We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #265 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Midtown 45 last week. The room was a bit small and the accommodations were a little dated but the staff was excellent. When I was leaving it was pouring down rain and I needed a taxi to the airport. The front desk had the Bellman take me outside with an umbrella and our me in a private car. It was a life saver. I will stay at here again specifically because of this experience with the staff.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Squanchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are truly glad to know that you appreciated our convenient midtown location and your accommodations were as expected. The staff was very helpful and made your experience great. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Midtown 45
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 942 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We read a lot of negative reviews after booking our stay and almost cancelled- I'm glad we didn't! The front desk staff were all super nice and very accommodating even though we came to check in several hours early- even the housekeeping staff were friendly as we passed them in the hall, stopping to ask us how we were and if we needed anything. The rooms were clean, the amenities were nice. The location was perfect to explore everything that Manhattan has to offer. There was great food options within a block of our hotel too. (We didn't try the in-house restaurant, so can't comment on that). I would love to stay here again next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Fisher_907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are truly glad to know the staff was very helpful and made your experience great. And that you appreciated our convenient midtown location and your accommodations were as expected. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I used to come every single year at the Alex hotel.. what a suprise with the Wyndham!
General state of the furnishing in a pretty bad shape...room has not been redone and they are getting aged....bath old and black on side, broken cupboard, dirthy fridge, half of the lights not working in the bathroom... all this was of course mentioned to the reception desk...but after 8 nights there...nothing happened !

One day, back from work at 10pm...the room had not even been done at all ! I advised reception at night + following day in the morning before going to work. At night back at 6pm... same : room not done...so told reception to get someone during my diner.

and breakfast... a joke...one croissant for 14$..and don t forget to ask for jam...

All that for 300$... never again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We truly regret that your accommodations did not meet your expectations and we can certainly understand how this can lead to some frustration. Your comments will be forwarded to our management team for review. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at the Wyndham at 45th and 3rd, in New York City from June 6-8, 2014. I prepaid and it was a suite so I felt the price was fair. The ratings were about 3.5, so I figured it would be fine - especially since it was a suite at a decent (for New York) price. The location was decent, but this place is really run down. The furniture was very uncomfortable. The lighting was not good - if you are a female, you need good lighting to put on your make-up. The lamp in the living area did not work, the shower did not work. It was clean and the staff were great, but I will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We truly regret that your accommodations did not meet your expectations and we can certainly understand how this can lead to some frustration. Your feedback is welcomed and appreciated as is the time you have taken to share your impressions with us. Your comments will be forwarded to our management team for review. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
New York
Reviewed June 11, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple weeks ago, and we were pleasantly surprised! I'm much too busy with my schedule to review places usually, but this place is worth my time! We stayed in 1 bedroom suite and loved it!!!!! Everything was modern, clean, and comfortable! We will definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and colleagues and all of you reading this! We will most certainly be staying again, without a doubt! At first we were hesitant to stay based on some of the other reviews, but let me ease your mind, this place is a definite must stay! Thanks to the Wyndham staff for making our stay so incredibly comfortable and wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Your comments is what we live by, so thank you. Thank you for staying with us and really seeing what we do here at the Wyndham Midtown 45. Your feedback is amazing and wonderful, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#336 of 468 in New York City
2,154 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#138 of 468 in New York City
511 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#24 of 468 in New York City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#123 of 468 in New York City
630 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $200 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing