We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small piece of Britain”
Review of Tea & Sympathy

Tea & Sympathy
Reserve with OpenTable
Tea & Sympathy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 475 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: West Village
Description: Tea & Sympathy is a British restaurant serving traditional British comfort food. Our shop next door sells popular British groceries, sweets, tea, tea-pots, cups and saucers, and lots more.
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A small piece of Britain”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you love a real British cup of tea, and proper British food, this tiny cafe is the place for you. I go there as often as I can for "Welsh Rarebit" which for the uninitiated is a rather sophisticated take on grilled cheese. Other British delights abound, scones, Victoria sponge, baked beans, shepherds pie - the list goes on and on. There a are a few quirky things about this place. You cannot come in and wait at your table for members of your party - everyone has to be present before being seated. Also the tables are very small and close together, so the atmosphere is cosy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DW1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    8
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful and a Great Experience!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you want classic British food and tea, you have to go here. Although it is not cheap, it is definitely a place I suggest you go for a special occasion or a few times a year (even if it is 2x a year). It is not incredibly expensive, it is reasonable. You can get an entire pot of tea for a very low price. The food is great and the "Afternoon Tea" is definitely something you should do. The place is lovely and quaint. There are a various teas and tea pots and good, home-cooked food. I love to come here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the-englishroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“good food, sodas aren't free refills”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a small place so there might be a wait. Good food, had sandwiches, but was annoyed the waitress never told us sodas weren't free refills. Sorry where the norm is to have free refills or to be told, the staff here should inform the customer.

Wouldn't prevent me from going again, they just need to mention it or put it on their menu

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank swisstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is one of my favorite places to go especially for dessert. I highly recommend the apple crisp with custard. Inside is warm and quaint. It is a little small but very cozy. You have to have an open mind to eat here because at anytime you may be asked to switch seats. All in all the food is not bad. If I am not having dessert I order the roasted cornish hen. I almost forgot the most important thing the tea. They have several different blends of tea which are satisfying. They serve it by the pot. I do not like the fact that you are unable to share the tea. I mean if you do you will still be charged for tea for $4 per person/pot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Quaint English Place”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were the only "American" speaking people in the place. The place is very tiny and the bathroom even tinier, but the service is larger than life. Cannot say enough about the service. As mentioned in other posts, the place is little on the pricey side. The scones are very tasty but are small and a bit pricey. Having just been to London, it was still a treat. It isn't for big crowds as the place is quite small. The owner is from the UK and has been here in the US for over 20 years. Very likable. Great tea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SNJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea & Sympathy also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tea & Sympathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing