We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing awful, nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Ranked #316 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I really booked this hotel b/c of location - and I was a bit disappointed. It's in a pretty central area but the actual streets surrounding it were not exciting. However, it's easy to get to a lot of different parts of town from here so that is definitely a plus.

The lobby is small but nice but I couldn't believe how grungy the hallways were. I've seen motels with better upkeep; I'm a pretty devoted Starwood customer and this was very subpar for them.

The parking is misleading; the garage is actually a couple blocks away and when we tried to park our car there, it was closed b/c of surrounding construction. Luckily, there was plenty of street parking outside the hotel (and it's FREE all weekend long!) so the annoying parking situation actually turned into a blessing for us.

All in all, this hotel was adequate but not really up to typical Starwood standards.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GoBlueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

I sincerely apolgize that your stay with us was not as expected. As for location, on your next trip I do suggest visiting 23rd street which is just 2 blocks from the hotel, for some great shopping or eating.

As for the condition of the hallways, our hotel will undergo a renovation beginning January of 2013. We are very excited for this and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a quick stay, in between two legs of our trip. Checked in around 7pm. King room was ready. Hardly enough room to accommodate our two duffel bags and rollaboard.

Nice big HDTV, especially for the Olympic Opening coverage while we were there,
We had a bite and a few beers at the small pub on the group floor, an Irish Brewhouse. Friendly wait staff and good bar food to be had.

We checked out early morning, and were satisfied, but not totally impressed by the limited accommodations. A week later when we returned to Manhattan, we stayed midtown at a much better and an equal priced hotel (10% more), where we had a room with a king bed, at least 2x the space, better furnished and decorated, free continental breakfast and a great midtown location.

I know this is NY, but 4 Points could do better.

Room Tip: are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy that our service at both the hotel and restaurant was excellent.

As for the size of the rooms, our rooms are a bit larger than most of the New York City hotels. The one issue is the size of our furniture is made for a more suburban hotel.

We have addressed this in our renovation plans, and we look to roll this out to you and others at the end of March 2013.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We always stay in Four Points when we visit NY. Great location in Chelsea, right across street from Whole Foods. Subway stations are within a block or two, walking distance to Chelsea Market on 9th Ave and 15th Street.

The rooms are very small though, two of us can barely turn around in the room. But who cares, we are in Manhattan, so we are out and about all day, not holed up in our hotel room. Great staff, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you very much for the review. We are happy that the service staff was excellent as you had mentioned. We have taken suggestions like yours about the size of our rooms, and we will be featuring a new room package which consists of smaller more functional furniture. We look forward to premiering this in March 2013.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

While the rooms here are clean and well-furnished, we've stayed at several other Four Points Hotels we enjoyed more.

The staff here rarely greeted us as we walked in the door, as they have done at other branches of this chain, and the front desk area was terribly cluttered. Our room was not ready when we arrived in the late afternoon, well after check-in time. We also had trouble with the billing to our credit card.

Also, it should be noted that this hotel is not really in Chelsea, a peaceful neighborhood of well-restored red-brick row-houses, but in Midtown South, as defined by maps given out in the hotel itself.

Having lived in NYC during the 'bad old days' of the early 80s, this neighborhood is an unfortunate trip back in time: dark streets wet with unmentionable liquids and piled with garbage bags; desperate, mentally ill and sometimes crippled homeless people sleeping on the street.

Like much of Manhattan, prosperity is just around the corner - there is a pricey Whole Foods across Seventh Avenue, and Katie Holmes and Suri Cruise live in the apartments above it. (Just follow the paparazzi!)

But my daughter and I didn't feel comfortable going out in the predawn hours for a very early breakfast, as we usually do elsewhere in Manhattan. The hotel seems to know there's a security problem, as you need to insert a room key into the elevator button panel before the elevator will take you upstairs.

The room itself was fine, and we also enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: High above street level helps protect against noise. Rooms facing the back are dark, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

I apologize that your stay wasn't 100% to your satisfaction. As for the room keys for our elevators, it does not have to do with the area, but with much larger threats that can happen throughout a major city. We feel having keys for our elevators, is a proactive approach to hotel security.

As for the area it is one of the most affluent areas of New York City and features fantastic shopping, art galleries and is 1 train stop from most major attractions.

On future stays please do not hesitate to contact me direclty and I can look into all of your stay needs.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were able to get a King Bed room for only $215 per night with AAA discount- which is a fantastic rate for New York City. The room was small, but very clean and the bed was comfortable. It is in a great location for exploring the city, and right across the street from a Whole Foods market, if you want to pick up any groceries for your stay. When I mentioned celebrating a 20th anniversary, the hotel suprised us with a cheese and cracker tray. Very pleasant and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always quieter in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you got to take advantage of the AAA discount. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.


Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the hotel and It was great! Rooms are small and location is a bit out of the way but the staff make up for it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The good: Really comfy bed, very clean, great restaurant and bar (with outdoor seating).

The bad (and reason for the low rating):

First, we had a bad experience with the valet parking. We were told to call down for our car 30 minutes in advance. We called 40 minutes in advance and the car didn’t arrive until 75 minutes after we called. Because we planned to leave NYC at 6:30am I asked the evening before if we could put word in with the valet but the desk clerk said they didn’t to that type of thing. Her exact words were “if I call now, they’ll bring the car now”. Actually, the desk staff was less than helpful on a couple occasions – no “can do” attitude there.

Second, the fire alarm went off and there was absolutely no communication to guests as to what was going on. We called the desk and were told a child pulled the alarm, but shortly thereafter, the alarm went off again and a fire truck pulled up outside. Again, no communication with the guests, which is a serious problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynetteCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#188 of 473 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#328 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#145 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#160 of 473 in New York City
864 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 473 in New York City
2,071 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#184 of 473 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Address: 160 W 25th St, New York City, NY 10001-7479
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind our sleek design is the same comfort and service you expect from a Four Points. You won't need to go far to find a great restaurant, gallery or lounge. Over 2000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points New York City
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
New York City Four Points
New York City Sheraton
Four Points Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing