We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, though not thrilling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Ranked #306 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Boulder Creek, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent, though not thrilling”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is walking distance from our NYC office, so I've stayed here several times, each time with pretty much the same experience - so at least it's consistent! The beds and linens are comfy and the rooms are clean, though otherwise it's pretty much just a place to sleep. Being NYC, the rooms are generally pretty small and compact and this hotel is no different - I've stayed on at least a dozen different floors, from the 2nd floor in the back overlooking the alley to the 14th floor overlooking the street, and the variance in size is nominal. The prices have gone up in recent years, which is too bad because there really isn't much to brag about here; since I am always here on business and only need a place to shower and sleep, though, it is good for that.

Room Tip: Unless you're a photographer who likes dark urban alleyscapes, get a room higher up :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueBearBoulderCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you BlueBearBoulderCreek for your review. We appreciate your continued loyalty and will continue to work hard to keep you coming back. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    447
    223
    65
    42
See reviews for
219
231
111
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time. The rooms have undergone a nice renovation and have added color, texture, and quality to the materials. The rooms are tiny but just know that in advance. Since the building is very narrow, all rooms are near the elevator. But there seems to be no sound bleed from there or any other guests.

Two complaints about the room. The A/C units are still the old fashioned window units and are very noisy when on. Secondly. The lighting in the room is harsh, a little too much fluorescent and not enough warmth.

The staff are very nice. I asked a woman behind the desk to have my room services by 10am and she took care of it. They greet you each time you walk in and out of the lobby.

And for the first time in my memory, I got free internet at a Starwood hotel.

I chose this hotel primarily due to location. It's out of the way of any tourist madness in midtown. It's close to a,c e and 1 trains and the Chelsea neighborhood can't be beat. There's also a giant whole foods across the street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank motowninchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you motowninchapelhill for your feedback. One our many perks is complimentary internet and I'm glad you enjoyed it along with our newly renovated rooms.I'll make sure to share your experience with the staff. Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend here during the 2014 "polar vortex" lol. Luckily this hotel was pretty convenient to either catch a cab or walk places and not freeze. The room was smaller than what I'm used to, but if was plenty of room still. Bed was a hotel bed. Not special. But sleep able. Food want bar at all at the pub. It's not super lux, but that's not what you are paying for. You are getting a mid range hotel, and it does that well. I would return and would recommend to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tennisplayerinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi tennisplayerinlr and thank you for your review. I am happy to hear we met your expectations and your stay went well. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Nicely renovated and clean room, with comfy beds. The staff is wonderful! We stayed for 4 nights over the Christmas holiday and the hotel busy. Bar off the lobby was also nice with great staff. Easy walk to 23rd street for subway. We lucked out and had a great view of the Empire State Building all lit up in red and green.


Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you Susan M four your great review. It's great to know you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and we exceeded your expectation with our comfortable and clean rooms. Although we were busy through the holiday we definitely tried to provide the best customer service to all of our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Small but nicely appointed hotel. Had a bar and restaurant on the first floor. It was pub food but it was fine. Also has an outdoor bar for summer. The room had been recently been redone and was in pretty good shape (it could have used a thorough cleaning). It was nicely laid out and had a view. The big problem was the mattress. It was sold old that it took on a canoe shape when you laid down. It was like we were in a comedy act. We ended up remaking the bed so our heads were at the foot of the bed. Didn't help much and we had a very poor night's sleep. Until they fix that I can't recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a new bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowslex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you crowslex for your review. I'm sorry to hear you weren't able to get a good nights sleep because of the bed. I can assure you that the beds were one of the items replaced during our renovation. Regardless, we will definitely look into it and and make sure it is fixed for our future guests. We hope you give us a second try to change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here one night after a cruise. Overall it was a decent stay. Upon arrival, we were given a free upgrade, which was very nice. The room had a lovely view of the empire state building. It was quite small though and very dusty. It wasn't much larger than our stateroom on the cruise ship. Other than this, the hotel is clean and newly renovated. Good for a quick stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you Anna V for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the upgrade and the view of the room. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Sheraton offered a perfect spot for our holiday weekend in NYC. We chose this hotel based on location, as we wanted to stay in a different area than our last visit. It was also close to Penn station and 23rd street subway station.

I will start the with minor cons. Their was a lot of noise from the traffic on the street. The shower offer soap and shampoo dispensers, but they were empty.

The pros, location, reasonable rates, crisp clean bedding, coffee if the lobby, comfortable beds and those cupcakes!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOTraveler015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks to the reviewer for your feedback. Our cupcakes are a great hit, I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's great that the location and room exceeded your expectation. Have a Happy New Year. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#215 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#175 of 468 in New York City
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,191 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#335 of 468 in New York City
913 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Address: 160 W 25th St, New York City, NY 10001-7479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind our sleek design is the same comfort and service you expect from a Four Points. You won't need to go far to find a great restaurant, gallery or lounge. Over 2000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points New York City
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
New York City Sheraton
New York City Four Points
Four Points Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing