We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Midtown 45
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$386
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveler rating
322
325
172
97
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
325
172
97
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschrysler buildinggrand central stationowners loungeamish marketbedroom presidential suitecomfort dinerpresidential reservefull kitchennew yorkrenovated roomrooftop loungeliving areatimes squarefew blockssmall kitchenflat screenbig apple
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 996 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

In fairness to this property my observation is based on the stay of good Friends. We all spent the weekend in NYC. This hotel was used by the majority of guests at a wedding. We stayed at our preferred hotel.

The hotel is going through some renovations to possibly become a time share property. This is based on the fact that a kind man in the lobby tried to "sign me up" for a free breakfast if I would take a tour. I guess his motives became clear as I politely passed on the offer. The lobby of the hotel is small and very uninviting to guests. Waiting in the lobby was an exercise in sitting on hard cushioned benches pushed up against the wall. Our Friends who checked in had to wait until nearly 7P to get a room, this on a confirmed reservation. On check out day the staff was insistent that rooms be cleared by noon, interesting given that rooms are not ready at designated check in time. The concierge is a grumpy man who clearly has better places to be than tending to his guests. The hotel staff was indifferent to making a wedding weekend a special event and seemed to only be concerned with getting guests in and out of the property. Transportation to airport was not handled in a pleasant manner, in fact was not handled at all. Cabs not called on time or often not at all.

The room was dirty and in very poor condition. I presume the newer rooms will be of good quality and decorated in accordance with good taste. Stains on the couch made it impossible to sit without the use of a towel and the cabinets that house television and other amenities had been worn bare. When asked to have an ironing board brought to the room it was so filthy that I was afraid to iron a white shirt on it.

Location is a plus with this property as is the small store on the corner near the hotel. It offered late night good quality snacks and drinks.

I would NOT recommend this hotel to Friends or Family. NYC has many wonderful hotels in the local and price range of this property. Look around, after all its your money and holiday. You can do much better than this Wyndham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has even a small view. Some guest rooms have blocked view. You want to see more than a block wall while in NY.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i2fli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We are committed to providing an exceptional experience for all of our guests and it is regrettable that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay. I'm sure that a member of my management team would've made a difference if made aware. Please if you decide to give us another evening I would like for you to contact my management team directly. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed at this hotel, and must admit it was not what I expected. On arrival, we were greeted by the concierge, a grumpy man who obviously did not want to be there. The room seemed clean when entering but in fact there was dust all over the room, stains on sofa and the bed head, peeling wallpaper. It needs big renovation. At night we heard some tapping and creaking noises, which we complained three times but without any responses. This continued for the four nights stay. Plus I complained about the fact that the bathroom tv had more channels than the main tv. I wanted to watch sports which was only available on the bathroom tv. I did mention that I did not want to watch sports in the bathroom. Their response was - it is what it is. House cleaning had cleaned the bathroom but did not replace towels and face towels when all old towels were left on the floor. Called in and asked for face towels and we received more big towels. Waited more time for face towels.

I was not impressed at all. I will not return to Wyndham and most especially this hotel. Would definitely not recommend any stay with Wyndham to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank pauloarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

It is never our intention to have guests leave us feeling disappointed.We regret any inconvenience you may have experienced or if sounds from outside your guestroom disrupted your peace in anyway. We encourage our guests to let us know if anything is amiss during their stay and we regret that we were not able to provide you with a more positive experience while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent three nights over this very busy holiday season. On the plus side - location. On the North side of E 45th St just east of 3rd Ave. 15 minute walks to Times Square or Central Park. 5 minute walk to Grand Central Station. Restaurant and bar on site. Convenience store on the corner of 3rd Ave and 45th St. Duane Reed drug store around the corner on 3rd and 44th. Wyndham is in the process of, over the next three years, converting this to one of their vacation ownership resorts (timeshare). Presently Wyndham units are located on the 11th floor and above. The lower 10 floors are still hotel units associated with the hotel owner. There are three elevators of which two access all floors one acesses on the first 10 floors. At times there was a wait for the elevator to get to you. Upon checkin we found out that the current reservation system is the hotel's along with the front desk staff. Fortunately there was a helpful Wyndham member service rep in the lobby helping to clear things up. Checkin was a mess! Two front desk clerks and lots of people trying to checkin. Our reservation, which had been made online, through Wyndham, could not be found in the system but was found on the Wyndham service reps checkin list. We had to wait about 20 minutes so the font desk could make a new reservation. Our original reservation was for a two bedroom. When we got to the room it was a one bedroom. My family waited in the room and I headed downstairs and waited as they canceled that reservation and booked a new one and we finally got into a two bedroom corner unit on the 11th floor overlooking 3rd and 45th. Room was small but nice. One drawback - only one bathroom but the four of us managed. The master bedroom had a king bed while the other bedroom had a queen bed. Closets were ample size but there was no other bedroom furniture for clothing other than a small, tree drawer, fling cabinet type unit in the closets. The cabinet in the master bedroom could not be used because the sliding closet door did not slide past the cabinet drawers. The closet in the other bedroom was larger so access was available to that cabinet. Not too much seating in the living room. On full sized sofa bed which looked well worn. I'm sure it's a left over from the hotel and will probably be replaced by Wyndham once they get all of their floor renovated. One chair and a dining table with four chairs. Flat screen TVs in the living area, bedrooms and the bathroom(?). Kitchen had a nice sized refrigerator and a good working freezer with ice! There was a four burner counter top stove, dishwasher and a microwave. The microwave did not seem to be working well. Tried to pop popcorn but it would only pop half the bag. It would be helpful if Wyndham provided some instructions as I'm sure the power was set low and I could not figure out how to set the power level higher. BRING EAR PLUGS! The street noise was obvious and, over the first two nights, Con Ed was doing street work, jack hammers and all, on 3rd Ave. For a quick bite there is a Subway, Wendy's and Dunkin Donuts across the street on 3rd Ave. Across the street on 45th is the Comfort Diner. Not a very great looking place but the food was okay. Next to the Wyndham is an Irish pub. The local convenience store does sell soft drinks and wines and has a pretty good sized buffet bar. Other than the restaurant and bar there does not seem to be other facilities, other than a gym, onsite (no swimming pool).

Room Tip: While the view is good from the units facing the street the noise is loud so bring ear plugs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divearnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We strive to deliver the highest level of service with a friendly approach to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We couldn’t be more disappointed that this was not your experience. Your input and feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time taken to share your perspective with us. The next time you are in the area, we hope to have the opportunity to win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Firstly, I am picky when it comes to hotels, so was pleasantly surprised by The Wyndham.
The location was great, perfect to explore the whole city, without it being too much of a mission.

The room was nice, not huge, but just right. Loads of storage and a huge comfortable bed. It all looked like it had been done in the past few years. There were signs of things being a bit tired, that wouldn't take long to fix, Loose towel rail, old lightbulbs and slightly scuffed paintwork, but nothing major.
The bathroom had a tub and a tv, which was perfect to soak knackered legs at the end of the day.

We had extremely noisy neighbours halfway through our stay, after no luck with trying to reason with them, the hotel staff were brilliant and moved us to a new room, with free wifi and complimentary breakfast the next day, this was all sorted within 20 minutes, thank you Wyndham staff!
Don't miss the rooftop bar in The Perfect Pint next door, nice way to finish the evening before bed!
If you have any energy left after walking for miles, the gym is good!

All in all, a great hotel, in a great location, just need a maintenance man to go around and tighten up all of the wobbly fixings and touch up the paintwork in places.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelReviewerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We are always pleased to hear that The Wyndham and our staff have lived up to the high quality of service we continuously aspire to provide our guests. Thank you for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Wyndham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews