We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #161 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Great Place to say”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I would recommend this location. We had a pleasant experience. Staff were great and very accommodating. The Complementary Breakfast was very good. It offered a variety of choices, fresh and were constantly replenished.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and your stay. Thanks for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    725
    166
    55
    31
See reviews for
564
504
162
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel was completely fine apart from the appalling disposable breakfast system. The only option is to eat from disposable plates with plastic cutlery so everything you eat you create unacceptable waste. This is so unnecessary and a big deal to me, I'll stay somewhere a bit more forward thinking in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Verity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am sorry you were not happy with the breakfast items. We have been passing along all complaints about our disposable plates, cutlery, etc to corporate in the hopes they will change this standard to reduce waste. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very convenient from Penn Station, close Eately, Gramercy Park and Union Square. Staff was efficient and very friendly. I would definitely stay there again. Our only problems were the internet in the room and regulating the cooling system.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am glad you found the location convenient during your stay with us. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The place is very good. I traveled with children including a 3 yr old. The rooms were comfortable, mine had a view of the Rock!! More than I expected for a NYC hotel room. Breakfast was fine, not outstanding, but there's a nice corner store that helped a lot. Coffee, chocolate and tea were always available at the lobby cookies were also available. The hotel is very well located, waking distance to Time's Square and several attractions. The price was very goo also and the staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: As for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your first visit to NYC and your stay with us! Please bring your family back and stay with us again soon, we can help you see even more great NYC gems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay in New York. We chose this hotel based on the positive reviews as well as location and we've always had great luck with the Hampton Inn brand. We were very happy with our choice. We arrived really late, around 2 am, and the lady at the front desk was so nice and welcoming. She even gave us some bananas and apples from the back so we could have a snack since we had been traveling from the West Coast all day.

Having never been to New York, I read up a lot about other hotel rooms and this hotel seemed to get the most comments about a decent size room. When we saw the room we were actually surprised that it seemed small but I guess by New York standards it's big. We chatted with other folks who were staying at other nice hotels in Manhattan and they said they couldn't move around their room much because it was so small. So I guess the size of our room was really was good because we could move around and had places for our luggage. We're used to large rooms that we normally stay in when traveling at any of the Hampton Inn & Suites that are out West.

The beds were so comfortable! The bathroom was adequate but very small, but again this was expected. We really enjoyed the fact that the hotel was off the noisy streets. It was so quiet which was wonderful to come back to at night after touring all day and dealing with all the crowds and intensity of New York.

We really enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Great selection and a great way to start the day. We even brought snacks up to our room for later. This is a definitely plus!

The only bad thing was that one of the elevators broke while we were there which meant there was only one left to take people up and down 20 floors. We stayed on the 3rd floor so taking the stairs wasn't a big deal but my Mom was on the 16th floor and due to her knee problems taking the stairs wasn't an option for her. One day she waited 20 minutes to get to breakfast which was frustrating. This wasn't the fault of the hotel as these things happen but it was broken for 2 days and still wasn't fixed by the time we left so not sure how long it took to get fixed. I'm sure folks on the upper floors weren't happy about this at all especially as it continued on for several days. Some parts of the day were fine because it wasn't busy but during breakfast time, check out, or guests going to meetings, it got very busy.

Overall we are very happy with our stay and if we ever travel to New York again we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellensMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for the Great comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This place is totally fine - room was okay, front desk staff nice - but It wasn't worth the $300/night I paid. Yes, I know it's in New York, but still, for that price you expect a little more pizzazz. It's not far from restaurants and other stuff, but the block it's on is kind of run down/dingy so walking back to the hotel after dark was a little scary. It's not so bad, but it's also nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Rooms were clean and quiet, good location, but nothing special. There were very nice people at the front desk, but the quality of the rooms was just average - it felt over-priced for what you get. Nothing really wrong with them, just kind of expensive for what you are getting. Breakfast was fine, but again, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I certainly hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,918 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#208 of 467 in New York City
814 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#212 of 467 in New York City
2,006 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 467 in New York City
834 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#85 of 467 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing