We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic is back”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #141 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montréal
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The magic is back”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

It's The Maritime I like: cozy, comfortable & friendly that I discovered again during my last stay. If you plan to stay in that part of Manhattan (Meatpacking district), you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    214
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
76
217
61
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Love Japanese ambienced room/toiletries, friendly eager to please staff, convenient biz center. Restaurants very reasonable, good food fun patio/vibe. Love the windows! Small euro space, every detail equipped. Great place to meet biz/friends. Few blocks from our son's home, so we will be regulars. Big problem: No cable Fox News. Just CNN/MSNBC same ole.. No Neil Cavuto??!! Great Place! As filmmaker have already sent other clients.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creekwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Hey Guys! Thanks so much for the review and also the response to our hotel feedback email after your stay. In case you hadn't heard, we are upgrading our cable services in early November and we will have every news source available, including Fox News. I would love to make the change sooner, but unfortunately we are bound by a few contracts for a couple more months.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to see your son! Welcome to the extended Maritime family.

James Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossvale New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I'm in NYC about 4/5 times a year and I stay in various places. The Maritime is averagely priced for the area and have found every stay to be delightful. Beds and Linens are extremely comfortable. The rooms are on the smaller side but when you are in NYC you only typically use them to sleep in :)

Best part of the stay is always the shower... big shower heads that dump water over you.

I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryRaised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I was not expecting this to be as good as it was! Price & location were my reasons for staying here, but it was great! Very funky nautical theme throughout (rooms have round windows like portholes) with a really pleasant & good patio restaurant off the lobby and a very good oriental restaurant down below. The location is wonderful: near Highline; meatpacking district; Hudson; Chelsea market. Only drawback is every room has just 1 queen bed which is very limiting but if it works for you, definately stay here.
Nancy C., Cincinnati

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This is my go to hotel in NY. Great neighborhood. Great service. Rooms are nicely appointed (although small which is typical for most NYC hotels). Bathrooms though are really small, but really good shower. Super comfy bed + linens. Both La Bottega & Matsuri are fabulous restaurants. Matsuri is absolutely gorgeous, great for client dinners! Rooms on lower floors can be noisy in the summer when the outdoor patio is bustling till late hours.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zgkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2010

A boutique hotel with a warm chic feel. i do recommend.
Positives: awesome hotel restaurant/bar set-up. a really cool vibe and the staff were really nice, accomodating. The shower was awesome.
Negatives, the the room size was underwhelming. The website pics portrayed seemed a lot larger than in real life.
It was noisy at time, but hey that is what i guess you have to expect when in meat packing district.
all in a good experience and i would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel is very unique. The rooms are modern and clean (quite small though!) and the bathroom is fantastic - best shower head on tour!
We stayed here 2 nights, and both nights we struggled with the noise coming from the bar below. On our first night, we complained to the front desk who offered to move us to a room a few floors up, but when checking out the room, it was just as noisy -so we stayed put. I bought some ear plugs and so was able to sleep better the second night. We stayed over a weekend, so its possible if you stay during the week you wont have this problem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly83Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,699 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#121 of 467 in New York City
972 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#56 of 467 in New York City
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Property: The Maritime Hotel
Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing