We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #265 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
“Great location, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel. It was comfortable, the staff was extremely nice, and it is very convenient to everything. They were apparently doing some renovations in other areas of the hotel, but this did not affect or inconvenience us at all during our 4 day stay. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
The best compliment we can receive is when a guest has continued to visit with us! Thank you for your loyalty. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again to the Wyndham during your next visit into New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    289
    158
    88
    77
See reviews for
270
303
34
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I always give the positive first, so here are the good points. Great location on the East Side - walk to Times Square, 5th, Lex and Madison Avenues, Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building and next door to a small Irish pub with super friendly people. Easy to get a cab with Inexpensive fares to Central Park and the West Side. The upper floors have great views and are insulated pretty well from street noise. The staff was great; helpful and friendly. Now the Bad - the place is cheap; thin walls, cheap fixtures, and beds as hard as cement blocks, (my husband was in the Navy and said even HE had a bad night's sleep because of the hardness of the beds!) The towels felt like sandpaper - which was great if you wanted to scratch your back. The shower in the 'master" of our two bedroom did not work properly and a few other guests mentioned they were having problems with their showers as well. The thermostat had a very hard time bringing the room temperature down from 74 to 69; it took me turning the temp down to 62. The kitchens are sparsely supplied; I could not even find a cutting knife, only table knives. The "kitchen" is really just for heating food up in the microwave, nothing more. There were only 2 working elevators, (the other one I am not sure is even for guests) for 33 floors. On the Saturday we stayed, one of the elevators was being "used" by workmen doing remodeling - which started at 7 am in the room above me. It took us 30 minutes to get down from the 32nd floor. People were upset. The toilets are hard to flush and REALLY noisy.The furnishings are cheap but adequate; very minimalist and "modern". I got almost no sleep due to the hardness of the beds, (I literally woke up all during the night aching), the heat of the room and the noise from the workmen and other guests. All in all, average is as good as I can give the property.

Room Tip: We had the corner room on the south west side, 32nd floor and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It is truly disappointing to hear that your overall impression of our hotel was not what we would hope for and did not meet your expectations. We value all feedback positive or otherwise and will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best experience for future guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

clean, updated room, with small amenities, convenient to walking, shopping within a few blocks
good value for the buck, we had stayed at the Peninsula before at more than double the price of this one. I would go back next year when I have a convention to attend in May.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to our rooms here at the Wyndham. Our hotel is, as you mentioned, within walking distance of Grand Central Station, shopping and Broadway entertainment. I thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in May for the convention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was the perfect location and Suite for our two week stay in NYC. The Apartment was very comfortable (please note renovations ongoing, but had not yet reached this apartment), but it was still very nice and clean and what a fantastic view from the 29th floor, and met our price range perfectly. Most of the staff at reception and doormen were super (there were exceptions), very friendly and welcoming. Lots of eating places and supermarkets around the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are always pleased to hear that the Wyndham and our staff have lived up to the high quality of service we continuously aspire to provide our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience and for the excellent review. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I found this hotel to be very comfortable. The room had everything we needed for our 4 night stay. A short walk to all the action, it was a great location to explore the city and the staff were polite and helpful. We could even see the top of the Chrysler Building from our window!
Lovely rainfall shower in the bathroom too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are thrilled that your stay was such a positive experience that it inspired your review. It's great to know you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for your feedback and recommendation, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the Wyndham Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#326 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing