We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #161 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Check in very very fast. The location is great.

Rooms had very comfy queen beds. The room and bathroom were very very clean.

Breakfast was good. Most days there were omelets and either bacon, turkey sausage or potatoes. Of course there was a waffle maker and pastries. Fruit and yogurt. Cereal and toast, boiled eggs. A great breakfast and trust me it's nice not to have to pay New York prices for food.

I would definitely stay here again with no hesitation.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank reginasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks you for your comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    725
    166
    55
    31
See reviews for
564
504
162
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here for 1 week at the end of April. Although we booked it last minute we still got a great rate.

If you're looking for 5 star then this isn't your hotel. If you want a comfortable room which is spotless then this is your place.

Free wifi was great, the cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch and so too was the tea, coffee and hot chocolate on offer 24/7.

Breakfast is free and very basic. We had it one morning and the breakfast room was very busy. Most other mornings we grabbed a juice and piece of fruit and hit the pavement.

the rooms are a good size for NY and so too are the bathrooms. The staff are very friendly and very helpful.
Most importantly credit must go to house keeping. This hotel is spotless. Thank you!!

if you need washing done there is a great laundromat down the road which does your laundry really cheaply.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel over 20 times now, but only because after trying over 10 different hotels in the area, nowhere else can compare. After my first time staying at this hotel, I thought the experience was a fluke so I had to go back to try again and every one of the 20+ times I've stayed at this hotel, I have the same amazing experience. I now tell everyone at my company to stay at this hotel, along with friends for family that are going to anywhere near the Chelsea area. The staff is always helpful and friendly- whether during check-in or in a late night quest for a toothbrush, razor, etc. The amenities are unparallelled- often offering warm cookies and milk in the lobby or hot apple cider when it's really cold. Not to mention the warm complimentary breakfast with eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, croissants, etc. The rooms are more spacious than the other hotels in the area, including the Hilton, the Wyndham, the Double Tree and others located in the Chelsea area. Not to mention the fitness center (harder to find in NYC), the free wifi (which Hilton charges for), the continual coffee served all day, the regularly cleaned duvet covers, etc. all make the experience additionally pleasurable. Overall, this hotel is definitely the best value in Chelsea and surrounding neighborhoods!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Happy to see the value was the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were in town for the Tribeca Film Festival and the hotel was ideally located for our planned venues. With a king size bed, the room was cramped but adequate. The local neighborhood was a little shabby but safe. We thoroughly enjoyed daily walks to local sites and restaurants. The Chelsea area is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff's welcome was courteous and efficient, very nice after a stressful drive into the city. They told us where to park and secured our luggage while our room was being prepared. Not a far walk to the High Line, Madison Square, Union Square, Gramercy Park. They have valet parking for $55. We found 24 hour neighborhood parking for $45 and then parked on the street on Sunday. It's never a quiet sleep in Manhattan; something is always banging away on the street. So either pack earplugs or ask for an inside room, if they have any.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samten6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The parking is in line with prices in our area. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived Sunday evening and based on the location and some other reviews we knew what we were getting into. It’s not the most picturesque neighborhood in the city but it was just 3 blocks away from where we needed to be the next morning and we weren’t planning on doing a lot of sightseeing anyway. I don’t mean to make it sound like this place is in a rough neighborhood, just that it’s not very well maintained. The outside is a bit muted but the lobby and the common areas are in great shape and look to be recently updated.
The check-in process was simple and the front desk staff was very pleasant. When I made my reservation I had requested a crib for the room. When I asked about it she said there wasn’t one in there, but that she would contact the staff to have one brought up. We went up to our room and a few calls later learn they are out of them for the night. Apparently they only have 2 in the hotel and they are provided to people based on the order they check in, not the order they requested them in. That was a bit frustrating because we specifically didn’t bring something with us because we thought we had lined something up. In the future, I’d suggest you let people know about that policy when they make the initial request. Since we were coming in the evening, it may have changed our decision to leave our travel crib at home.
The room itself was decent sized for NY. All of the fixtures were fairly modern, but the room itself could use a refresh. We were in 1801, which is fairly high up so you get a decent view, however directly under the window two panels of wallpaper are starting to come away from the wall. In general I didn’t think the walls were in great shape.
For some reason, they also cut out part of the picture window to build a closet. You can clearly see that it was a late addition to the room and it blocks about 1/3 of the window. I understand that space is at a premium in NY but I think they may have been better off placing it against the inside corner. They modified the curtains to stop by the closet, so they no longer cover the entire window. This lets a ton of ambient light through which you can’t block. So the room gets fairly bright in the AM, even with the blackout curtains closed.
The breakfast bar was standard Hampton fare done well. The food prep area was a little cramped but they had a fairly large seating area which was a bit of a surprise. Also the staff at the front desk the next morning was really helpful in arranging a late checkout and making some restaurant suggestions in the area.
We don’t come to NY very often but with the number of hotels in the area, I think there’s even another Hampton just a few blocks away, I don’t know that we’d head back here on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Sorry to hear we were not the best. We certainly strive to be. Hope fully you can come back and visit us again. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is a great choice to visit the city, mid way between Central Park and Greenwhich, close to 6 avenue with subway and plenty of taxis. The personel at reception iss friendly and willing to help. The breakfast is generous and healthy. And the rooms on the last floors have a great view over the city high rises, beautiful at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for all your feedback. Hope you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 466 in New York City
1,918 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#194 of 466 in New York City
814 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 466 in New York City
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#212 of 466 in New York City
2,008 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#111 of 466 in New York City
834 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#86 of 466 in New York City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing