We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Located directly above cnn headquarters nyc, the view from this hotel is absolutely breathtaking, provided that you book a room on the higher floors and at the side of central park, which you will regret if you find out later what you have been missing out on. Breakfast in the restaurant (we would suggest to eat a la carte not the buffet) is wonderful and again breathtaking views. Free gym/sauna/pool facilities leave room for improvement, somewhat small. However the hotel houses one of the best (paid) spas in town so not very surprising the attention is focused there. Of course, this hotel is horribly expensive (eur 1,000 minimum) a night but hey its nyc and you get a view!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bas666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nice hotel. Great location. Rooms have beautiful views on Central Park and Hudson River. Beds are very comfortable. Great spa. Friendly staff. Nice pool area. Breakfast is ok. Ask for upper floors where you can enjoy a nice views of upper east side.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and our views. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great hotel, definitely 5 stars. Locations is excellent. Take a room with a view on Central Park. Rooms with view Hudson river are great too on upper floors, but still to get the best from New York, go on another side, look at Central Park and all the buildings around. Excellent in any weather. Ask for upper floors if possible. We were staying at 51 and 53 - great views!
Hotel is expensive, yes, very expensive. Breakfast is good but overpriced. Rooms are almost clean. By almost i mean if you look under your bed - you'll find out what i mean ;) Staff is very polite and helpful. Pool and gym are OK, but we've seen better. Keep in mind that to go outside, you'll be take two elevators instead of one and same - to get to your room, just can be slow in busy hours :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Looking forward to our treat at this hotel, chosen because of proximity to Central Park and it's reputation.
Given lovely room on 54th floor with view down the Hudson and Manhatten.
Breakfast was a disaster, awful service, awful food, complained and didn't get charged and given bottle of Moët later as apology.
Reception on 38th floor so had to use lifts a lot in and out.
Coffee lounge in reception was poor for service too!!
Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldaccringtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel for business for 3 nights. It is a beautiful hotel with wonderful city views. Since it is a newer hotel in New York the rooms are quite spacious in comparison to other New York Hotels. The food was very good and the views from the restaurant over Central Park are spectacular. The pool and fitness center where clean, new and well taken care of. The Spa seemed very nice but i did not use it. If you have the money for this kind of hotel go ahead and enjoy. I don't think you will be disappointed. For the rest of us, I would save some money and look elsewhere. I'm not sure it is worth the big bucks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First time we were staying at the MO NYC. We are very used to the MO Bangkok and Geneva, willing to discover a nice view on Central Park and the River.

Hotel is fine, just what we were expected from MO, room are nice and quite large for Manhattan, the view from the suite on the 45th floor worst definitively the trip and the sunrise was beautiful.

The bathroom are a little bit too small, but having an guest toilet in the entrance was a plus.
The bed was good a bit to small for us, used the the european or asian standarts.

The spa could offer a bit more luxury or comfort in the changing rooms - looking more like a sport zone than a real MO spa. But the treatment (facial) was fabulous.

We will definitively go back, specially for the caviar and champagne breakfast and the large offer of gluten-free products!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganVob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with my boyfriend at the time. The hotel is huge and very impressive. The interior and design throughout the hotel is just beoynd classy and rich.
The fact they have a restaurant mid way in the hotel with a glass window overlooking the columbus circle and entrance to central park is just magical (I live in New York and it still amazed me).
The service was top notch, newspaper at our door on time, bell boy on time and luggage service as well as car service.
Nothing was too much hassle.
The bathroom was very spacious (for New York standards) and the mini bar was well stocked too!
Beautiful rooms, views.
The only thing I would say is the way the elevators are located in terms of floors and certain rooms you could easily get lost (especially for an older person) as you need to switch elevators if you're on one of the upper floors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekingForExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback on our views, elevators and more. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#107 of 468 in New York City
1,292 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#47 of 468 in New York City
1,094 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 468 in New York City
727 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#26 of 468 in New York City
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $879 - $2,953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing