We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #139 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a great hotel! All of the staff I interacted with was extremely friendly and accommodating. The nautical theme is carried out in a fun and inviting way, which makes this a truly unique and fun place to stay. There are also two great restaurants in the hotel to choose from - Japanese and Italian. Both were wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Hi lmk59

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your trip. I agree, the restaurants here are delicious. If you want to take a little bit of Matsuri home with you, Tadashi has a new cookbook out called "The Japanese Grill". He unlocks some of his best grilling secrets for us all to enjoy.

We hope to see you again soon,

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 682 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed for a week in The Maritime for business (with some leisure though - hey this is the city...). Rooms are really great, large for nyc standards, great design, very convenient with all you need. TV station old but who cares in the city. Cleaning is perfect, very friendly staff, great bar next to the lobby plus italian restaurant with large patio or inside dining, very popular lively atmosphere in both the bar and restaurant. The immediate area is great; right in the meatpacking district. Also close to Penn Station if you need to commute, 5 mins by cab in he morning, 20 mins walking. Also great jogging, 2 blocks away from Hudson River Park. My stay was close to perfect. Only min point is the sound that comes through the windows: the sealing is not very good. One can ask to install a plug, but then you're view is gone.... It is probably a conceptual issue, as all roms have the issue, due to the circular form of the windows. A shame for such a top-class hotel where everything is perfect that they can;t find a fundamental solution to that problem... Overall however, nice stay, though there are equally good horels in that price range that don't have the noise issue....

Room Tip: High floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thanks for the review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the various food and beverage offerings we have here on the property. I wanted to just follow up on the soundproofing of the rooms that you mentioned.

When we first opened, we really had a bad issue with the vintage porthole windows from the 60's. At first, they were only a single pane and did not have any sound proofing whatsoever. We retro-fit the windows with a second pane of glass and we designed a rubber seal to close up any areas where air or sound could get through. Then we added additional latches to make sure each room closes up tight. For those guests who are extremely sensitive to noise, we also created the window plugs which you mentioned in the review. Yes, they block the view, but while sleeping that's not usually too much of an issue.

Thanks for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future!

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We spent a week at the Maritime.
It was our second time in the hotel and as usual it was amazing.The staff is very friendly, the food is very good and the location is amazing: walking distance from all the Chelsea galleries, designers shops from the meatpacking and the High Lane Park. If I go back to NYC, I'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cris_hirama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Hi Cris,

Thanks for the review! Spending a week really allows you to experience all the hotel and neighborhood have to offer, as well as the chance to hit some of the more notable tourist destinations around the city. It seems like you had a great trip!

We hope to see you again in the future!

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I travel quite a bit for work and prefer to stay at boutique hotels whenever possible. I was participating in the Wine & Spirits Magazine Top of the List Tasting at the Metropolitan Pavilion and they recommended the Maritime Hotel because it was within walking distance. I'm so glad they did, or else I may not have found this gem. For starters, I took a red-eye and got to the hotel at 9:30am- SO early! I knew it was a long-shot asking for such an early check-in, but figured it wouldn't hurt to try. Well, believe it or not, they got me in at 9:30!! Or should I say, Danielle did! She was awesome- so helpful, personable and kind. That gave me time to take a nap and then workout in their complimentary fitness center before I had to be at the event at 3:00. The room wasn't big, but had everything I needed including plenty of desk space. The bed was super comfortable and the maritime design of the room was beautiful. My favorite was the 5ft porthole window- classic! Even the toiletries were amazing- everything down to the loofah and toothpaste they leave for you. Did I mention there was a rain shower head?!! :)
When I got back from the event, I decided to grab a drink and a bite to eat in the lobby bar. The margherita pizza was delicious and Amanda, the bartender, was fabulous too. Pretty much everyone that works here goes out of their way to make you feel at home. This morning, I ate breakfast at Bottega and my chicken apple sausage took a little longer than my eggs, so they even comped those. Awesome customer service.
Sadly, I only stayed one night, but hope to visit again in the future. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissydmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

I am so glad that you found out about our hotel and had a wonderful stay. It really means so much to us to hear back from our guests. Even if something might have gone a bit awry, we'd always prefer to know about it and fix it.

Danielle and Amanda have both been with us for a while. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words and great review!

Best

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I come to NY twice a year for fashion week and always stay here. What can I say about the Maratime that has not been said, other than they are just FAB... I dream about the bed for 6 months until my trip. I can't stop talking about the staff to everyone who will listen to me. Special mention to the bar staff who always remember me and make me feel welcome as I always am always on vacation alone.

On a special note in 2010 when the snow storm hit NY the team at the Maratime went out of their way to help me move my reservation around so I would not get stuck.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprock33243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Ah, a member of our extended Maritime family! Thanks for taking the time to post such a nice note. The blizzards of 2010 & 2011 were quite a lot to deal with, especially for our guests trying to escape. But all that suffering has been rewarded with a wonderful Spring. Our courtyard sprung to life after a long dormant Winter.

Cheers,

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Good food and nice staff :) The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The hotel food was good quality. The best part was how comfortable the bed was. I found out I had to go to NY the night before. The only flight available got me there around 7am. They did not make me wait until noon to check-in. I was pleasantly surprised and how nice they were. The staff really took an interest in me.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B2B33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Whenever we are able, we try to accommodate our guests for an early arrival. I always suggest adding those comments to your reservation, as it helps us know when to expect you. If you ever want to guarantee a room will be waiting for you, please just call us directly and we can help pre-register your room and book you from the night before.

We hope to see you back again soon!

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed here for a week on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff was efficient and courteous, room was blessedly quiet and well-appointed (though small, this being NYC), and the location for me was ideal (with our offices right across the street). Bar/restaurant area is a great place to relax with friends for a drink or two before a night on the town. Overall, a very positive experience that I plan on repeating on my next NYC trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAguy90046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your week long stay with us. And even happier to hear that you're excited for the next trip. You'll be in good company, as a lot of our guest have stayed multiple times. Once guest is already up to his 325th stay.

Cheers,

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,673 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#74 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#153 of 471 in New York City
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 471 in New York City
1,877 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 471 in New York City
2,029 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#92 of 471 in New York City
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $252 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing