We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Prime location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #332 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prime location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a great little surprise booked over Hotels.com and is a hotel I will use again. Located just a block from Grand Central station which was extremely convenient for my week of business meetings. Spacious room, comfortable bed, very nice and helpful staff - a real bonus there. The shower was unusually laid out floor level with french doors that open into the bathroom, and the two glass doors did not ever fully come together properly so water always spilled out onto the bathroom floor making it slippery. I ate in the restaurant three times and was very pleased with the quality and freshness of the food and the service every time. Concierge and doormen were very helpful at every opportunity as well as front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0vett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as well as your high recommendations, we are thrilled you had such a positive experience at The Wyndham 45 Hotel. All of our guestrooms and suites are designed with our guests’ ultimate comfort and convenience in mind and our locations is indeed just a brief stroll from Grand Central Terminal and so much more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, and hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    265
    154
    87
    76
See reviews for
230
268
28
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney. Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom suite in late May. The second bedroom was quite cramped. But a very comfortable bed and lovely and clean.The position was great to get around NYC and cabs were always available. The suite had a small kitchen but No coffee machine or kettle in the room. We had one delivered the next day. For NYC this hotel was great value for money. There is an excellent Deli just a short walk away and a bottle shop also a small convience store and an ATM and a Bank. There are several restaurants close by that were quite reasonably priced by New York standards. There is no free wi fi . This hotel is a little tired in places but the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on a high floor that was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many of our guests are always pleased to discover so many area attractions are within walking distance. Thank you so much for letting us know we met your expectations and we would love to welcome you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here 31.05.13 to 04.06.13 with my daughter in a one bedroom suite. We stayed here as we like to have the kitchenette access so we can at least make breakfast for ourself in the morning.

We was on 26th floor room 2602. We had a view of The Chrysler building from the living area and bedroom which was nice. The hotel is situated in a quiet street, there was no street noise (which is a surprise for a hotel in NYC) so we had a night great sleep.

The size of the suite is huge but the layout is strange. The furnishings are old and the wooden cupboards housing the tv etc have seen better days. The door on one of the cupboards was broken and could not be closed. Both of the TVs in the bedroom and living room would look better if they were removed from the cabinets altogether. There was no need for them. The sofa looked old, wasnt comfortable and definately needs replacing. The living area and bedroom areas of the suite need to be majorly redecorated, it just felt 'tired'.

The bedroom had plenty of built in wardrobe space and the bed was really comfortable.. So no complaints there. The hotel have missed a trick.. if the bed head was placed on the opposite wall, you would have a great view of the Chrysler building from your bed, which would have been lovely. I suggest the hotel make this change in room 2602!

The bathroom was the best part of the suite! It looks really nice and actually looked new? i would suggest more shelving as there wasn't a lot of place to hold toiletries. The tv in the bathroom is a nice touch!

The suite was clean there was no problems with house keeping.

All staff members we encountered were nice ... Not overly helpful but nice.

As the hotel has recently been taken over by the Wyndham group I have heard that the hotel will be getting a makeover .. I hope this is true as the place needs it .. I think they claim to currently be a 4 star hotel.... its definately not in my opinion, but with a bit of TLC it COULD be in the future. So fingers crossed they make some changes.

One more suggestion I would ask the Wyndham to think about proposing is having free wifi in the lobby.

If your looking for a hotel with kitchenette, I suggest you stay at the Element in Times Square - we also stayed here during our vacation and loved it! Yes The rooms are smaller than the suites at the Wyndham but they are more modern and the layout is better! Wyndham 45 could do with taking a trip over to the Element to see how they do things!

If I'm in NYC again in the future and I hear that the hotel has been given a makeover, I would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of The Chrysler Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerriA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel. Great amenities, rock hard bed, nice kitchenette, great food market nearby. Staff super friendly. No free wifi. Complementary Newspapers. Perfect location, close to grand central station and subway. Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

great hotel. great location. clean, staff were friendly, rooms were large and well laid out. bed was comfy.

i visited with friends, and would recommend. staff upgraded us for free. staff were helpful, would always flag cabs.

only negative was the wifi, some days its stopped working however these days were taken off the bill.

will come back! thanks

Room Tip: leevl 28 was quiet, had a great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago when this was the Alex Hotel, so decided to stay again on a recent visit to NYC. Big Mistake!!! The hotel needs a facelift. The rooms are dismal, the furniture is falling apart, the elevator is slow, the bed linen is worn out. Every time we went upstairs to our room required two trips, because the keys never worked the first time. On the plus side, the location is great, an easy walk to just about anywhere you want to go in the city. Breakfast in the dining room was good. The staff really tried to put on their best face. They were friendly and helpful, but one expects more from a supposedly 4 star hotel, especially since it is now a Wyndham. There are lots of choices...stay someplace else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Traveling Commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wyndham and had such a fantastic time! Upon arrival we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was absolutely fabulous, the bed was extremely big and super comfortable. The room was a great layout and very spacious (especially by New York hotel standards). The staff were absolutely lovely (Alli in particular) and were so helpful with explaining where to go, booking things for us and overall making our experience very pleasant! The hotel is in a great location, with 5th Ave, Madison and Lexington all in close walking distance for the best shopping. Downtown is a $10 cab away or a quick subway from Grand Central (also in close proximity). I would 100% recommend this hotel and I will definitely be returning! Excellent customer service and lovely staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#315 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,250 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#129 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#135 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#68 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing