We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on my first trip to New York. It is well located and easy to walk to many of the sights, the hotel itself is beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size with windows that can be opened (security needs to unlock them but we waited less than five minutes for them to come up). The bed was so comfortable and the room had all of the amenities you'd need. I wasn't overly excited about the bar and restaurant, they have a good view (no better than our room had though) but the food was mediocre and service very slow. Many better options for dining. The spa is incredible and the facial was the best I've had, so relaxing and amazing results. We would certainly stay again on our next trip!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rona_kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wanted to surprise my wife with a couple of nights out on the town and made MO NYC our home for the weekend. We get dropped off at the hotel and before we knew it our bags were out and greeted by the hotel doormen. One helping us with our bag and the other holding the door. Took the elevator up to registration . Everything was smooth and fast , but the real treat was the room from the view to the comfortable bed. My wife had a smile on her face and a relaxed look in her eyes and our weekend just began. The room was well appointed and excellent views of Central Park . The service was on point! Anything and everything we request was accommodated, excellent room service and great views during breakfast. The bar , spa,and pool were great. The only time we left was to smoke a cigarette . We had a great time in our town and didn't even leave our hotel .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knicpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

No doubt, you are in one of the hotel of the mandarin oriental group.... everything is perfect until the most unsignifiant detail... From your arrival to your departure you can expect to get the higher level of service...
ideally located, rooms with a view on central park have a terrific view... ideally to have your breakfast in room (the restaurant is not very intersisting by the way).

Room Tip: with central park view...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelisfunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Being gluten intolerant I am choosy where I go for special occasions. High tea is my all time favourite and I made enquiries at several 5 star hotels in New York regarding gluten free options. The Mandarin Oriental was the only one to have a serious option, and how good was it!
From my initial enquiries and booking which was handled extremely professionally and empathetically to the experience on the day, I could not fault it. The food was excellent with many gluten free cakes/ sweets and sandwiches. They even provided a special treat for my daughters birthday. The service was excellent and I love the comfy lounges by the window with a great view of central park,

Room Tip: Ask for a seat by the window to make the most of the view for high tea.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alihoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the tea in particular. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went for a short trip (weekend) and decided to stay at the MO. We were not disappointed, the room was amazing, spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the view from the 56th floor breathtaking, especially at night. The location was great. Unlike other rooms at other hotels in NY, you could really feel that you can breathe in the MO room! The price is indeed high - as one would expect - but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: the higher the better
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorana273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled that had an amazing time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've stayed in the MO NY several times and this was a quick one night stay - a staycation really as I live now in the area and just fancied a night away from home to match up with a party I was going to uptown.

Again, the MO did not disappoint. All New York hotel rooms are modest in size compared to some other cities, but even the smallest MO NYC room is actually quite decent. Great service from staff and definitely the best view of New York from their lobby lounge. I had particularly great help from housekeeping who sorted out my ironing and shoe shining in just 30 minutes as I arrived quite late, and also from concierge who went out on the run for me for cufflinks which I had forgotten - they appeared with a package from the nearby Thomas Pink store in less than 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher up, obviously gives an even better view, although all hotel floors are quite high. My favouri...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn-LondonW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled to be your favourite and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked a suite for the 2 of us, and a room for our son &his wife &toddler. Asked for a good view (Hudson &central park), and got moved, after 1 night, to a very good suite 4930, with the young ones in 4932; closing a door in corridor created a supersuite -- excellent for little Ella. The view was wonderful.

All meals there were very good, inc. service. Lounge is very good.

Very clean.

All requests were promptly taken care of, inc. 2 cribs -- 1 in each room.

Mixup with concierge lost the young ones a chance to get to "sleep no more" -- were told bookings not needed, which was not so. They tried to fix, but the tickets available were too late -- we left that day.

We were wait-listed for quite a while (1 night was problematic) but were happy to get in at the end.

Room Tip: The "30 suites" are special
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GideonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that had an amazing time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#107 of 468 in New York City
1,292 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#47 of 468 in New York City
1,095 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 468 in New York City
727 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#26 of 468 in New York City
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $879 - $2,945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing