We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite luxury NYC hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #49 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stay here at least 2x/year, even though I'm a New Yorker. Our local luxury "staycation"!

Ideal location, especially if attending the theatre or anything at Lincoln Center. And the views cannot be beaten, from the rooms (try to get a Central Park view), and from the iconic lounge on the reception floor (a perfect place to invite friends for drinks).
The servic is great, the rooms (though on the small size) are beautifully appointed and very elegant, the bathrooms sleek and sexy, and the spa is one of the best in the city. Oh, and a drop-dead gorgeous full-length swimming pool!! With views to the west through floor-to-ceiling windows. Have a dip here at sunset, and you won't soon forget it

Room Tip: The Central Park views are, imo, better than the city views. But a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and our thrilled to be your favorite! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Luxury hotel with nice views of Central Park. Lobby is on the 35th floor. Suite was bigger than some homes. Drafty near the window. Several TVs in the suite but the picture quality was so-so. Staff is superb. Quick and courteous check in and check out. Lots of nearby dining and shopping options.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank NikonGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing one night with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed in January. Had amazing views of icy NYC and river from my room - very comfortable bed, lots of space and well furnished. Service was top notch and meals were all of a very high quality. I enjoyed a trip to the spa and had an excellent treatment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and our spa! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in a room on the 50th floor with the most beautiful view of the Hudson. Room was clean, quiet, peaceful, well-appointed. Service is high quality. Spent time in the lounge at night, it had the most spectacular view. Wish I could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed you had a peaceful enjoyable stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

One of our favorite hotels in NYC. The rooms are impeccable as is the service. The lounge gives a view of Columbus Circle that lacks a rival. The restaurant on property is an excellent choice in Manhattan, considering the caliber of dining in the city.

Room Tip: The corner suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmarkjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. Thrilled to be amongst your favorites! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stay here regularly and the Mandarin is consistently a high touch, high service hotel experience. The location is great and given that the rooms start on the 37th floor it is wonderfully quiet and without traffic and Columbus circle noise. Bathrooms are superior to most other hotel options in the area, and while rooms are not especially large they are well appointed and well situated for views of either the park or the Hudson River.

Room Tip: I prefer the bathrooms facing the Hudson River (west side) although the park views on the east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel was amazing!! From the minute we walked in they treated us like Kings & Queens.You have to take the elevators up to the 36th floor (I think it was 36) to actually check-in the hotel. Our rooms where clean but small. The bed was comfy and inviting. You can't beat the view! If you eat downstairs order the hamburger!! It was very big and out of this world! I think my brother actually ate one day for the 3 days we where there. The bartender made a wonderful chocolate martini!!
The spa has the most spectacular views and my treatments where amazing. Massage was great and very relaxing. Only complaint it didn't last long enough. The facial was perfect!! The staff was pleasant and kind. I liked the fact they didn't try to "up sell" me on may of the product they used. If you get time and have the extra money I would highly recommend this spa to anyone.
Being that closet to Central Park was a plus. Wish it would have been warm enough to enjoy a walk in the park.
I plan on taking my twin boys there for Macy's Parade as soon as I can.

Room Tip: They have parade view rooms for Thanksgiving Day!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinavadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience, the parade and the spa! We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#104 of 469 in New York City
1,302 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#53 of 469 in New York City
1,108 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
186 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#46 of 469 in New York City
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $817 - $2,952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing