We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“April 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #327 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    278
    155
    88
    77
See reviews for
240
277
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel I would give one or two star only. Two front desk agents were helping a show reservation for a guest when we arrived at 8 pm, and we were asked to wait for 10 minutes. Finally one of agent is available to help us, and it took 15 minutes to find a 'better room' for us. When we walk in the room, furniture are out dated, noisy street front, old carpet, no coffee maker, sofa with stain. However, room and bathroom size are good. When we came back from dinner, we found out there is no hot water from 10 pm to 6 am next day which front desk did not tell us at check-in. Bed linen is very thin and you can clearly see through the brand of mattress, and the mattress is kind of lowest quality which is light weight and moving all the time when you sleep with other person. We have set room temperature to 70F with 'auto' mode, but we found it was so cold in the middle of the night. I got up to switch air conditioner to 'heat' mode when actual room temperature was 64F , then I start to heard loud air conditioner started working. Until 7 am, the room temperature was still around 65 F which means the air conditioner was not working. Finally we walk to front desk to complain about hot water, street front noise, and air conditioner. Front desk a dark hair lady heard my complaint, replied me with cool face said she will switch the other room for me. No apology!! Next day, I got quiet room in the back of the building which is very good, but same type of mattress. Washroom is very very small. I have to close washroom's door in order to use toilet and shower. When I need to close washroom door, I have to move myself to beside of toilet. This quiet room's night light (beside the bed) and one of washroom lights were not working, and I just suffered without bothering housekeeping and front desk.
When we check out, the front desk was so busy. I see bellman was chatting on his cell phone outside on the street and laughing, and the concierge was happily chatting with the other coworker when there was long line up at front desk. I think this is a really poor managed property, and I will avoid to stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
First let me apologize to you and your family. At our hotel the Wyndham, we try to accommodate every guest even before check-in time. Somehow we didn't react to your concerns in time and we truly feel disappointed. We thank you for your feedback and hope you give us another attempt to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed for ten days at a room on the 10th floor. The room was cold and dark, poorly appointed, with a small window looking into some back alley, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would have been ok with this place if the folks behind the reservation desk could pretend to care about guests at all. A meeting on my last night kept me out working till 8 am. I asked for a late checkout, and despite having stayed at this hotel for ten days, was told I absolutely had to check out by noon. A colleague was able to secure a 1pm checkout, so this was clearly not standard. I called again around 11.30, feeling really groggy and was told that I could not extend checkout any later. I rushed to pack and leave. When I realised a few hours later that I'd forgotten my toiletries (and who knows what else!), I was invited to inspect the room (which was still empty, so why could I not get even another hour of sleep?!) only to find out my stuff was thrown away. Would it have killed Wyndham to hold on to my kit for just a few hours in case I turned up to reclaim it?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
The importance of a good night's sleep is essential and we can appreciate your frustration. We want you to have the best possible experience and hope that if you stay with us again that you won’t hesitate to reach out to our manager's for assistance. As a goodwill gesture we would like to refund your lost items. Your feedback is welcomed and we hope to have the chance to meet your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here on a Tuesday night due to a snowstorm we had coming the next day. Received a great rate on their website and it's a few blocks away from Grand Central. You could walk right by it and not even know it's there. Nothing about this hotel was special, nothing was horrible either. But I would stay here if the rate is right. I checked back a few weeks later for the same reason, and the rate was over $100 more. The closeness to GCT, some good steakhouses and the Perfect Pint Bar next door is definitely in it's favor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockland_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are always pleased to hear that The Wyndham and our staff have lived up to the high quality of service we continuously aspire to provide our guests. Thank you for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

In fairness to this property my observation is based on the stay of good Friends. We all spent the weekend in NYC. This hotel was used by the majority of guests at a wedding. We stayed at our preferred hotel.

The hotel is going through some renovations to possibly become a time share property. This is based on the fact that a kind man in the lobby tried to "sign me up" for a free breakfast if I would take a tour. I guess his motives became clear as I politely passed on the offer. The lobby of the hotel is small and very uninviting to guests. Waiting in the lobby was an exercise in sitting on hard cushioned benches pushed up against the wall. Our Friends who checked in had to wait until nearly 7P to get a room, this on a confirmed reservation. On check out day the staff was insistent that rooms be cleared by noon, interesting given that rooms are not ready at designated check in time. The concierge is a grumpy man who clearly has better places to be than tending to his guests. The hotel staff was indifferent to making a wedding weekend a special event and seemed to only be concerned with getting guests in and out of the property. Transportation to airport was not handled in a pleasant manner, in fact was not handled at all. Cabs not called on time or often not at all.

The room was dirty and in very poor condition. I presume the newer rooms will be of good quality and decorated in accordance with good taste. Stains on the couch made it impossible to sit without the use of a towel and the cabinets that house television and other amenities had been worn bare. When asked to have an ironing board brought to the room it was so filthy that I was afraid to iron a white shirt on it.

Location is a plus with this property as is the small store on the corner near the hotel. It offered late night good quality snacks and drinks.

I would NOT recommend this hotel to Friends or Family. NYC has many wonderful hotels in the local and price range of this property. Look around, after all its your money and holiday. You can do much better than this Wyndham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has even a small view. Some guest rooms have blocked view. You want to see more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i2fli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are committed to providing an exceptional experience for all of our guests and it is regrettable that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay. I'm sure that a member of my management team would've made a difference if made aware. Please if you decide to give us another evening I would like for you to contact my management team directly. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#329 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,442 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#65 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#130 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotels New York - Midtown East
Even Hotels New York - Midtown E...
#207 of 463 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing