We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V. good hotel, good area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Ranked #303 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Moville, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“V. good hotel, good area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2009. I found the hotel check in to be easy, rooms clean and good size, with excellent wide screen tv. The location was very good, close to subway stops and some excellent breakfast eating places! The restaurant downstairs in the hotel was excellent and well priced esp for happy hour!. the reason I didnt give this hotel a 5 was that it has no pool but apart from that I would stay here again.
p.s. I booked this hotel on priceline.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nige10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    443
    219
    65
    41
See reviews for
215
226
109
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed here in October 2008. Definitely *not* recommended. You can do better in the area. The hotel was overbooked on the night I arrived, and so they sent me to a comped room at the Hilton Garden Inn New York/Chelsea. This gave me a chance to compare the hotels, and I preferred the Hilton on every count: more professional staff, newer room with better amenities (everything from the bed linens to the bathroom toiletries), and a nice view.
I could write more about the problems with this Sheraton, but let the following suffice: The reception desk was really amateurly staffed. The hallway on my floor was claustrophobic and dingy, with a ratty-looking ice machine just outside my door. The room itself was cramped and not well cleaned, the furniture was beginning to look worn, and the window (and this was a high floor) offered an ugly view onto the rear of other buildings.
The worst aspect of my stay was that unfortunately the hotel did not honor the rate I booked. It had to do with the fact that, again, they overbooked my first night and had to bump me to a competitor—their fault, not mine. They then were unwilling to honor the Pay 2 Nights, Stay 3 Nights promotion that I had booked. The rate and total I was charged at check-out was correct, and then—unbelievably—they re-adjusted my bill upward and billed a surcharge to my credit card over a week after I checked out. Of course I had never signed for the charge. I contested it afterward, but what a pain. The hotel’s accountant defended the overbilling, and I decided this was one battle too many. Apparently squeezing a customer, creating ill will and bad word of mouth, was more important than providing a good customer experience. Being a member of the Starwood Preferred Guest program didn’t help at all. This experience is why I give the hotel a “Terrible” rating and will not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winebluesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Rooms are extremelly small and they are not at all as in the photos they show in their web site; there is a night club at the ground floor and you can hear the music until late at night. We expected much better from a Sheraton! Location is not bad (15 blocks from times square) but the area is not very nice or clean.
Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Lauren, and everyone else at the front desk, has been great-- this is my second stay at the property. On this trip, I'm here 5 nights and every time I come back to the hotel or leave I'm greeted, which is nice. The rooms are great for business travelers: a free bottle of water, 100% free Internet (critical!) and great shower with fantastic water pressure. My king-size bed is awesome and the mattress is great; I sleep like a baby. (I understand they're in the process of renovating many of the floors and putting in new mattresses, and I was told I'm in a renovated room.)

The only (extremely, extremely) minor things that should be pointed out are that there are only two elevators and that's a bit tight for a property this size. And the bar in the back of the lobby gets loud but it's hardly an issue and in my 5th floor room I can't hear anything even when it's hopping down there.

And top of everything else, it's a Starwood Property (if you're not a member of the Starwood Preferred Guest points program, join! it's the best reward program out there and the Starwood American Express is great).

The location is fantastic, just a couple of short blocks from Whole Foods, the subway, Starbucks, a huge David Barton Gym, and about a million restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Stayed at two Four Points Sheraton hotels in the city this trip - first Soho and now Chelsea. Chelsea, although their wood furniture is a little worn, is a better location. Plus, one bad employee at Soho can ruin an overall opinion of the staff. Except for that both hotels are good, but the Chelsea staff is overly accomodating. Plus, the front desk staff referred us to a great sushi restaurant five doors down - Rock n' Sake - instead of the one that I first went to that turned out to be a hole-in-the-wall with one customer - too sketchy to chance eating fresh fish.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Great front desk staff. Lauren is outstanding at the front desk! Super clean rooms and bathrooms. Intimate small cafe behind the lobby for breakfast and later for drinks. Will return to this lovely hotel again for my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. As the previous rviews have stated this is a nice hotel with friendly staff and good rooms. I was on the 11th floor and had no isues with any noise. The room was nicely furnished with two double beds. Good to have free internet access in the lobby. The subway is only 2 blocks south, about a 2 min walk and is handy for getting up to central park area or down to the financial district. Chelsea and Greenwich Village are within walking distance. The only thing I would say is if you're nervous about walking around at night you might find some of the area around it a bit off putting. It certaining hasn't got the same police presence as the Times Sq, or Financial district and any further south than 21st st and it starts to feel a bit ore rough. I walked through the area at night and had no problems at all but I can imagine the perception would affect some people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,239 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#342 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Address: 160 W 25th St, New York City, NY 10001-7479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind our sleek design is the same comfort and service you expect from a Four Points. You won't need to go far to find a great restaurant, gallery or lounge. Over 2000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Starwood, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Four Points New York City
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
New York City Four Points
New York City Sheraton
Four Points Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing