We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a relief! After reading all of the negative reviews, I was extrememly concerned about our upcoming stay but the price just could not be beat for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom hotel. It was nothing fancy but it was clean, spacious and in a pretty good location. I would recommend this to any family that needs space in a good location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank reneecx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback about the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's very important to us that we provide excellent service to our guest. I thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    294
    159
    90
    77
See reviews for
273
309
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great location when visiting Manhattan whether on personal or business. Only 5 minutes from the Grand central terminal, and a short 10 minute walk to Rockefeller Center. Access to tons of stores and cafes for your early morning breakfast, daytime bottled water, umbrellas on a rainy spring day, etc.
This is definitely boutique style hotel and not a standard hotel. Size of room is small but adequate, many confusing shelves. Bathroom shower is very adequate and refreshing with powerful water pressure.
I parked next to the ICON facility leveraging the ICON app for discounted rate of $39 with tax, not bad for NYC. Checking out was a breeze...even with its tiny lobby and reception area.
On my last day, I left my luggage to be picked up later that night. Luggage are handed back through a door that opens to the sidewalk. If you pay $300+ a night, i prefer to get my luggage inside the lobby...not curbside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeadowsValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and I'm glad to hear our location was amazing for you and your family. It's important to us to serve you and your family. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Based on the reviews that I read on here, I had mixed feelings about making a reservation here. My husband and I needed to stay close to grand central and you can't get much closer than this hotel. Check in was a bit slow, but we did get one of the renovated rooms so that made up for it. We were on the 21st floor. No view, but the room was quite adequate for us. The only thing puzzling was the lack of a coffee maker??? You would think they would have one since people rent these rooms out as part of a time share.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjurban25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's always a pleasure to serve you, our guest and receive great comments. Please make sure to visit us again at the Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here during a trip of 4 days in new york actually it was just the 4 days before the hurricane sandy, we stay in one of the two bedroom apartments they were fabulous , great view and vey nice organized good beds and kitchen area which was for us important as we traveled with a Baby, breakfast was not included but there are some small bakery's next to the hotel or even within the hotel, service was excellent , during next trip we would stay again, btw the hotel was called the alex at this time...

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Msteingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback concerning the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's our pleasure to serve you, our guest. Please make sure you come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#337 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing