We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #160 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We celebrated my 60th with a night out on the town and chose the Maritime for it's location close to the Highline for a morning walk. The reception was welcoming and a surprise upgrade. The penthouse suite was so beautiful, the linens, the bigelow toiletries, the wet bar! Really could not have asked for a more romantic evening for a night out on the town. Room service for breakfast was fast with fresh orange juice and plenty of coffee and the Sunday Times. Lovely view of the Hudson River, too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank make-more-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the little birthday surprise! Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We really appreciate the review! While we can't guarantee everyone with a birthday will luck out with an upgrade, when it works it works! Have a great year!

Will we see you for 61?

Best,

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for The Maritime Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 654 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

I surprised my husband with a stay at this hotel - at the suggestion of some New Yorker friends who lived near by. The room we were in had a "plug" to keep any noise out and very thick curtains so it was the quietest and darkest hotel I have ever stayed in - the sleeping was great even thought it was in a busy part of the city. The rooms were new and had beautiful decor and special touches. The staff was great. The neighborhood is near the high line which was fun to walk on and to great restaurants in Chelsea.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnereale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

I always warn friends who stay here to set an alarm and set another as a backup! The blackout drapes really do keep the room dark, even when the sun is at it's brightest. Between that and the beds, it can be nearly impossible to wake from slumber.

The neighborhood has a lot to offer, including wonderful restaurants, galleries, and of course the Highline. We hear the extension up to 23rd street is nearly done! Eventually, you'll be able to walk all the way to the Javitz Center.

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The room and bathroom was very small... otherwise it was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atomic503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

One of the nicest hotels in the area. Typical NYC smallish room, but very cozy and makes excellent, creative use of the space available. Super comfy bed and soft, lovely linens. Lots of thoughtful amenities like earplugs, qtips and cotton balls, toothpaste and plush bathrobes. Windows that open (yay!) and if you are sensitive to noise and light, you can make use of the window 'plugs' to block out the noise, even though I thought the soundproofing was already excellent. In a city where hotel staff is usually aloof and downright snotty at times, the Maritime staff was attentive and polite. This will definitely be my first choice the next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turkeyscrabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your trip to the Maritime. We have always thought being friendly was a great idea and selling point! Smiles are free, afterall. We hope to see you again soon!

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is a very cool little hotel. If you are looking for a unique hotel experience outside of the crazy tourist area of Times Square, this is a great hotel. The rooms are small (as are all NYC hotel rooms), but the decor and public areas of the hotel make up for it. The rooms have the feel of a cruise ship with great wood built-ins. The bathrooms looked like they were just remodeled -- which is a huge plus in my book. I had the best night sleep in this room during multi-city business trip to the East Coast. There is a great patio in the center of the hotel that I didn't get to enjoy because of winter, but I can imagine that it is an amazing place to hang out in the summer. The rooms are a little pricey for what you get, but for a very unique experience outside of the regular tourist craziness, this is a real gem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Hey Jess
So glad to hear you found our little hotel to be unique and different from your average NYC hotels. I'm glad you appreciated the public spaces and found time to enjoy our various offerings. The patio is ready to open up, we're just waiting on Mother Nature to cooperate. Definitely try to visit again once it warms up a bit!

Cheers

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

When we arrived in this room, with our 8 yo daughter, which our friend had arranged for us, we were kinda mortified... It was so tiny, and what floor space there was, was quickly consumed by a blow up bed for our daughter, and our 3 enormous suitcases. Well, after we got ourselves sorted, put our stuff away, shoved a chair aside , we were quite comfortable. In the end we were happy, because the bed was superb, the teeny tiny bathroom was well appointed and stocked, room service was lightning quick, but I have to say, the location is pretty cool, restaurants there are really great, especially matsuri. I probably would not stay again with a child squished into that room, but as a business traveller or couple it would be great value. I would comment too that I like to sleep with the window open, which was a great feature here.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank peggy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Hi Peggy,

Your review title made me laugh. But when faced with a small room, we knew that if the layout was right and we stocked it full of all the little things one could need, people would be able to get over the lack of space and get comfortable in our beds.

I must agree with you, I do feel our rooms are a bit on the small side to fit two adults plus a child. But so many guests mentioned that they wanted the option of an air mattress, so we felt it would be a nice thing for us to offer.

Thanks for the review!

James Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Great nautical theme carried on throughout. Really inventive design. Location is near some great shopping in a "cooler" part of town. Doormen are great, rest of the service was so so. Be sure to visit the Chelsea Market about a block away. This is a bit more of a social hotel rather than a business hotel although the desk area was fine and the internet did work, so overall i was good with it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,570 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 468 in New York City
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,128 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#90 of 468 in New York City
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $292 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing