We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!”
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #252 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wyndham and had such a fantastic time! Upon arrival we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was absolutely fabulous, the bed was extremely big and super comfortable. The room was a great layout and very spacious (especially by New York hotel standards). The staff were absolutely lovely (Alli in particular) and were so helpful with explaining where to go, booking things for us and overall making our experience very pleasant! The hotel is in a great location, with 5th Ave, Madison and Lexington all in close walking distance for the best shopping. Downtown is a $10 cab away or a quick subway from Grand Central (also in close proximity). I would 100% recommend this hotel and I will definitely be returning! Excellent customer service and lovely staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    305
    163
    92
    77
See reviews for
282
317
36
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile


I stayed here with a friend of mine for two nights while in the city. We were able to check in early which was a huge bonus and the staff was very nice. It's well situated in midtown and is well within walking distance to Times Sq. There's a diner across the street and a 24 deli/salad bar right around the corner which is a huge plus.

The room was big by NYC standards but was a lil worn looking. There was only one bucket where the cabinet was and it couldn't be removed (it was small) and I missed having a bucket in the bathroom. I also found that there were a lack of outlets in the room. One of the ones closest to the bed had two plug holes and only one worked and it wasn't secured into the wall.

I also felt there wasn't much lighting in the room. There was a standup lamp in the corner but it was plugged into an outlet that didn't work.

The closet was spacious and one of the doors ended up coming off and was promptly fixed by a member of the staff. They were also concerned that we weren't injured which was nice.

The bathroom was large and had a great shower as well as a tv and unexpected feature.

The furniture looked a lil worn but overall it was a more than suitable room in a good location. I wouldn't give it four stars but would give it 3.
It's easy to hail a cab, walk to Times Sq, and there are plenty of places to grab coffee, food, or even a late night snack. Not a bad place to stay at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireaisling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has some very good and very bad points. We first had problems checking in, the front desk were having system issues so it took over 20 minutes before we could be allocated a room, then the key cards did not work. A new set of key cards were given to us, they didn't work either. Eventually security arranged for us to get in the room and we were told to collect key cards later. I think we must have been given the worst room in the hotel (room 302) - a beautiful view of airconditioning units right at window level and a brick wall with very little natural light. Knowing how built up Manhattan is, we weren't expecting an amazing view, but this room/view was disappointing. However, we weren't visiting NYC for the view from the hotel, so we unpacked and hit the city.

The hotel location is great - just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city so you can catch your breath, but still only a short walk to Times Square, 5th Ave, Central Park, and Grand Central Station is almost on the doorstep. There are lots of places to eat, drink and shop, and it felt a very safe area.

The room problems didn't end there though. When we got back that night, the third set of keycards didn't work so we had to wait for security to let us into our room again. We had also bought some water to have in the room, but when we came to put it in the fridge, the fridge was missing! The following morning I spoke to the front desk, and they offered to upgrade us to a different room on the 21st floor. And what a difference - we got a much bigger and better room, it was clean and well equipped, we could see the sky, we had a fridge, and the key cards worked!

After all of the initial problems, the rest of the stay went perfectly and we had a great time in New York. However, on returning home I was met with the sting in the tail. Even though I had booked a prepaid room and paid for the room in full in February '13, I just received my credit card statement to see they have charged me for the room again (plus I have incurred an international credit card fee). To say I am not happy is an understatement, and what is more concerning is that looking at other reviews this appears to have happened to other people.
I have emailed the hotel and am hoping for a quick response and refund. If you've booked to stay here a word of warning - make sure you check your bank statement carefully when you leave!!

Room Tip: The room on the 21st floor was great - if you get offered room 302, refuse it quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a very well located and spacious room hotel. The lobby is very small and for the price one pays I expected the hotel to be in much better shape and with more style and I feel that for what they charge you can get a much better hotel in New York.
The rooms are big and they are clean and nice beds. The problem is that it looks more like a suite apartment than a Wyndham room in New York. The Restaurant is not very appealing and food is about average.
If style is not important to you this could be a good choice in terms of getting a big room with nice beds and bathrooms.
The Hotel is Located at 45th Street between 2nd and 3rd very close to Fifth Avenue and has many great restaurants around.

Room Tip: Try the executive Suites in the higher floors. They are quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travel to New York frequently for business and the hotel choices in Midtown can be VERY pricey. The Wyndham Midtown 45 (formerly the Alex Hotel) is a great choice. The rooms are NYC smallish, but they are clean and the front desk clerks are always super friendly. After three stays I do not have any complaints. The wait staff is accommodating in the restaurant no matter the time of day. They are proud of their high level of service. If I was planning a weekend trip I'd consider this hotel as well. There are several good restaurants in the area and more than a few fine Irish pubs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppingcruisequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Asked for a high floor and we were given a beautiful room. Clean with good kitchen and bathroom. Good location for walking or train. Nice staff. HOWEVER we got a nasty surprise when we got home. An almost $2000 room charge plus international credit card fee of $50! We had already pre paid through a travel agent and when we checked out nothing was mentioned! I am hoping this will get sorted out in a timely fashion. Very upset

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin8407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Formerly "the alex hotel" is a 4* hotel in vry good position in NY.
The "real" average of the hotel is in my opinion 3*.
Extras are very expensive and definitively not worth the price.
The staff is very friendly, maybe because I was special guest of American Express, bur i immediatly had a room upgrade in a junior suite.
Even the junior suite was small, bur this is normal in NY city. I think that the normal guest room are very very small. The room equipment is a litle bit old, and it'd need definitively a refreshment.
The hotel is a good choice if you book a room on the upper floors, where you can have a magnificend view over the Chrisler Building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#340 of 467 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,152 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,343 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing