We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good business choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travel to New York frequently for business and the hotel choices in Midtown can be VERY pricey. The Wyndham Midtown 45 (formerly the Alex Hotel) is a great choice. The rooms are NYC smallish, but they are clean and the front desk clerks are always super friendly. After three stays I do not have any complaints. The wait staff is accommodating in the restaurant no matter the time of day. They are proud of their high level of service. If I was planning a weekend trip I'd consider this hotel as well. There are several good restaurants in the area and more than a few fine Irish pubs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppingcruisequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    283
    156
    88
    77
See reviews for
256
298
32
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Asked for a high floor and we were given a beautiful room. Clean with good kitchen and bathroom. Good location for walking or train. Nice staff. HOWEVER we got a nasty surprise when we got home. An almost $2000 room charge plus international credit card fee of $50! We had already pre paid through a travel agent and when we checked out nothing was mentioned! I am hoping this will get sorted out in a timely fashion. Very upset

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin8407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Formerly "the alex hotel" is a 4* hotel in vry good position in NY.
The "real" average of the hotel is in my opinion 3*.
Extras are very expensive and definitively not worth the price.
The staff is very friendly, maybe because I was special guest of American Express, bur i immediatly had a room upgrade in a junior suite.
Even the junior suite was small, bur this is normal in NY city. I think that the normal guest room are very very small. The room equipment is a litle bit old, and it'd need definitively a refreshment.
The hotel is a good choice if you book a room on the upper floors, where you can have a magnificend view over the Chrisler Building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 10th anniversary. The pictures on the site made it look a lot fancier than it actually was. The location was nice. It was very basic and a lot smaller than expected. We never utilized the bar, but it looked nice. Rooms were very basic. The view from our room was nothing exciting at all...

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor which faced the back. I don't recommend that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Oh, how I hate myself when I don't go to Tripadvisor first! I bought two nights on Priceline recently..you know the one, where you pay for an unknown hotel in a requested area, but don't know what you got until after you pay. Priceline said it was 4 stars DELUXE and in the same category as Hyatt, Marriott, or Hilton, and most importantly, FOUR STARS!! Well, I can tell you, this was no four star hotel. 3 at best even though the 4 stars were prominently displayed as soon as you walked into the lobby along with the candles and fresh flowers. I wonder what parts of the hotel the people who assigned those stars saw? Room was small, but typical for NYC. However, it was made to look even smaller with these weird stand alone type closets they had in there. It reminded me of something you would see in a dorm room...little fold out desk with lots of little useless cubby holes for who knows what. There was also a regular closet so I wonder why this was even here.There were 2 double beds, NOT THE 2 QUEENS I WAS TOLD i WAS GETTING. That was a problem for me with a large 6 foot 4 husband. Overall, the room needed an overhaul/update, although it appeared to be clean.
Ok, to say something nice about this place....evening staff friendly, and helpful (not so with day staff who were rude to my husband on two separate occasions), it was very quiet, maybe the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in in NYC, nice bar and atrium sun filled restaurant with attentive staff. They were very nice, even giving me a free coffee while I waited. On the other hand, there was no complimentary coffee in the room, nor free wifi, or free breakfast (like Staybridge Suites where I stayed last time) Would I stay here again? Maybe...if it was deeply discounted, but I doubt it. I just hate paying for something I did not get, namely a 4 star experience at a 3 star hotel. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet if you choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Formerly the Alex, this new Wyndham property is set to get a face-lift soon. We booked two rooms through Travelocity several months ago, and discovered that this hotel, at least, probably reserves the last of the last for these bookings and also makes no apparent effort to honor the preferred configuration the five of us wanted (two queens each instead of a king in each). The room itself was ok - smelled marginally ok, I think there must have been a smoker in there at some point in the not-so-distant past, and we were right by the elevator (an oh,no, but luckily, no noise.) The bedlights puzzled: they were not bright enough to read by. And the toilet flusher was a button set flush to the wall that required two heavily applied thumbs to operate -- not possible for the 8-year-old with us. Upshot: the hotel was very recently acquired by Wyndham, and according to the front desk staff- nice, by the way -- the renovations to the hotel and to the ultra-cramped lobby will commence soon. Comfortableand clean bed, nice dark curtains, and the room we had - 605 - was large by NYC standards.
Hotel is about three blocks from Grand Central.

Room Tip: Try to book through the hotel first if the room configuration is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a great time here. Perfect location- not too far away from attractions but far enough for some peace and quiet.

The diner across the road was fantastic as well.

We emailed the hotel the week before we arrived asking for a room high up with a view and we ended up on floor 30 with the Chrysler Building as our neighbour! Our photos are fantastic.

We also booked it via Expedia so we got quite a few nectar points too!

Room Tip: Eat in the diner across the road, it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingwiganer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#327 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#27 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing