We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouse problem”
Review of Senton Hotel

Senton Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Senton Hotel
Ranked #450 of 468 Hotels in New York City
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mouse problem”
Reviewed September 18, 2007

I stayed here with my boyfriend who was in town and we were going to head to a party that night nearby. And him and i are on a budget and i needed someplace to sleep that i wouldnt be broke from. So we chose Senton. Yeah the Sheets were stained but at least the toilet worked and there was a refridgerator that we were able to put some water in. But the only bad thing was that you only can pay in Cash no cred cards or anything, and i loove how they told me that over the phone, NOT!. But the worst was the mouse that was in our room and freaked me out and couldn't sleep because of it uggh. I dont think i will stay here again but it sure is cheap and convienently located near all the happening spots. So i reccomend it for the price not the quality.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank alylin1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    4
    13
See reviews for
3
2
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

It ruined my whole New York experience. It was my first time to New York, I stayed at the Broadway Plaza the first 3 nights but also paid the price. So my husband and I thought for our last night we would switch hotels and stay at something less expensive. Boy was that a mistake!!! We walked in to the lobby and i swear i heard that eerie horror music start to play in the background. My husband assured me it would be okay so we proceeded on to our "hotel suite". We walked in the creaking door and there were about 50 smoked cigarettes in the ass tray an unmade bed with cruppled, stained sheets. Luckily a maid was on her way to clean up. So we left to get the necesities- candle and air freshener (to cover the smell), a blanket,shouldve got our own cleaning spray... what a nightmare... anyway...we didnt even stay in the room we left out to get the hell out. when we did come back i needed to use the restroom- klinda embarrsing but i clogged the toliet and no one came to fix it the toliet water flowed out like a waterfall---they Offered us MORE TOWELS....?? we put towels down in the shower and on the floor and i took a "shower" in the sink and my husband with the shower curtain open because the back of the shower had a nasty greenish brown mold growing on it. My husband used the rest room and swore he say [--] on the wall but didnt tell me because he knew it would freak me out. we covered the bed and while sitting on the bed i noticed RAT/COCKROACH/whatever else poison in the bag next to the bed and almost fainted but somehow we finally fell asleep to some hardcore porn playing in the room next to us. We slept in our clothes. I used my t-shirt to cover my body up, never took off my shoes...god it was a nightmare...WE WILL NEVER GO BACK and hope that you don't either!

  • Liked — that cockroaches DID NOT attack
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tkiddt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I was in this hotel in July 2007. I wish that I have seen some review before I went to stay in this hotel .Well, what to say only don’t choose this hotel... I have been there with my boyfriend, because every others hotell didn't have room so we didn't have any choise. Its deffinitly The most disgusting and creepy place imaginable.
As many wrote, they only tell you a truth. You can only imagine the worst place that I have been. I must say that in lobby is in one day 5 person who has worked. And the bad was clean, thanks God. In whole rum it was plastic bag with some poison against insects or who knows what. Above our rum in bathroom the pipe is broken and the waste water ran into our bathroom. The poor is on TV all day, and some sound from others rum. It’s not a place to be many days, not even a day. This is deffinitly the most frightening experience in my life. I sleept with woollen stocking , I hade my shoos all time on me. But I must say thay hade a clean towel. And thats somthing. But if you need to sleap over ther, just don't look reality. Unfortunatlly I don't have any pfoto. My advice don't take this hotel at all.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elizabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

The most disgusting and creepy place imaginable. Only place that had vacancies. Transvestite prostitute in lobby being paid by a man, dirty sheets, porn on the t.v., weird screams in the morning, possible blood drips on plastic mattress covering. This was the most frightening experience, seriously debated sleeping in Central Park instead. This was worse than anything Ive ever seen on television! Feared for my life!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank darrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2004

Stayed here Sept, 01. Where do I start? Cockroaches running around the toilet bowl were acceptable compared to the dirty stained sheets, used condom in waste tidy and one channel TV...full on porn. This was our first trip to New York and we had pre booked and pre paid from Australia. Travelling with another couple we opted for the 'superior suite' with two double rooms and ensuite facilities. On arrival our hearts sank as we went to 'newly renovated suite'. It was like bad movie with your skin crawling on entering the room. No refunds available we opted to stay the night and thought it would look better after a few beers...it didn't.

Immediately went out to have lots of beers to dull our senses. Returned slept in our clothes with no actual contact of any part of our bodies with the filthy bedding.

We were all up at the crack of dawn..after the entertainment of hearing lively bartering between clients and service providers (working girls) throughout the night. The paper thin walls provided excellent acoustics to enhance EVERY conversation (for want of a better word). At 6.30a.m. we left having not been game to use the shower facility. It was already occupied by the resident cockroaches anyway.

As 'highly intelligent well travelled explorers..not' this could only be described as the WORST accomodation we have ever encountered. However as the years have gone past recalling this experience has provided much entertainment to the couples involved.

We have since been back to New York in 2003 and loved every minute of it (stayed at Hilton through priceline and much cheaper than the Senton). What suckers we were.

This hotel should only be considered if you are booking a holiday for your mother in law.

Helpful?
49 Thank barni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Oakwood at 777 6th Avenue
Oakwood at 777 6th Avenue
#411 of 468 in New York City
3 reviews
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#408 of 468 in New York City
11 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#340 of 468 in New York City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#223 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#84 of 468 in New York City
1,565 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#358 of 468 in New York City
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senton Hotel

Property: Senton Hotel
Address: 39 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-6900
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Senton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing