We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum-O !”

Butter Lane Cupcakes
Ranked #157 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Village
Description: At Butter Lane, our mission is to make you the perfect cupcake. With a focus on high-quality ingredients such as vanilla beans, pure cocoa and dark chocolate, we're giving real food lovers something to sink their teeth into. Choose from a great menu of decadent cupcakes, from classic flavors to exciting original items. We offer 16 different American buttercream icing flavors, plus a French buttercream in either chocolate or vanilla. If cupcakes don't strike your fancy, we also offer breakfast donuts, muffins, scones, cookies and more. You can also order a box of our mini cupcakes, pop tarts, specialty cupcakes or a beautiful cake for any occasion. In addition to the tastiest cupcakes and treats in the area, we are also known for our fun and educational Cupcake Classes. In fact, we now teach more than 10,000 students a year how to make the perfect cupcake!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yum-O !”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I dont like cupcakes at all-for some reason everyone I eat is DRY. Butter Lane Cupcakes has made a believer out of me. Had just enjoyed a wonderful brunch with family we decided to walk neighborhood and found Butter Lane. Yes the size doesnt match the price-yes they are expensive(6 for $18) but the cake to icing combinations are amazing. The staff was helpful suggesting flavor combinations. I got Banana with maple pecan icing topped with a pecan and chocolate with chocolate icing with a sprinkle of sea salt. OMG so good - it will be the place to go to we I return to NY. They even offer classes in the art of making cupcakes and how to properly ice-such a treat for visitors or anyone who wants to bake the proper cupcake

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chesapeake, va
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy cupcakes!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The cupcakes were delicious, even days later. My only complaint is the size/price. They seemed small for the cost, but I loved the idea of frosting shooters for $1.00. Who doesn't like small cups of frosting? And the flavors were delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrshaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“butter lane has fallen off”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

$3 a cupcake?! wow! okayokay its NYC i'll let that slide....but what the? I went there when it was on the best thing i ever ate and it was ! but I just went there this Sunday and let me tell u I paid $18 for 6 cupcakes and they were not all that. The only ones that were to go back for were the banana pistachio and the caramel popcorn. the others were dry not good and the ice cream shop next door looked much better . pretty disappointed and probably wont go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good cupcake”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I only tried one Butter Lane Cupcake, and it was delicious. The staff was friendly but not too impressive. I tried chocolate chip cookie dough. I thought the frosting was a great - good portion and flavor. The cake was a little dry, but the cookie dough inside helped. I would like to try more of their varieties someday....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank THJH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always a Stops in NYC”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Every time I come to the city, I treat myself to a cupcake. Okay, I usually treat myself to two...(who's counting) So, this trip I stop into Crumbs to try one of their cupcakes - I had something like "monkey business". Banana cupcake with caramel etc. It was good and I am always happy to try different cupcakes but it was not exceptional. So, I went down to the East Village and got my favorite cupcakes at Butter Lane. Vanilla is my favorite, although they are all amazing. So, buttery and pure. Not to knock the rest but Butter Lane is still the best! In any city, any state, USA and abroad Butter Lane is tie for number one! (I won't mention the "other" one)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PankeyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butter Lane Cupcakes also viewed

 

Been to Butter Lane Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing