We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is really the best hotel in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #50 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“This is really the best hotel in NY”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have stayed here three times in the last year and it is one of the best hotels i have eer slept at.
Breathtaking view
extraordinary service--polite, friendly, makes me believe everyone there truly cares about creating a first class hotel.
Delicious room service.
Great Air Conditioning
Windows open up for fresh air.
Breakfast looks perfect but can taste a bit stale if ordered after 6am.
Almost shocking how expensive it is.
Room service menu could be more varied.
Sort of a pain to have to switch elevators at the 25th floor or something every time you enter.
such nice sheets
nice pillows
great water pressure--all of that stuff is just about perfect...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    284
    110
    50
    27
See reviews for
262
548
90
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Awesome place to stay. Probably the fanciest so far that I have been too, but you will pay for it too. Basic rooms run about $895 for just one night. Would be great for a special occasion though. Close to everything, including Central Park, and within walking distance to many attractions including broadway, Times Square, etc. it's also connected to sort of a mall, that has many stores including a whole foods on the lowest level.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasta1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a good hotel but it needs to improve to be in the class it is aiming for.
There was no email to remind me of my stay. So when I checked with the hotel they transferred the call twice to central reservation who said that the reservation number that I had provided did not exist. This led to some anxious moments.
Check in was good. Staff were friendly. Rooms were good. Fitness Centre is small. Pool does need up keeping. There was debris in the pool and it turned me off from using the pool.
Restaurant is good, though attention to detail was not present. I got the wrong order.
No extras like shoe shine etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 615Sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh,scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed from 30/4 until 2/5 in a Hudson View room on the 54th floor to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel for location, service and comfort. From the moment we arrived until the moment we (reluctantly! ) had to leave, the Mandarin Oriental staff were a credit to the hotel, they really could not do anymore for us, making us feel so at comfortable and relaxed on our first visit to New York. Our next stay at the MO is already being discussed! Gary and Catherine Potter.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and shared your anniversary with us! We hope to see you again soon! Congratulations!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The views of the city, from guest rooms (floors 38 to 54), restaurant or lounge, are all fantastic. Service is perfect. Advanced contacts from the concierge can arrange various travel needs. All staffs are friendly, polite and do their best to accommodate, all very pleasant encounters. House keeping/cleanliness of the room is exceptional. Lincoln Center is within five to ten minutes walk and the Columbus Circle shopping mall (same building as the hotel) has great restaurants, coffee spots and high end shops. The hotel is expensive but compared with other NY hotels in the same category it provides good value. We came away happy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Central Park on higher floors have beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adtravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing one night with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at the Mandarin Oriental NYC this past week and I have to say there is no other place like it!... Excellent service, excellent staff!... Amazing views and Amazing food too!... If you are visiting New York and have time to splurge this is the right place for you... Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csantanarivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing one night with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was the guest of a very good friend at this hotel last month. Granted it was only for the one night I was in the city, but the view of the city at night has got to take some of the sting out of the bill. The room was lovely in comfortable furnishings in muted, classic design. The view was marvelous and lent itself to the champagne served when I arrived.

The chocolates are a marvelous and welcoming touch. The closest to this type of hospitality is what I experienced at the Halekulani hotel on Waikiki, and that should tell you this impressed me.

Even if you are only staying one night, you need to do this. This hotel is wonderful.

Room Tip: The Central Park view is astounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoverOfSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing one night with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#105 of 467 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 467 in New York City
695 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#21 of 467 in New York City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing