We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #142 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed here many times and it never disappoints. Good location, convenient to trains and Meatpacking with it's bars and restaurants. Chelsea and Chelsea market are loaded with more shops and restaurants. It is very quiet, even the outside rooms. Rooms are small but the space has been use very efficiently. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Debbadean-Thank you so much for passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you so much for returning to The Maritime. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime making this your home away from home.
All the Best, Matt Moore-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 676 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff were welcoming and friendly. The bell hops were very helpful and friendly.

The room was clean and well appointed and the design an efficient use of space. The bathroom was clean as well and the shower a relaxing experience.

The complimentary WiFi was appreciated.

I like the attention to detail and location of the hotel. My colleague was staying in the penthouse, which I visited - spacious and lovely views.

Thumbs up to Maritime Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marierrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Marierrb- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Attention to detail is very important to our owners and staff. Glad to hear you found the staff to be very welcoming as well enjoyed the decor and complimentary Wireless. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday and if you are looking for a great hotel with access to transportation and nearby attractions, this is a great hotel to stay.

First, located at 16th South and 9th West, the hotel was nearby several subway stops that allowed us to go pretty much anywhere in Manhattan, but it was already close to some great local attractions including Google's NY HQ (next door), Chelsea Market, the High Line, a huge Apple Store and much much more.

Within the hotel itself, there were two restaurants - a very cozy italian restaurant and outside was a brand new Tao restaurant that seemed to busy all the time. We didn't eat at either, but it was nice to have something nearby. The hotel did have room service, but it was so easy to walk a couple of blocks for some great food from almost any part of the world and pay a lot to a little. One of our favorites was the Greg Dog for breakfast, which was only two blocks away and well worth it.

In addition, there is a great business office room on the 5th floor with two computers and a connected printer.

As it relates to the staff, everyone was very friendly and courteous to us. There seemed to be a doorman ready to let us in or out every time we came near. The rooms were smaller, but not too small. The sea-going motif was implemented well and our room had all of the necessary elements that a hotel room should. What I was impressed with was some of the additional small details that we enjoyed including dual night lights next to our beds, ear plugs, and a ceiling shower head with great water pressure.

I would put this hotel more in the category of a vacation hotel than a business hotel, but either way, it was a great hotel located in a great part of Manhattan. If you were a business traveler, I think the creature comforts (free wi-fi included) and access to mass transportation makes it a great hotel to consider when in town.

As for any things that were negative, it is the fact that NYC is always noisy, regardless of the time. I guess that's why the earplugs were present in our room. Also, due to the way the hotel is constructed, with one main entrance that requires climbing about 20-25 steps, you will need to use a doorman to get your luggage to/from your garage. However, they were very nice and very accommodating. In the computer room, the computer we used didn't have adobe on it and I couldn't print out tickets to an attraction and had to run to a local Kinko's later in the day. I know that's fixable. Also, I didn't notice an ATM in the hotel, but the front desk did make change for me when I needed it.

As it relates to parking, the hotel has a special rate with the parking garage across the street, which was great. You can park on the street, but during the week it's hit or miss so take your chance or just park in the garage. It was a fair rate and while it was a valet set up, you had in/out privileges 24/7, which was great.

If we ever head back to NYC, we are definitely staying back at the Maritime hotel and checking out the Tao restaurant downstairs!

Room Tip: We had a standard room and most face west. The sound from the street doesn't get any better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockTravel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

RockTravel1970- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you and your family were able to enjoy time together here at The Maritime. Your feedback is much appreciated and entire staff gets a chance to read your kind words. We do hope that you will visit us again and please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We absolutely loved our recent stay at The Maritime during Thanksgiving weekend, 2013. It made our trip to see family in NYC all the more enjoyable and we would highly recommend staying here again.

The rooms are well appointed and the attention to detail was fantastic, from the toiletries to the mini bar to the full-size umbrellas found in each closet. Although the rooms themselves are not large, that is par for the course in New York City, and with all of the nautical themes, it actually felt like we were vacationing on a luxury ocean liner.

The staff are uber friendly and helpful, and the location is fabulous. Just a short walk to the High Line and Chelsea Market, Starbucks or the Subway. Our kids appreciated the free DVD rentals from the hotel lobby and the front desk was incredibly kind and patient with them (which we've learned is not always a given at boutique hotels). The whole family took advantage of the complimentary in-room Wi-Fi.

I thought the hustle and bustle noise from being on an Avenue might bother me, but quite honestly it didn't. (Earplugs are provided in each room, but I didn't need them.) I also learned that if we'd wanted, we could have requested a sound muffler for the circular window. I rated the sleep quality very high, as the bed, pillows, and comforters were simply luxurious and comfortable for us all to enjoy a fantastic night's sleep.

Overall, we were quite impressed and definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Adjacent rooms might be a good idea for families with teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindyCityMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

WindyCityMama-Thank you so much for your wonderful review and passing on your comments on TripAdvisor. We know there are many hotels to chose from in NYC and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your Thanksgiving Holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with any future reservations.
All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Maritime several times since its opening, and unlike many other boutique hotels in NYC, the Maritime has maintained its high standards. The location is ideal -- within blocks of the stylish High Line Park and the clubs & restaurants of the Meatpacking District. There's a subway stop literally down the block. The rooms are a bit petite -- as is common in NYC -- but they're very intelligently designed, with lovely amenities, so you never feel cramped. Great bed. Plenty of storage space for luggage, clothing, etc. I was extra impressed by the staff on this stay, including the very helpful doormen and luggage porters who took extra great care of our things. Front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. The kids in our group really enjoyed the free library of DVD's! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AroundTheCorner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

AroundTheCorner1-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It's a pleasure to welcome guests back and we love that you continue to come back and stay with us. Thank you for pointing out a lot of what we have to offer. Excited to know that our DVD library was a hit. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back from your home away from home. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

During our return trip to The Maritime Hotel we were very impressed with the professional attitude of the staff and the way they handled our every need. Our room was more than adequate in size and the bed was very comfortable. On a cold night it was very nice to sit in the lounge by the fireplace and enjoy a warm beverage (Mulled Wine).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

TomR- Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences and posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We love our repeat guests who come back time and time again. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are happy to hear you had a nice Holiday visit here with us and that you got to take in the Fireplace and the delicious Mulled Wine drink. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with any future reservations.
All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
670 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#218 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#101 of 470 in New York City
1,974 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 470 in New York City
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $221 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing