We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel/Views in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #50 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Hotel/Views in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I visit NY pretty often and have stayed in lots of different hotels and hands down...this is our favorite! Try to ask for a view of the city and you'll overlook Columbus Circle or ask for a Park view and you'll see Central Park! It is pricey but it's the best view of NY! The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and the food was very good! They have a lounge where you can oversee the city as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our views and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    278
    107
    48
    27
See reviews for
245
535
88
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We flew in from San Francisco on the Friday & partied here till Sunday afternoon when we left for Paris. Best NYC layover - ever‼️ Reception staff was excellent. Dinner @ Asiate was below par, we expected more (compared to The Mark for instance where the service, buzz, cuisine - everything is plain brilliant.) @ Asiate they tried, & there were a couple of exceptional staff but overall seems to be a top down management issue, where proper training is missing. Service disconnects were even more pronounced over breakfast which was beyond slow & vague but the manager set things right with a no charge. Spa is spacious, heated floors & beautifully decorated but offset by a cool professional staff who do not even greet you as they pass by. Had $500 competent facial but did not cone out feeling relaxed because of the overall lack of genuine hospitality. We would go back to this hotel, but not the spa or the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoginii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your FANtastically kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobyan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Of course its amazing. The views, incredible. The rooms are small, but everything is furnished expertly. The welcome treats are delicious.

The location is prime, whole foods downstairs. I stayed here for work, and while it's not my first choice, its stunning. For me, it's suited to an older generation. But it's quiet, professional and you wouldn't be disappointed.

The service is attentive, ringing our doorbell in the afternoon offering water and snacks, like a resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon (and more than once!)

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

On a recent visit to New York, I was fortunate to stay at the Mandarin Oriental. The rooms were of a typically high quality, the staff were very attentive without appearing false and the location is brilliant on Columbus Circle. However, the one part of my stay that stood out was the Mo Bar - the 35th floor bar with views of the Manhattan skyline and Central Park. The drinks menu was excellent, staff were helpful when needed and left you alone when needed, providing just the right levels of attention. A great place to have a per theatre drink, catch up with colleagues or enjoy a romantic cocktail with a loved one. I can recommend The Bramble - a lovely cocktail!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelGuideJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about MObar in particular. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on my first trip to New York. It is well located and easy to walk to many of the sights, the hotel itself is beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size with windows that can be opened (security needs to unlock them but we waited less than five minutes for them to come up). The bed was so comfortable and the room had all of the amenities you'd need. I wasn't overly excited about the bar and restaurant, they have a good view (no better than our room had though) but the food was mediocre and service very slow. Many better options for dining. The spa is incredible and the facial was the best I've had, so relaxing and amazing results. We would certainly stay again on our next trip!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rona_kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wanted to surprise my wife with a couple of nights out on the town and made MO NYC our home for the weekend. We get dropped off at the hotel and before we knew it our bags were out and greeted by the hotel doormen. One helping us with our bag and the other holding the door. Took the elevator up to registration . Everything was smooth and fast , but the real treat was the room from the view to the comfortable bed. My wife had a smile on her face and a relaxed look in her eyes and our weekend just began. The room was well appointed and excellent views of Central Park . The service was on point! Anything and everything we request was accommodated, excellent room service and great views during breakfast. The bar , spa,and pool were great. The only time we left was to smoke a cigarette . We had a great time in our town and didn't even leave our hotel .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knicpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

No doubt, you are in one of the hotel of the mandarin oriental group.... everything is perfect until the most unsignifiant detail... From your arrival to your departure you can expect to get the higher level of service...
ideally located, rooms with a view on central park have a terrific view... ideally to have your breakfast in room (the restaurant is not very intersisting by the way).

Room Tip: with central park view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelisfunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#294 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing