We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #156 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just dropped our daughter off at NYU and we couldn't ask for a nicer greeting as we stepped into the hotel. My daughter was asked what she is studying at NYU and the personnel showed so much interest in her passion and wished her the best of luck.
We requested a high floor that was relatively quiet and were placed on the 19th floor away from the street. Even through a thunderstorm we slept great as the beds were very comfortable too.
We were given restaurant recommendations as well.
Our safe didn't work and it was replaced within an hour.
We will be back in August and look forward to the great hospitality.
The breakfast was fine too.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mnmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We are so glad you felt so comfortable at our hotel during your recent stay. Thanks for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again in August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is a bit small (rooms, too), but this is typical for NYC hotels. But the rooms are modern, clean, have nice bath products. Wifi was fine. There are free hot drinks and cookies in the afternoon, and the free breakfast in the morning was the best! A make-your-own waffle bar, tons of fresh fruit, yogurt, delicious baked goods, eggs, good coffee. We were sad we only stayed here one night.

It's close to several subway stations and Barcade is on the same street (bar full of old video games from the 80s, very cool).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMoveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy we made such an impression during your vacation here on the East Coast. Thank you for the great comments about breakfast as well. We hope to see you again during your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Clean; great bed, super desk, excellent positioning of electric outlets. Check-in was swift. The front desk was helpful about an article I had forgotten to pack. The elevator never kept me waiting long. My room had a relatively big window (sealed shut, unfortunately) with a dynamite view over rooftops and down onto 23rd Street. A housekeeper helped me out when I had a question on the operation of the bathtub. The free wifi functioned adequately.

The bed and workspace made me happy to be staying -- but the toilet and sink made me happy to leave. The toilet leaked onto the floor (clean water, I guess); the sink was hard to operate because a glass shelf extended too low over the handle. I had not operated a sink handle from below for 40 years! It's hard work!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank amturnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your stay. I am glad that overall you had a great experience, but do apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom caused you. Please let us know when you are coming back so we can make sure everything in your room is in perfect, working condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location, friendly staff and nice rooms make this a very good choice. The breakfast is a little weak, but you can fix this by walking less than a block in any direction. It was very strange that my shower curtain disappeared on the 2nd day of my stay, but I suppose worse things could happen!

TIP: Turn right and walk 50 feet to the corner deli if you need to grab a yogurt or a drink.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

I am so sorry that you were without a shower curtain during your stay, but happy to know that the majority of your stay was an enjoyable one. Please feel free to contact us the next time you are in town so we can make sure everything is perfect with your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it was close to our son's apartment in Gramercy Park. The rates were reasonable for NYC and the room was lovely and clean. We actually stayed at another Hampton Inn in Northern MI and only paid $50 less per night.The waffles at breakfast are yummy( make your own), and the rest of the food was plentiful and good, but it was very crowded. Of course, it is a chain, but you know what you are getting.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

We are so happy that you were so happy! Thank you for being a loyal Hampton guest, and we hope you see you again soon when you come next to visit your son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We always enjoy our stay at the Hampton in Chelsea. It is always clean and quiet. Staff is very nice and professional. It is within walking distance of many places in New York City. There is close access to the subway and path train.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank cosettec2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for continually staying with us and for the excellent review. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have stayed at the Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea many times. Friendly staff from check in to check out. Good size room with a comfortable bed. 24hr coffee/tea available in the lobby. Good location within walking distance to subway station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for continuing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Chelsea. I am so pleased that we are able to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Please come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#148 of 469 in New York City
2,008 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#200 of 469 in New York City
2,074 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#183 of 469 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#196 of 469 in New York City
839 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 469 in New York City
924 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $152 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing