We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a normal Italian restaurant”
Review of Puttanesca - CLOSED

Puttanesca
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 56th Street
Transit: A,C,E train stops at 59th Street and 8 Ave.
Description: Italian, Homemade Pastas and Desserts - Specials Daily.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quite a normal Italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am Italian and I am sorry to deceive all the enthusiastic fans of this restaurant: I personally found it very average (medium-medium low), with a tremendous service. Only a positive note for the home made tiramisù.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    10
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
390 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Night in the City”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a shared salad, a glass of wine and a pasta for each of us and a shared dessert. The service was thoughtful, the food delicious and the ambiance pleasant. The prices were reasonable (and coffee for $2.00 each is a rare NYC bargain!) We will keep Puttanesca in mind the next time we go to Lincoln Center.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tweedybird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent Italian Food!! The food was very good. I only had two small complaints. Their was no kids menu and unfortunately the service was really slow.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found this place after a day of sightseeing. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was really good. Wine by the glass is priced well, everyone enjoyed their meal. It was a good place to unwind, drink and eat after a long day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Puttanesca is still a great destination after many years”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had not been to Puttanesca for a few years, not because of any negative issues, it was just not on my radar screen. I was happy to find that it still serves interesting and top quality Italian food. The restaurant was filled, and I had a delicious beet salad as a starter, followed by a savory fettucine bolognese, with gobs of tender, tasty meat. The wine list is very good, the service was attentive and got our group out in plenty of time for our theater event, and patrons were clearly having a good time all around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKtheRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puttanesca also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing