
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“inconspicuous gem”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This house is gorgeous but it would be easy to walk by not knowing the treasure that lies inside! I visited on a summer day, and there was only one other person touring at the time. The tour is self guided and explains the different parts of the mansion, how they were used and what life was like for New York's wealthiest in the 19th century. This museum is a must-visit, in my opinion!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cairennoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable small museum”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love small museums; the kind where docents are passionate about sharing their knowledge and there aren't long lines. The Merchant's House Museum is that kind of place.

I was going to take a picture of the historical placard on the house when I realized it was a museum. It's so small that the door is locked; ring the bell and you'll be let in. The next review down, by Oliver S, gives a great description of the museum and what's in it. What I loved was chatting with the docents about the house and its history, and why they were working there. You can't do that at MoMA. The house itself is fascinating, but the 50's Christmas decorations they were displaying in December were quite jarring to see with the 1850's decor.

Well worth the $10 entry fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LolaCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,534 reviews
719 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 953 helpful votes
“SPLENDOR IN THE PARLOR, SQUALOR FOR THE FAMILY”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Well, it’s not exactly squalor, I exaggerate, but the facts are still there: the Parlor floor is splendid. It was meant to impress visitors. The basement is where the Family Room is, and that’s where they spent their time. I am talking about the oldest authentic (inside and out) house from the 19th Century. Built in 1832, purchased 3 years later by prosperous hardware wholesaler Seabury Tredwell, the house served as his family’s house for 100 years, until the last descendent, Gertrude, passed away in 1933 at the tender age of 93. Gertrude’s ghost is said to still visit the house from time to time (the poor thing never married, maybe that’s why she lived that long…) The house is property of the City now which, of course, explains its sore shape of disrepair (wall painting peeling, a huge crack in the red bricks above the marble entrance). The great thing about it is that most of the furniture is authentic – not from the period, but from THIS VERY HOUSE. Oh, yeah, the other exciting thing is the Docents you find inside. Even though the house is owned by the City, there is a non-for-profit taking care of the interior and The Tours. We spent a marvelous one hour with Bill, a volunteer with seemingly endless knowledge of history (and not only NY history!) and we traded stories about Old New York and Oscar Wilde, Leadville, Kipling and Dickens, while not forgetting about the Astors and Wanamakers. It is definitely worth the $10 admission charge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time Travel to 19th Century NY”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is nothing quite like this place in NY. It is the real deal, like time traveling back to the 19th Century and meeting the family. I highly recommend this for anyone who is interested in history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchant's House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Merchant's House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing