We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity and comfort”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #157 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 4 nights on a business trip this past April. The rooms are small but efficiently laid out and well appointed. The design is very tasteful and not overbearing at all (unlike several other competing hotels in the area). All in all this is a reasonably priced no fuss (and well located) hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

NicMTL-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found your stay to be filled with simplicity and comfort . We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for The Maritime Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 654 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I had a wedding to go to over Memorial Day weekend at the Prospect Park Boathouse in Brooklyn. When looking for hotels, we decided to go with the Maritime instead of the hotels with the wedding blocks. Our reasoning was that A) the Maritime's incredible location not only lent itself to downtown shopping- West Village, Chelsea Market, Eataly etc. but was also accessible to Brooklyn via the subway OR an affordable cab ride (and it was TOTALLY easy) and B) the awesome vibe and impeccable sense of style was something we had heard about and couldn't wait to try out for ourselves. Our choice was spot on! From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed, pampered and of course "super cool"...something very important for a couple away from their 13 month old for the first extended weekend! The room was beautiful, clean, and had the best blackout curtains...floor to ceiling, covering the entire wall...no cracks of light. The room was also incredibly quiet. I thought for sure that because of all of the popular clubs and restaurants in the immediate area we would hear a little noise. We heard NOTHING! The bathroom was clean, incredibly stylish and the Bigelow products were heavenly (the Marvis toothpaste was definitely a treat). The staff was welcoming, professional and extremely knowledgeable- bellmen were prompt, courteous and friendly and the room service staff made sure to always ask if there was anything else they could provide. The front desk made sure that all of our questions were answered and that we were having a pleasant stay. Overall we are completely satisfied! We will DEFINITELY be returning...and we might even get around to finally trying La Bottega next time. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family looking for a fun getaway in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Caitlin M- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. I'm sure your 13month year old keeps you both busy but glad to hear you were able to enjoy some time away together here at The Maritime. Your feedback is much appreciated and entire staff gets a chance to read your kind words. We do hope that you will visit us again and please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I loved the mid-century modern vibe about the place. The rooms were wonderful--on the small side but I did not mind this at all considering how unique the overall design/aesthetic is in this hotel. The room was spotless and the bath products were all C.O. Bigelow--plus they included Marvis toothpaste! 24 hour room service: amazing (and perfect for when you get back to the hotel quite late after a night out). My sense is that this is a great hotel if you want something a little off the beaten path (i.e.-non chain hotel), enjoy a mid-century aesthetic. Also for those who enjoy having fun but also are at a stage in their life where they have some disposable income to do it up the right way and don't want to necessarily party till the sun comes up every night of the NYC stay. In my early 30's, I enjoyed the proximity to fun spots in Chelsea. The bar at the hotel turns into quite a hot spot, itself, at night. Plus, the front desk staff were really helpful when I was inquiring about the best trains to take to get to the Brooklyn Flea Market. Overall, this is certainly the neatest hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in and I will definitely be coming back in the future!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or don't use ear plugs when you travel, ask for rooms that don't...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank turnthepage_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

turnthepage_10- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in NYC. Thank you for pointing out a lot of the amenities we have to offer. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked this last minute on Memorial Day weekend. It seemed even the budget hotels in NYC were $300+ that Saturday night! We booked this on Hotels Tonight, and got a rate $225 about $40 less than online. We had one other hotel option, but this place seemed kind of cool and we were interested in trying the meatpacking district.
We also had small dogs and this place takes pets with no fee.
We were happy with the area - easy to street park on the weekends, and close to Hudson St and the West Village, as well as Chelsea.
The hotel is pretty much what it states on its website. Clean basic nautical themed place with small rooms, cool large round ship-style windows that actually open, flat screen tv, comfortable bedding and very nice bathroom. Great restaurant - indoor and outdoor, as well as pool tables in the bar and small fitness center downstairs. They also have free single gear bikes available (though they charge $6 for the bellhops to deliver and retrieve).
The service was really great - they were most accommodating with all our requests. They even give free coffee after 6am in the lobby.
The lobby and halls were slightly dark, but that seems to be the trend with most hotels.
I wished we could have spent more time there and eaten at the restaurant - it smelled delicious and the prices did not look too bad.
Starbucks was around the corner on 15th and 9th, and you are walking distance to Chelsea and some lovely West Village restaurants, bakeries and stores.
Not sure what else to say - oh great toiletries for the shower!
They did put a $100 hold on my credit card which should hopefully be coming off soon - if not I will make another post:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betti14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

betti14-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments and we do appreciate your kind words you had to share. Regards to the $100 hold that is just a authorization hold that all hotels take when guests check in. It should be released within 24 to 48 hours unless you used anything form the mini-bar or other service facilities upon checkout. We hope to get a chance to welcome you back to The Maritime Hotel. If there is ever anything we can do to assist you during another visit please don't hesitate to ask.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I like to stay at places that feel like home away from home, where the staff treats you like family, not just a commercial transaction.That is the Maritime Hotel. It is smaller and quieter than the adjacent Dream Hotel. Nevertheless it is very comfortable with a great restaurant, fast free Internet, well designed rooms with lots of cubbies for your stuff, and a reasonable price for the hottest neighborhood in NYC. What's not to like?

Room Tip: I only stayed on the penthouse in a single. It was just fine. A bit small but very functional. Quiet...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

ChristopherMR- Thank your for your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us a second time around at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciated your kind words about your experience with us. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can be your home away from home when in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to The Maritime and we will continue to come back. The service is second to none. There is always someone opening a door for you, offering an umbrella, or asking you what you need. Our first day they started us out with maps marked with where we were starting as where we were headed. Everyone was so friendly and helpful!
The restaurant and bar is great and it's in the middle of anywhere you want to be!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekerr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thekerr3- Thank you so much for posting another review on TripAdvisor and for staying at The Maritime a second time around. We appreciated your positive feedback and comments about your experience. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities and the convenience of the neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We decided to stay here to experience the Chelsea/Meat Packers districts of New York. Very happy with our choice. It is right by Chelsea Market, a block from the High Line, and close to the galleries in Meatpackers. Brilliant high speed wifi thrown in - an essential in any hotel! Rooms were on small side, but this is New York. Loved the view from the round window. Competent and friendly service. The only weird thing was the dark reception areas and corridors. Saving energy I guess.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

E T- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance in the future.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,571 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#149 of 468 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#54 of 468 in New York City
2,129 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#95 of 468 in New York City
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $292 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing