We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a fabulous location”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #134 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here Thursday and Friday nights for a combination work/pleasure trip. The location of The Maritime was fantastic! Right across the street from the Chelsea Market, and very easy to get cabs to/from. The entrance isn't super well marked, so it took me a minute to figure out where the entrance was! The restaurant is on the corner of 9th and 16th, so that helps. Entrance is on 16th Street. The lobby is dark, but the room was plenty light during the day (nicely sized porthole window). The bed was comfy, with very nice linens. I loved the bathroom!! Loved it. The rainfall shower was wonderful, and the toiletries top notch. Nice deep bathtub for those that like to soak. Well stocked mini-bar, expensive as they tend to be, but not outrageous by NYC standards at all. All in all, a fine stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Catherine M- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed that the location and overall experience of your stay . We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 682 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was visiting nyc for 3 whole weeks in november 2012 and decided to stay at the Maritime hotel. overall, the hotel was VERY clean, hallways and rooms smelled great. the atmosphere was nice and the lobby well put together. especially the fireplace and the huge couches surrounding the reception. very dark though for my taste. dark halls dark colors. public washrooms were spotless always and very clean. bravo. i visited the gym in the basement and never went there again. too dark and musty. not inviting at all. one thing that bothered me was the reception staff. they were not friendly at all. not rude, but not friendly. we stayed in their hotel 20 plus days and not once did they greet us with a smile or a hello. they were just concentrated on their computers and did not acknowledge our entrance or departure on a daily basis any time of day into the hotel. that did not seem right. it doesn't make a guest feel very welcome. good location though, and i did not try any of the restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

James F- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I'm sorry to hear that the gym wasn't to your liking. We are actually making some neat changes to the gym so hopefully next time you visit you might have a different experience. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback form our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share yours. We hope to welcome you back in the near future please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

If you're in the city (New York) then this is a great place to get a drink and sit outside to watch the traffic/ locals. The drinks are good, but the service is marginal at best. In fact when my friend and I asked about a pizza we ordered we were told that the kitchen is a s@it storm by the inside bar tender, and ended up leaving hungry. Oh and for those breezy spring late afternoons into the evening, bring a jacket because there are no heaters. This place is ok...but not if you're hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarketingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here during Easter of 2013 for 3 nights....

Location is very convenient, Subway stop at the end of a block, starbucks as well... and the chelsea market across the street.... If you want convenient location in Chelsea this is a good hotel. Initially was thinking of the dream hotel next door as more of a boutique hotel - has a more "Las Vegas feel to it" with the lobby and the ambient lighting but read reviews about how the club is really popular and can get noisy, so opted for the the dream instead, and true enough was definitely more peaceful, the club next door was always packed on the weekend, sometimes the line blocking the entry to the lobby. So if you want to party and not too concerned about sleeping stay at the dream - if you want more relaxed stay at the maritime... difficult to tell which is which as initially both are the same building but have two different owners and both have the porthole windows...

Have to give a big shout out to all those who work there, they were very very helpful and very polite, whenever we ran into any of the maintaince people or the housekeeping, they were very polite and helpful, and we ran into it consistently that made us think that it is something that they are trained to do, so a definite shout out for management for emphasizing that....

the biggest let down i would say is the room - its quant but tiny, and although it has modern comforts the decor is a bit dated with all the wood and mirrors...

my travel companion also mentioned that the room was pretty dry, which i did notice, the heating is a bit dated so its either hot or cold.

the bath products they were offering were great and definitely above par.... something i would expect from boutique hotel.

Would i stay there again, Yes, for the service and location, if you are single the room should suffice, if you are two i would say it would be intimate, if you have kids, get two rooms.... you will be miserable if you are three, and we were in a queen sized room, so not the smallest, not sure how big their king size rooms would be....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Shady E- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor. Also, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and your experience here. Thank you for the shout out to all the workers from our maintenence staff, to housekeeping. Each member of our staff gets to read your feedback. Sorry that you found our rooms to be on the dry side. Not a complaint we often get but we do offer humidifiers that we would be happy to assist you with on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. If we can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel was recommended by my step son who lives in Brooklyn NY. We were a little reserved at first, but to our surprise we were amazed. From the moment we pulled up to unload, the staff was more than accommodating to us. The set up us ultra cool and it reminds you of cruise ship setting. The rooms were a bit small, but you the cleanliness, view, and comfort outweighs the limited space. This hotel is a must if you are traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

LenoraW-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor. Also, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you had a great stay with us and that your experience turned out to be for the better. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words and hope to welcome you back in the near future. If we can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great neighborhood...right next to the chelsea market, and many great bars and restaurants. My wife and I stayed in one of the penthouse suites. Well worth the money. Very clean, spacious, great terrace for a romantic dinner or drinks. Hotel staff was friendly and prompt..unlike many NYC hotels. They keep the place in great shape. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEOTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

CEOTravelerNYC- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance in the future. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

When my daughter came in from California I took the E train from Queens to meet her at the Maritime. The rooms are small and charming, porthole windows are special. It feels like bring being on a ship, very appropriate near the Hudson River. Beds are comfy & shower great, bathroom has lots of counter space & high end products. Restaurant was reasonable for NYC for two good breakfasts. Lobby area dim and charming nautical midcentury modern decor. Hotel down the block from the awesome High Line &the way too crowded Chelsea Market and walkable to great Chelsea art galleries. A nice staff, too, and fairly priced for Manhattan.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a high floor room & an in-house coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redheadedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Redheadedlibrarian- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime. It's a great source of inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We are glad to here you enjoyed many things from the beds, common spaces, restaurants, and the service! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 471 in New York City
3,673 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#76 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#153 of 471 in New York City
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 471 in New York City
1,877 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 471 in New York City
2,028 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#92 of 471 in New York City
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $252 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing