We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond expectations”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #160 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Maritime hotel for my anniversary. We were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse at the top of the hotel. Needless to say my wife and I were ready to move in! Spacious, clean and cool with a rooftop terrace and a view of the entire city. The decor followed the theme of the rest of the hotel and the double fire places were a real bonus! The wet bar/snack bar was ridiculous with its over the top offerings. There was enough alcohol there to throw a party for 30 people! The suite offered a great living area as well as a small table to eat, though we chose to eat our room service selections on the long coffee table in front of the big flat screen. I highly recommend the french toast for a morning after pick me up.
Service throughout the hotel was friendly and attentive. The bar area was great as were the cocktails. The only small inconvenience I could think of, if I must be nit picky, is that to reach the very top floor where our suite was, you had to go up a short flight of stairs. Overall our stay was amazing and the location was great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daguirrechu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Daguirrechu- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for The Maritime Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 654 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've been staying here since 2005. It's always great. The rooms are modern and cozy. There are two chairs and a table so you can sit and look out the huge porthole window while you eat and read the Times. The staff is helpful and low key. The restaurant is consistently good. The only downside is that it's loud the nights they have parties. Even the window cushion doesn't block out the heavy bass -- the front desk will gladly send up earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Cahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

77Cahill- Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel since 2005! It's wonderful to have such loyalty from our guests. Your title says it all and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the near future. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week on business. NYC being what it is, I can't comment much on location. However, there is plenty in the surrounding area.

The room was small but clean and in great condition. Really gives off the vibe that you are on a ship, from the porthole window to the plaster detail at the ceiling. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and really neat accent lighting. The bathroom was small, but great tile detail and top end toiletries provided.

The public area in the lobby carries the maritime theme, and offers some really comfortable seating to meet up with colleagues/friends. All of the public areas are a little dark.

There is a free gym. It is pretty small, and the cardio equipment is a bit dated. It is in a basement, so it feels a bit confining and frankly a little creepy. The hotel offers some discounts to other gyms, that may be the way to go if you don't like to feel like you're in the cargo hold.

Finally, I was on a low floor, and I thought the bar below was a bit loud. They actually offer a window "plug" to block out street noise if that bothers you, but the hipster chitchat and music sound was not coming from outside. Earplugs are provided.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Cliff_Rock- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I'm sorry you felt that the cardio equipment in the gym was outdated since we did just purchase all new equipment this past May. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback form our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share yours. We hope to welcome you back in the near future please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family recently stayed at The Maritime and I can't say enough about the hotel and services all around. The lobby has a great vibe, the bar is great and the restaurant food is really good. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. To top it off, the staff could not be nicer or more accomodating. The location is terrific - stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

KevinW- Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed their time here. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Its all good, I can say that this was my first stay in NY , the Maritime hotel is close to the 14St station with a number of lines to take you most anywhere in the city. Its in Cehelsie near the meat packers area with Chelsie markets are just across the road. Service and general feel of the hotel are very good, I will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

JamesM- Thank you for passing on your feedback on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Maririme has a great lounge with comfy Ocean liner sofas to sink into by a fireplace surrounded by art books and past issues of Horizon. Perfect location for the Chelsea galleries and restaurants and the Highline. Rooms are minimal with nautical port hole windows, cozy beds and music players you can plug your I phone into. Great Italian restaurant with outdoor courtyard and quirky, arty and friendly atmosphere. I love this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiego-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

SanDiego-London- Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor and indeed thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The Maritime. Sounds like you had a great trip taking in all the Galleries and restaurants. This is a great area for all that and we are glad to hear you took advantage of it! We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

All of the recent reviews have spoken of how nice the staff are, what a nice feel the hotel has, and how good the rooms are, I agree entirely. This is my 5th stay in New York, I have paid much more for anonymous hotels, and the same for worse ones, this is the first time I have stayed in a hotel that has made me want to return not only to New York but to the hotel itself. Don't hesitate, book here, it is wonderful to be away from the hustle of the most obvious tourist spots, but within easy reach of everything you need.
Gym is fairly good, and although small enough to keep you busy, as with all NY hotels it can get a little loud at night, they do however supply earplugs, it is probably too sophisticated for children (didn't see any) and the cabin theming is excellent.

Room Tip: Al the rooms have an interesting if not a great view of the Highline and the Hudson, the higher the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

JohnR888-THank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the great area around us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,568 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 468 in New York City
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,128 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#90 of 468 in New York City
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $292 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing