We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent High Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #73 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Being gluten intolerant I am choosy where I go for special occasions. High tea is my all time favourite and I made enquiries at several 5 star hotels in New York regarding gluten free options. The Mandarin Oriental was the only one to have a serious option, and how good was it!
From my initial enquiries and booking which was handled extremely professionally and empathetically to the experience on the day, I could not fault it. The food was excellent with many gluten free cakes/ sweets and sandwiches. They even provided a special treat for my daughters birthday. The service was excellent and I love the comfy lounges by the window with a great view of central park,

Room Tip: Ask for a seat by the window to make the most of the view for high tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alihoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the tea in particular. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went for a short trip (weekend) and decided to stay at the MO. We were not disappointed, the room was amazing, spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the view from the 56th floor breathtaking, especially at night. The location was great. Unlike other rooms at other hotels in NY, you could really feel that you can breathe in the MO room! The price is indeed high - as one would expect - but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorana273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled that had an amazing time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've stayed in the MO NY several times and this was a quick one night stay - a staycation really as I live now in the area and just fancied a night away from home to match up with a party I was going to uptown.

Again, the MO did not disappoint. All New York hotel rooms are modest in size compared to some other cities, but even the smallest MO NYC room is actually quite decent. Great service from staff and definitely the best view of New York from their lobby lounge. I had particularly great help from housekeeping who sorted out my ironing and shoe shining in just 30 minutes as I arrived quite late, and also from concierge who went out on the run for me for cufflinks which I had forgotten - they appeared with a package from the nearby Thomas Pink store in less than 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher up, obviously gives an even better view, although all hotel floors are quite high. My favouri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn-LondonW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled to be your favourite and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked a suite for the 2 of us, and a room for our son &his wife &toddler. Asked for a good view (Hudson &central park), and got moved, after 1 night, to a very good suite 4930, with the young ones in 4932; closing a door in corridor created a supersuite -- excellent for little Ella. The view was wonderful.

All meals there were very good, inc. service. Lounge is very good.

Very clean.

All requests were promptly taken care of, inc. 2 cribs -- 1 in each room.

Mixup with concierge lost the young ones a chance to get to "sleep no more" -- were told bookings not needed, which was not so. They tried to fix, but the tickets available were too late -- we left that day.

We were wait-listed for quite a while (1 night was problematic) but were happy to get in at the end.

Room Tip: The "30 suites" are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GideonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that had an amazing time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

When we booked on line it said 6pm checkout which is wonderful with kids on a sunday, when we got to the hotel they said noon checkout but eventually made one of our two rooms 6pm checkout which was nice. Staff was amazing, location could not be better, we used the pool, there are no DVD players in the room, wifi was not free. The rooms are expensive and small but I guess you get what you pay for. Rooms service was fast and delicious. Connecting rooms are Great for families. Walk to the park, FAO, rock center, times square.

Room Tip: Get connecting rooms and late checkout and wifi and rollaway bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience with your kids! We are thrilled that had a great time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I went from the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo (Japan) to the one in NYC in 2 days, it's amazing how two hotels from the same luxurious chain can be so different. The one in Tokyo is perfection the NYC one is the exact opposite.

Everything is bad, from the moment you arrive and nobody is there to help with your luggage to the check in at reception where you won't be shown to your rooms, the furthest you will be escorted to is the elevator still hauling your luggage !

You will find the only above 40USD breakfast in the world that includes no hot or cold drink in it, yes, you heard me, coffee, tea, juice are all supplements that with tax will almost double the price of your breakfast.

The spa is really not nice, very cold place with absolutely no charm.

Rooms are clean and ok, but in this category of hotels you expect the full package, great location, perfect service, and nice rooms. In the case of the Mandarin Oriental New York you won't find it.

Don't even think about staying there unless there is nothing else left, I can guarantee you will be disappointed !

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Marcel2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hello Marcel! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The NY Mandarin Oriental is truly a great hotel. You should, however, take into account that you are in New York where rooms are extremely small. The rooms of the Mandarin are beautiful (with great views) but not huge. The location, staff & service is top.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavEdUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#56 of 473 in New York City
1,161 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#76 of 473 in New York City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#120 of 473 in New York City
1,360 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
408 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $637 - $1,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing