We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great base for exploring.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great base for exploring.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Firstly, I am picky when it comes to hotels, so was pleasantly surprised by The Wyndham.
The location was great, perfect to explore the whole city, without it being too much of a mission.

The room was nice, not huge, but just right. Loads of storage and a huge comfortable bed. It all looked like it had been done in the past few years. There were signs of things being a bit tired, that wouldn't take long to fix, Loose towel rail, old lightbulbs and slightly scuffed paintwork, but nothing major.
The bathroom had a tub and a tv, which was perfect to soak knackered legs at the end of the day.

We had extremely noisy neighbours halfway through our stay, after no luck with trying to reason with them, the hotel staff were brilliant and moved us to a new room, with free wifi and complimentary breakfast the next day, this was all sorted within 20 minutes, thank you Wyndham staff!
Don't miss the rooftop bar in The Perfect Pint next door, nice way to finish the evening before bed!
If you have any energy left after walking for miles, the gym is good!

All in all, a great hotel, in a great location, just need a maintenance man to go around and tighten up all of the wobbly fixings and touch up the paintwork in places.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelReviewerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are always pleased to hear that The Wyndham and our staff have lived up to the high quality of service we continuously aspire to provide our guests. Thank you for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    283
    156
    88
    77
See reviews for
256
298
32
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed at Wyndam locations before but this was our first time at this location. We were in one of the newly renovated one bedroom suites and it was perfect - full kitchen, rain shower, comfortable bed and the kids said the sofa bed was comfortable too! Amish Market just down the street to stock up and great breakfast across the street at the Comfort Diner. Excellent midtown location - easy to walk to Grand Central and to get around the city. The desk staff was very attentive - our room wasn't ready so they have a luggage check in at the desk. They gave us great suggestions on where to eat and were not pushy about the owners breakfast (which we did not attend). As owners you get a code for free wi-fi which was nice.

I do wish they had room service and the 2 elevators are pretty slow but all in all a great trip to NYC. Will stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
How wonderful it was to hear that the comfort level of the bed in your room was the cherry on the cake. We know how important it is for our guests to be comfortable when away from home, so we take great pride in creating an atmosphere that is not only luxurious but serene. The next time that you are planning a trip to New York, visit our website to view our specials for some great deals on overnight packages. We hope to welcome you back again soon to The Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I am very pleased with my recent stay this hotel! As soon as I entered the doors I was greeted warmly by the staff. The young lady who checked us in was amazing and offered great tips on the area. The room we had was a spacious (for New York) 1 bedroom suite that was newly renovated it was spotless with nice plush carpet and a super comfy bed and sofa bed.There was a full refrigerator, microwave, stove, and dishwasher . Hotel was a quick walk to 42nd & Grand Central station for access to subways , there's a 24 hour grocery/deli on the corner and there's also an Amish Market on the other end of the block for fresh meat , fruit and everything in between. It was only a 15 min. walk to Times Square. We loved the property would definitely stay again and I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlychic1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the property location and unit amenities. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#327 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#27 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing