We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has it's pro's and con's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Ranked #306 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It has it's pro's and con's”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I travel to Chelsea for work twice a year, and our company always books this hotel.
Pro's:
Great location! I really love the Chelsea area, it has something for everyone.
Great area for vintage jewelry shopping and there are a plethora of grocery markets and boutique restaurants. The thai food in Chelsea is outstanding.
EL QUIJOTES by the famous chelsea hotel! The place is historic and has that old school feel, the portions are generous and the prices are outstanding!
The lobby bar at the four points is decent and the appetizers I tried were pretty good.

Con's:
Teeny tiny rooms! If you have two people staying in a room and you both have an open suitcase, you literally have to step on both beds to get to the door or restroom. The rooms also are in no way sound proof and this seems to be a party hotel, which is fine if I wasn't here for work. I hated hearing the door slam as my neighbors walked back and forth to each others rooms until 5am. They should at least have a quiet level for people in town for business.

However, if you don't care about the room or the loud environment, you will probably enjoy this hotel just for the fact that the location is great. The staff is nice and the subway lines are right by. You can take the 1 train all the way uptown or downtown if you like, so that is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amwagner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    447
    223
    65
    42
See reviews for
219
231
111
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Allow me to begin on a positive; the staff here were all very welcoming, helpful and friendly (especially the manager Stephen who will endeavour to resolve any issue prompty and with genuine helpfulness. This was our firt visit to NYC having booked the mystery deal on Wotif for this hotel (I booked one night to find out which hotel it was then given it seemed good value for money I secured another week). Well, the room was tiny and not very clean so we requested another room the next day and they gladly offered to move our belongings during the day while we were out and about. Imagine our anticipation when we arrived back to open the door to the new room....only to find a carbon copy of the previous room (albeit with more light as it was 10 stories higher and a lot cleaner). Given the Wotif mystery price of $290.00 per night it was a bit dissapointing but we decided jsut to get on with things because in NYC we were not too interested in spending a lot of time in the room and the essentials were very functional; the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a bath and functional shower. The down side was there was nowhere to store ant bathroom gear so you had to pack it away after use and the biggest let-down was no bar fridge in the rooms so it was not possible to purchase any perishables from the plethora of great deli's in the neighbourhood ( yoghurt, cheese, fresh milk etc). The only way to heat water was through the coffee maker which was slow and cumbersome and cramped on top of the study desk. It seems they cleary want to discourage guests from preparing any food in their rooms but when you are away for an extended period, it's often good to be able to make a snack rather than trudge out ( there is no room service for food her at all)
The location was o'k with easy access to Penn Station and subway stations only a block away. There are some very good cafe's and restaurants within easy striking distance (either by foot or the West Village with an abundance of great restaurants is only 2 subway stops away). I slept well here so whilst the overall rating is average because of low value for money, the overall experience was not uncomfortable , just cramped!) I would not choose to stay here again though

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.

Because we are in NYC, our room sizes are small by more suburban hotel room size standards. Many of the hotels in NYC are designed and constructed by the same companies and offer similar sizes and layouts, but are all decorated very different and offer their own touch. We are a smaller hotel, offering 158 well appointed rooms that are approximately 215 sq. feet; which is very common by NYC hotel room standards.

Please feel free to contact me directly for future stays.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the Four Points Chelsea for two nights. Really enjoyed the location in Chelsea bordering the Flatiron District. Walking distance to many attractions including the Empire State Building, Chelsea Market, High Line, and Union Square. There are plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and nightlife nearby. There is a good takeout pizza place on the corner down the street for a dollar a slice, and Whole Foods is just across the street. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There is free bottled water in the room and internet access in the lobby. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to servicing you in the future.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The room I had was TINY, but I know that can be somewhat expected in Manhattan. What I was not enthusiastic about was the value. Not only was the room tiny, but the exercise room was woefully set up (not much going on in there). Luckily, the staff were very nice; the soft product saved what was lacking in the hard product.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thnak you very much for your review. Our fitness center is a limited service facility. For future stays please let our front desk know that you are looking for a larger gym as we have several partnerships with local gyms.


Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at the Four Points Chelsea over a long NYC weekend. The hotel is not large, but big enough. The front desk help were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, nothing too fancy. And with the A/C on, it was very quiet, especially for a NYC hotel. My only complaints would be that the curtains/shades on the windows didn't really cover the windows on the sides, letting in a ton of light early in the morning. I would prefer true black out shades/curtains. Also, a "public" computer in the lobby was broken the entire stay (there was a second one, so no big deal), but seemed as if it should take a day to fix, not sit broken all weekend. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

as with many NYC hotels the rooms are very small but comfortable for two people. the double beds seemed on the small side but extremely soft, fluffy and "cloud" like. the window opened a crack (6") which was great to let in the sounds and smells of the city (there is nothing like the smell of food cooking combined with all the other city smells) Unlike many hotels there are a ton of outlets, great for multi phone charging. The room was clean, adequate storage for clothes, the bathroom was a good size with a great walk in shower. free water and coffee in room, the coffee was not that great, there is coffee in the lobby in the a.m. The location was fantastic, my daughter goes to FIT which is right down the street, there is a bar (Rare view) on the other side of the block with music and great views of the city and a roof that retracts, and a small cafe (bluedogcafe) down the street with breakfast foods and great sandwiches. I will definately return to this hotel! My only recommendation to the hotel would be to put small refridgerators in the rooms (they would fit under the desk nicely)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myssie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We will definetly take into consideration your request for refrigerators and microwaves. Currently these items are available by request. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We just returned home from a 4 night stay at the Four Points Chelsea. This was our second stay here and it was an excellent experience. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was great and very helpful, with my wife being allergic to feathers a staff member was sent up to the room to check the pillows for us to make sure they were the hypoallergenic ones we had requested. Our room was on the 19th floor with a great view of the Empire State Building was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location is perfect, Whole Foods and CVS are just around the corner. You are within walking distance of the Empire State Building, Macy's and many great clothing stores and restaurants including Mario Batali's Eataly NYC located on West 23rd Street . The Subway is only 2 blocks away on 23rd street as well and is a short ride to Times Square, Central Park, Madison Avenue shopping and various museums. I highly recommend the Four Points Chelsea and when my wife and I go back to New York we will definitely be staying there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GHilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for wonderful review. We look forward to having you and your wife stay with us again!

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#215 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#175 of 468 in New York City
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,191 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#335 of 468 in New York City
913 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Address: 160 W 25th St, New York City, NY 10001-7479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind our sleek design is the same comfort and service you expect from a Four Points. You won't need to go far to find a great restaurant, gallery or lounge. Over 2000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points New York City
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
New York City Sheraton
New York City Four Points
Four Points Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing