We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad bad !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #53 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bad bad bad !”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I went from the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo (Japan) to the one in NYC in 2 days, it's amazing how two hotels from the same luxurious chain can be so different. The one in Tokyo is perfection the NYC one is the exact opposite.

Everything is bad, from the moment you arrive and nobody is there to help with your luggage to the check in at reception where you won't be shown to your rooms, the furthest you will be escorted to is the elevator still hauling your luggage !

You will find the only above 40USD breakfast in the world that includes no hot or cold drink in it, yes, you heard me, coffee, tea, juice are all supplements that with tax will almost double the price of your breakfast.

The spa is really not nice, very cold place with absolutely no charm.

Rooms are clean and ok, but in this category of hotels you expect the full package, great location, perfect service, and nice rooms. In the case of the Mandarin Oriental New York you won't find it.

Don't even think about staying there unless there is nothing else left, I can guarantee you will be disappointed !

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcel2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello Marcel! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    286
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
263
554
91
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The NY Mandarin Oriental is truly a great hotel. You should, however, take into account that you are in New York where rooms are extremely small. The rooms of the Mandarin are beautiful (with great views) but not huge. The location, staff & service is top.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavEdUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wow, from the lobby, to the lounge, to the rooms. Was attending a party and we given a special rate, (well not that special was still $750 for night) so we decided to splurge and stay over even though we live only 20 minutes away.

Parking garage is easy access is in same hotel or you can do valet. The lobby is on something like the 40th floor and just grand. Views across Central Park are great. Even if you are not staying at hotel you can have a drink or tea in the lounge.

Room was very nice, we had a standard room which still had a decent view of Central Park although partially blocked by the Trump International Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon (and hopefully much more than once!)

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed last month at Mandarin Oriental NYC for the first time. The room was not large but
very well equipped and nicely decorated. I enjoyed the breakfast served at Asiate with its
great view of central park. The staff were very good. I enjoyed the spa and the staff in the
swimming pool were very helpful to my grandkids. I also liked the location within the Time Warner center, it was very convenient for restaurants and shops.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shihtzufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so thrilled that you had an excellent time. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at this property for 4 nights in October 2013. It was a deluxe room with park view. It was a truly fantastic stay, where we were totally relaxed, felt valued, and were more than satisfied with the service, accommodation, and meals we received.

Pros:
• The room was wonderful – well appointed, good storage space, great bed, and enough lighting. While the deco is a bit dated, it appears to be holding up very well. Plus, the maintenance of artworks, furnishings and fixtures seem very current. Loved the views. Must commend the housekeeping staff for their prompt service, consistency and professionalism.
• The bathroom is great – good layout, feels luxurious and is equipped with deep soaking tub and powerful showers. Cannot impress how much a well-appointed bathroom can make or break a hotel stay. And this one truly comes out with flying colours.
• Public spaces – great, airy, and with such memorable views. Doesn’t ever feel crowded or vacant. Some of the sculptures and artworks can be updated but apart from that, it’s perfect.
• Pool and gym – great pool for a workout. Not so good if there are more than 2 swimmers as the waves get very bouncy. Ideally, this pool should have edges that overflow. Gym is sufficient with minimal equipment. Best part is that these facilities are only for hotel guests. Many luxury properties around the world are moving to membership access for their facilities, which gives hotel guests more options, but also more competition.
• Restaurant – OMG, best meals ever! And so reasonable for such quality meals. Had breakfasts and lunches here. Loved it, loved the selections and also loved the wonderful views. Highly recommend, especially for the ambiance.
• Staff – fantastic! Well done MONY! You’ve certainly shown how much you value staff in ensuring that staff treat all guest with consistent courtesy, professionalism, and kindness. Truly made our stay that much more extraordinary. The best thing about the staff at MONY is that we know we will want to come back over and over again because of how we were treated by them. We found staff at door, porter, concierge, frontdesk, housekeeping, and wait staff with the same professional attitude, friendliness, courtesy and knowledgeable of their roles.

Cons:
• Minor hiccup with Room Service when we ordered tea one afternoon – it arrived an hour late. By that time, our guests had left and we had no use for the tea.
• Lighting switches can be simplified in the rooms. Ideally, the one panel control would be great.
• Pool with overflow edges would be great, especially with multiple swimmers.

Overall, loved staying here and would definitely describe this as our new luxury retreat in NYC.

Room Tip: Must get a room with park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

While this hotel has a superb View and amenities such as a swimming pool and a superb lobby. The Rooms makes you feel lacking. While the View is graceful the rooms are small although the decor is beautiful.

Room Tip: Park View... Preferably a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The place was gorgeous and if had a fantastic lobby. The mini bar in the rooms weren't to costly, and the menu the same. The showers were kinda old looking and the bathroom smelled like smoke but I didn't mind and I really enjoyed my stay. If there was one thing that could be improved, I would change the pillows to real goose down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yitzman625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We appreciate your kind words about our lobby especially and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#108 of 467 in New York City
1,268 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
1,079 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#27 of 467 in New York City
378 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing