We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING STAFF!”
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #256 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tallassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING STAFF!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A wonderful addition to the Wyndham family. The bell staff and front desk staff made us feel like family. I brought my two beautiful daughters and my precious "sweet 16" year old for her "Sweet 16" birthday! The facilities are awesome, comfortable, spacious and "huge" for New York standards. We had a wonderful four days....and won't forget the perfect treatment we received at this "classy" home away from home! The renovation is perfect and the hide a bed couch was very comfortable!! As a visitor from the south the "warm" welcome we received from the staff was amazing! We felt like we were at home! The bar and restaurant area was so nice and so convenient. So many restaurants were within walking distance! Hope you have time to enjoy all they have to offer...my hat's off to a great vacation!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your review of The Wyndham Hotel. It is always our pleasure to help create a memorable experience for our guests and we are thrilled your family enjoyed our accommodations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    296
    161
    90
    77
See reviews for
276
312
36
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The last time we ex-Bronxites were in NYC was when tokens were 15 cents. Fare is now $2.75.
The lobby was too small to handle people checking in while others while leaving.
The staff was very helpful, even after I sent Benjamin on a wild goose chase for a 'missing' bag.
They helped with all our 'tourist' questions too.
The room was large and clean. Bed was very comfortable.
We missed an overhead fan though.
Kitchen area was fine. Large refigerator/freezer too.
There is a 3rd elevator that just handles 1-10, while the other 2 handle all 33 floors.
As a Wynham owner we had access to the roof with it's comfortable seating and great views.
We thought the location was fine. We had no problem walking to Grand Central...and we're in our 70's.
Be sure to bring quarters for the buses, $2.50...half price for seniors though.
The Amish market is good. Just be prepared to pay almost double but 10% discount for seniors.
There are food carts, fruit carts, smoothie carts everywhere.
Everyone we asked directions from was very helpful. One man even looked up the Irish Hunger Memorial on his phone.
I'm sure everyone will go to the 9-11 site which is a direct ride from Grand Central but be sure to do other sites too. The train from there will take you to Yankee Stadium too. Great tour.
Battery Park City was amazing. Great for walking and seeing the river and more. The NY Police Memorial is along it.
One nearby bus goes directly to the piers and a short walk brings you to the Intrepid Air and Space Museum. You can tour a sub too.
We'd go back in a heartbeat as we were only there for 4 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback about the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's very important to us that we provide excellent service to our guest. I thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked here because we knew it had been recently renovated. No lobby to speak of and only 2 elevators. It was clean,however dishwasher had dirty dishes in it and we couldn't get door to close. Bed was very comfortable,so had a good night's sleep(stayed 4 nights). We loved the Amish market across the street for food,but otherwise the location was poor. We usually stay uptown near Central Park with more to do. The only thing close to here is Grand Central Station with the subway,but 4 blocks away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusanL938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your review of The Wyndham Hotel. We improve our accommodations daily for our guest. So, It would be our pleasure to welcome you back as soon as your ready to experience excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline and was pleasantly surprised with our stay. Great value, huge room, lovely service, and terrific location. We'll look up the Wyndham when we come back to NYC next year. We arrived early for check-in and were offered an upgrade to a suite, which was fantastic.

Room Tip: Great view of the Chrysler Building from our suite on 28th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. Please come and stay we us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The managers Terence and Edwin where great and very helpful, but the front desk lady called Maria had a bad attitude and was rude. The rooms are noce and large, but the walls ( including the bathroom's) and the fridge were dirty... The sofa pillows were nasty.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leticia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for providing this feedback. We will share this information with our staff. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay after experiencing a few concerns. Again, thank you for your comments and know management is working on it. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon and can not fault any of it, friendly desk staff and very helpful bell boys especially Val, make you feel very welcome and had a laugh with guests, rooms were spacious and very clean, bar area was lovely to have a relaxed drink in, within walking distance of Times Square, at first I thought it was a hotel that would be full of buisness types but not like that at all.. Would highly recommend :) Mr & Mrs Phillips

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPhillips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the property location and unit amenities. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#343 of 468 in New York City
2,060 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 468 in New York City
588 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 468 in New York City
476 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 468 in New York City
2,155 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#48 of 468 in New York City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing