We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World's Most Famous Arena”

Madison Square Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
The Sightseeing Day Pass New York City
Ranked #24 of 1,092 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours run daily beginning at 9:30 AM.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“World's Most Famous Arena”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have heard about he Arena for years and when I got the chance to see it I grabbed it. I went to see 2 games in this years NIT College basketball tournament. The arena is nestled very close to the major New York attractions. A short walk from Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building, and Radio City Music Hall. Macy's is right across the street. There are plenty of hotels within walking distance and event parking is also available, at a price. Penn Railroad station is in the "basement".
The Arena itself was wonderful. A great choice of food and beverage are available, although for college events, no alcohol. Seats are comfortable with plenty of leg room. As I sat and let my mind wonder during a break in the action, I thought of all the events that had occurred here. It is easy to understand the appeal this venue offers.
Can't wait to find another occasion to return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,629
    1,737
    362
    88
    60
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
281 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worlds most famous arena”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The recent renovations to the Garden make this landmark an even more attractive venue to watch entertainment. I've been to a few hockey games and big east championships here. I've seen a few concerts here too. I like arena shows but the older venues seating design sometimes leave you feeling like your miles away from the stage. By far the best night at the Garden are when the Knicks play, it's electric. The fans are the best ever, the energy in the pace is amazing and of course seeing the regular celebrities is lays fun. There's no other place like MSG

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdsbiz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A t-shirt bazooka contest or an NBA game?”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I love basketball and really enjoy watching the best players in the world. And when the legend Patrick Ewing also was there it was set up for a perfect night. Unfortunately, it all became a annoying show where the crowd seemed to be most excited about catching t-shirts being bazookad out over the visitors, or being visible on the jumbotron. Towards the end, the great game became the entertainment during the breaks rather than the other way around...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Let's go Knicks!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to see the Knicks V Celtics basketball game during a recent stay in New York. Paid a quite a bit for the tickets and were seated on the front row of the second tier (so you get a tv to watch the replays on too). Excellent seats anyway (section 208) sitting opposite celebrity row (take a long lens camera for some paparazzi shots. The game was amazing with pre match entertainment, half time entertainment, time out entertainment all adding to an excellent night - even got a giant sponge novelty pointy finger. Top tip - if you can, eat and drink before you go - high prices and slow service!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank este19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dont forget your passport....”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Saw the Knicks here and had pretty great seats (front row, second level). Even had a personal tv screen!
The biggest problem here is that if you are not American, you need a passport to drink alcohol. Obviously this was highly irritating to us, and 2 other seperate parties who approached me to buy beer for them because they were German/British! As a 30 year old with a drivers license that says Im 30, not being able to buy a beer at my first NBA game was disappointing. Really took the shine off what was going to be a great night.
MSG, either get some rules that are fair for all nationalities, or advertise the fact BEFORE I get there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Adam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Square Garden also viewed

 

Been to Madison Square Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing