We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, clean hotel for NYC with 'OK' service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Ranked #235 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean hotel for NYC with 'OK' service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We made our reservation directly with the hotel over a month before our trip as we were bringing our relatives from Italy for a 'tour' of America. We had 3 women staying in one room, our uncle in another room and my husband and I in the 3rd room.

When we checked in, even though I specifically requested one room had to have 2 double beds, they still gave us 3 rooms with king beds. When I asked them to change the room, they told me they were sold out that night and could possibly change the room the following night. In the meantime, we asked for a rollaway bed, as we were leaving for dinner and wanted to have it ready when we returned. When we returned 3 hours later, the rollaway bed still had not arrived so we asked him to bring it up immediately. He said he would but when he finally arrived with the bed (about half an hour later), my relatives were already changed and in bed and asked he leave the bed outside. We had just flown in that day from Italy and were exhausted. The staff seems very laid back...not at all the Hilton standard that we are used to receiving at other Hilton chains.

On the plus side, it was the cheapest hotel we could find in Manhattan with a good location (just a short walk from the train station), quiet area, clean hotel, super comfy beds and breakfast was included. Breakfast was actually very good and the customer service improved greatly over the stay. Perhaps because our family seemed happy sleeping 3 to a bed and so we didn't need to change rooms (not that they were beating down our door to try and help us with the situation). But overall, it was a good experience, despite the initial bad first impression.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyjtourofEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    305
    110
    62
    29
See reviews for
354
181
54
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

The price is a little high but that is what u get for staying in the city. The location is great and there is so many reataurants. The staff is really friendly!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omghotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

When we first arrived, we got room 105. We asked for a higher room, but they said they had none available. Room 105 was literally 10 steps from the reception desk. We could hear the music from the desk. There were cardboard boxes in the hallway stacked up.

We went back to the reception desk, telling them that there was no way we'd stay in this room and there must be something else. The man at the desk did not say a word to us, simply looking back through his system, and got us a new key card. Wow. The 2nd room, which was on the 2nd floor, was not much better but not nearly as awful as the one downstairs. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not get rm 105 (or any 100)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinybabyrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

I stayed here for business in April. Requested a room on a high floor, and was put on the 2nd. The rooms, while a decent size for NYC standards. are furnished with dated furniture and very poorly lit. My coworker was initially put in a room that smelled like standing water. The one elevator us slow, and the staff hit-and-miss. The location is nice and the breakfast the usual and solid Hilton fare, but until this hotel renovates, you can likely do better for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrantB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

good value place to stay within 10 min walk of 2 subway stations giving excellent access to most of the city. 10 min walk to Brooklyn Bridge with views from some rooms of this icon. Room was of expected good standard- great shower and really comfortable bed. Staff excellent, helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfast is included which is a real bonus- good selection which I would think would suit everyone.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonextOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Just got back yesterday from a 3 night stay at this Hampton Inn. The accomodations were roomy for NYC. The staff were the most helpful and courteous that I have ever encountered. They made a very positive impression on my whole family. This is a safe,quieter section of town with the seaport and pier 17 right around the corner. Also this hotel is near the foot of the Brookly Bridge, so you can walk over it and have some pizza at Grimaldi's (the best ever). I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

My best friend and I traveled ALLL the way to NYC for my birthday. It was his first time, so I wanted the stay to be good for us both. The Hampton Inn did not disappoint AT ALL. The hotel made us hate having to come back home. The staff was courteous, and the room was very clean. You would think the room would be small, however it accommodated us both quite well. The free breakfast is really good, and helps a lot when you're traveling on a tight budget! The airport seized all of our shower/bath/hair products, so the hotel was accommodating in giving us more toiletries for our 3 night stay :) I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. We took the subway from the airport, and on our checkout date, they let us store our bags there while we killed time before we had to leave. It's close to the 2/3 Fulton train (about a 5-7min walk) that take you Uptown. Don't spend anymore time mulling over which Hampton Inn to stay at...stay here :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeatKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#370 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#355 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financi...
#327 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Address: 320 Pearl St, New York City, NY 10038-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#230 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, this New York City hotel is in Lower Manhattan's Financial District. The South Street Seaport is just two blocks away.The Hampton Inn serves a complimentary On the House hot breakfast buffet daily. Guests in a hurry can grab a complimentary On the Run Breakfast Bag weekday mornings.Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, meeting rooms, and guestrooms. Each afternoon, the hotel provides complimentary warm cookies with milk in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New York Seaport / Financial District Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Financial District
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing