We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect from start to finish....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #50 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to finish....”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

When my husband suggested we stay at the Mandarin I was hesitant based on the rates. This hotel is worth every penny and more. Incredible location at Columbus Circle and we could walk to broadway shows and Central Park. When the hotel heard it was our anniversary they upgraded us to a high floor park view room which was so incredible. The view was something special for sure. You can get the same view from the 35th floor lounge so grab a drink there--sunset was especially great as the sun reflects on the buildings in the city below. The room was very clean and the decor throughout the hotel is gorgeous. very comfortable beds and pillows. The concierge service was extremely helpful without making us feel rushed or a pain. Great service and staff! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 742Donsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience (perfect! amazing!) and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    284
    110
    50
    27
See reviews for
262
548
90
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

With Mandarin Oriental you expect good quality and New York MO did not dissapoint. Spa was great for a couples treatment ...beautiful couples room including huge hot tub and steam room and sauna all inside. Our bedroom overlooked the park. Room we found a little small , not so bothered about the ShangHai Tang toiletries....prefer Aqua di Parma or Bulgari ...as found in Hong Kong M O etc... Staff very helpful. Overall a great location though in New York. No ladies hair salon but found one nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What's wrong with MO NY? We have always been extremely satisfied with MO in the past.
Check in was ok after that downhill... We had to wait 15 minutes to get a table for breakfast
And another 50 minutes to get the food. The waiter was non attentive and didn't mind us..
It was impossible to get a table at the The lobby lounge. On our first day, the room was not done by 4 PM!!
After spending more than $ 11 000 on MO NY we left with a very bad taste. We talked to assistant manager front desk and all they said was - we are sorry!
We travel extensively and have never experienced something like this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed here about 5-6 times, it is consistently a terrific hotel, the perfect getaway. You will leave feeling refreshed, well slept, relaxed. They are extremely kind at every step of the way, nice at check in, always upgrade you if you ask nicely, great service. There's nothing not to love.

Room Tip: You can always ask for a high floor, nice view- they have always given me this when I asked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACKACK1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at the hip and trendy Refinery Hotel before switching to this hotel to sample luxury. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the top floor which was a bonus and although it was not very spacious it was fine for a 2 night stay. The reception staff were friendly with one exception...Gabriel who was abrupt, grumpy, miserable and off hand when I asked for my bill to be printed. My daughter received a cake for her birthday which was delicious. The room was spotless and the rainfall shower was great as were the toiletries. The breakfast was very good. We loved the bar with top service from John. The cocktails were absolutely divine and believe me we tried quite a few !! All in all it was a taste of luxury at a luxury price.... not in the league of MO hotels we have stayed at in the Far East.... but still very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gellroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Who needs the traffic, the noise and the craziness of Times Square? Escape from all of it at the Mandarin Oriental. Overlooking Columbus Circle and Central Park - the beautiful views of the Upper East side, the Mandarin is synonymous with plus, extravagant luxury and most of all service.

Upon check-in you can expect your butler to promptly serve you complimentary tea, some do the best I've ever had. The rooms are very clean, and decorated with luxurious and comfortable and purposeful furniture. The floor to ceiling windows are the gateway to escape and overlook both Central Park, as well as the Hudson River.

Room service is phenomenal, and the menu is quite extensive. Is it cheap? No. It's not a place to show up with your 12 children either. But if you need a luxurious getaway, with fine dining and a fantastic spa experience, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The upper level suites are phenomenal and have views of Columbus Circle, make sure you're locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the hotel in February to get a break from the endless weather beatings. We were looking forward to a weekend of pampering and fun in New York City. Unfortunately, again our experience was less than 5 stars and far from the "Mandarin experience" so heavily advertised and that I had become accoustomed to. Besides having issues in morning for breakfast, we had to repeatedly call for the room to be serviced and yet ended up with no soap/shampoo in our room. My partner was showering and once he realized he tried to call down to the front desk except the phone was not working or permanently busy. Soaking wet, he had to get his cell phone and call the main line and ask for shampoo and soap. Fifteen minutes later, a Chinese man showed up at the door with a RUG shampoo machine? He looked at him and didn’t understand what he was asking for, once he pointed to his head and he saw he was wet he put two and two together. Finally, he was able to get ready but a major inconvenience.

After that comedy of errors and seeing random empty Red Bull cans around the lobby, the day we checked out we tried to get into the Lobby Lounge to have a bottle of wine and relax and enjoy the view (keep in mind --it's the 35th floor overlooking Central Park!). We were greeted with a not so polite hostess and told all seats were reserved. After a few minutes, we stated that we were guests and she changed her tune. After spending $1000 at the SPA, hotel room, and food we were checking out with a very bad taste in our mouth. My partner mentioned our experience to the gentleman that checked us out and he brought an assistant manager over who offered us a triple upgrade on our next visit. We left feeling comforted that good service may have lapses but they do redeem themselves...

Fast forward several months -- we sent the assistant manager an e-mail on May 20th about our intentions to stay at the Mandarin again and did not hear back. My partner then called a week later and he stated that he would put us in a central park suite and to book a regular room . When my partner phoned the assistant manager stated that we were staying in the same room we were in prior. We had just booked 3 reservations for the SPA ($1000+) as we are meeting a friend from out of state and thought a spa treatment would be nice.

What we are most disappointed with is the e-mail that we received last night, stating that was all they were willing to do. In a High Service Industry like yours - the Mandarin leaves us with a tarnished image and the word "service" is more like lip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#105 of 467 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 467 in New York City
695 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#21 of 467 in New York City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing