We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Chelsea Market and High Line”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #159 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We originally booked hotel due to close location to an event we were attending. Our event location changed to another part of the city, however, we still decided to stay at Maritime. I'm glad we stayed. Location is across the street from the Chelsea Market, down the block from the High Line, and many restaurants are nearby (as well as in hotel). We were able to easily access subway to get to and from our new event location (as well as other parts of the city). We easily parked across the street and received a discount in fee after validation from Maritime. The hotel is unique and I'm glad we had the opportunity to stay here for an evening. Although the rooms are small, they are well appointed and clean. The hallways and main lobby are dark, but it all goes with the theme.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

LVPets- Thank you so much for passing on your comments and staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took the opprotunity to see the sites in this great location. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to The Maritime Hotel in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 669 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is amazing! Its been renovated very well, the furniture, the detail of the quirky rooms, the 'vibe' is right on!! We loved our stay on the 9th floor, with a view of the Hudson through the gorgeous porthole window! The staff were great, from the front desk, bellman,porters, cleaners, the restaurant 'La Bottega' was a great find too, so easy when it got too chilly outside, for dinner & breakfast. Location in a great part of town makes this a definite one for a return visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

budgetbudge-Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing The Maritime Hotel. Your input about the 'vibe' of the hotel is great! We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy the hotel and the nice view of the Hudson River. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent a few nights here while at a wedding. Hotel is very clean. Rooms are small, but well appointed. Watching sunsets through the porthole windows is a nice touch. A little dark in the lobby, but you don't spend much time there. Staff is friendly and helpful. Compared to other hotels in the area, Maritime is very fairly priced. Location is ideal for all Chelsea/Meat Packing district events. Just a few blocks from the piers and High Line park. Will return to Maritime on next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Archman8-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas like the High Line and Meat Packing district. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback for our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Maritime during the busy Thanksgiving weekend. Despite the hustle and bustle of the holiday weekend, the staff was always courteous and quick with a warm smile and a hello. The rooms are just stunning, penthouse A was absolutely a home away from home. The suite was large enough to accommodate my family of four comfortably. I would high recommend the Maritime as a wonderful place to stay when visiting NYC!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

NicoleM- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are happy to hear you and your family had a nice Thanksgiving Holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with any future reservations.
All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a short turn around for business and wanted to visit my daughter in the West Village too. This place was great. Smaller, quieter, and more intimate than the Dream Hotel next door. The front desk staff and the housekeepers couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The rooms on the top floor were just fine. The bed was above average. The only thing the room lacked was more sq. foot. But this is New York so you have to temper your expectations. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

ChristopherMR-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. The feedback and shout out goes a long way. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything in the future.
All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Natural disasters hold a mirror to the people who get survive them; how they manage a crisis, problem-solve, and demonstrate their best or worst aspects of humanity to others. I was caught in NYC during Hurricane Sandy for nearly two weeks, and I can only describe how unequivocally impressed I am by the staff and management of The Maritime Hotel.

Indeed, the hotel has great amenities and style, and the rooms -- although a bit small -- make up for their size with excellent ergonomics and thoughtful details. Lots of closet space and drawer storage. A slim, but well-appointed bathroom with a generous shower head (water! pressure!) and a well-designed marble stall with built-in mirror and shelves. A clever and well-stocked mini-bar. A TV with 227 channels, a DVD player (to take advantage of the hotel's impressively curated movie library), and stereo. A comfy bed nestled inside a nook with shelves, lights and electrical outlets on either side to keep incidentals, and cell phones at the ready and charged.

The bar has a comfortable ambience; the restaurant is very good.

But beyond all of the basic hotel comforts, I was a firsthand witness to an extraordinary staff, who put their guests first in a time of chaos and crisis. Even after the power, then the water, went out in the hotel, each and each employee we encountered -- front desk, service staff, housekeeping, handymen, bellmen -- were warm, comforting and positive. The restaurant brought out free pizzas for everyone, and took in people off the street when the hurricane hit. The staff was doing 16-hour shifts, sleeping at the hotel away from their homes and their families to keep the hotel going and to do their jobs. Maids were cleaning the rooms as best as they could, even though the hotel was without water or power for nearly a week. Lenny, the Head of Security, despite his apparent fatigue and stress about the backup generator, ferried guests up and down the darkened elevators with his flashlight, and managed to remain cheerful and upbeat -- he was extraordinary. I also can't praise the Maritime's team of valets/bellmen enough for their hustle and great attitudes. Even when taxis were even surlier and scarcer during the blackout, they headed out into the wind and snow onto 9th to hail cars for us, and sherpa'ed our bags up and down the hotel's lobby stairs.

When the plumbing cut out, we were forced to find other accommodations for the rest of the week, and had the opposite experiences at other properties -- rate gouging, lies about the safety/functionality of the hotel, bad attitudes. The staff at the Maritime were so incredible, and were so good at their jobs, we would have stayed at the hotel even in the dark, had the toilets and water been operational. Hunkering down with this exceptional crew as Chelsea staggered to its feet would have been preferable to staying uptown with full amenities, but horrible management/staff.

The Maritime Hotel is an exemplary property, rising to their mission and ethos in the most unthinkably difficult conditions. I will remain a loyal guest for many years to come, and recommend this hotel with my highest confidence.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daidaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

AliasLA- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Your feedback means so much to the entire staff and I appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. You definetly experienced an unusual week at The Maritime due to Hurricane Sandy. However, our goal with pleasure was to continue to give great service and see that our hotel guests were taken care of given with what we had to work with. Again, your shout out to our staff members goes a long way. It's not everyday that they receive inspirational comments from guests. We do hope that you will visit us again and that they will be under different circumstances. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with a future reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime and hope that you will consider it your home here in the city. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Maritime while in NYC for some meetings at the Soho House. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. Street noise was an issue for me the last time I stayed in the city a few months ago (I was at a different hotel), so I was a little concerned about noise this time too, especially because a room on the 6th floor was the highest the Maritime had available when I checked in. However, the Maritime turned out to be *very* quiet. I could barely hear anything from the street at all, and I didn't even have to use one of their window plugs that fit into the circular windows. I also didn't have any problems whatsoever with noise from the hallways, from the elevators or from any of the other rooms.

The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. I had a drink at the hotel's restaurant one night with some friends and our server there was also very friendly.

I appreciated the small details that the hotel's designers took into consideration when outfitting the rooms, such imprinting a letterpress logo on the coasters underneath the glasses in the bathroom. Another detail I appreciated was the inclusion of a journal called "The Tortoise" along with the usual tourist glossies on the side table in the room. One of the hotel's owners is on the board of the Turtle Conservation Society and he felt that his guests should have the chance to learn more about the many tortoise species which are close to extinction. As someone who personally has both philanthropic and business interests, I can imagine that the decision to put this journal in guests' rooms was not made lightly (a journal that discusses a serious issue might not necessarily be considered "fun" or appropriate for a hospitality environment). However, the fact that the journal was in the room anyway gave me the impression (whether true or not) that the owners are good guys who care about real issues.

The only downside of the hotel is that the rooms are tiny. I was traveling by myself so this didn't matter, but the room would be too small if I was to travel with my husband and dog. In that case, I would reserve one of their suites.

One recommendation for travelers who are staying at the Maritime would be to go to Chelsea Market for breakfast - it's only a block away and there is a bagel shop on the first level.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Sarah7038- Thank you so much passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Your feedback and the specific details of what you experienced as a guest is much appreciated. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to The Maritime in the near future. If we can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to reach out.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 469 in New York City
3,624 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 469 in New York City
657 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#163 of 469 in New York City
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,938 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#56 of 469 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $227 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing